We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent dinner.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel

Castle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Castle - Castleton offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent dinner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely setting, such a nice village. Decent selection on the menu, sadley out first choices were not available, however what we did have was very nice. Portion size versus price seemed fair. Very slow service however. But maybe we called when they were having a busy/bad day. I will visit again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HostieHev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    167
    89
    81
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food variable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner chose from the specials board and was quite happy. I chose fish 'n chips from the standard menu and that was not so good - both the batter and the chips were soggy. There are several better places in Castleton.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had good meals and bad meals......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The problem we have found with the Castle is the service can fall apart when the place gets busy. We have had some really good meals here, but had some disasters as well. We once cancelled our food as we had been waiting 90 minutes and everyone was complaining. When the table next to us had their food brought out it was flat cold. I think one of the issues is the menu is huge. There is so much choice you get the impression they have made things difficult for themselves. If they simplified the menu and got their act together, the place has potential. It has always been a weekend when I have been so perhaps it's better through the week when a little quieter.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank racey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More staff needed urgently.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stopped for lunch on Sunday 7th Oct. The outside are had obviously been very busy, there was lots of empty tables which needed clearing. We had to go inside to see about getting a table. Considering there was only two of us and there was lots of space this should not have been a problem.

The girl (the only one!) at the bar could not attend to us as she was serving the odd drink on her own and dealing with people who were queuing to pay their food bill.

We ventured into one of the dining areas and managed to get the attention of a lovely member of staff who advised us to get a drink from the bar while she cleared a table. We waited in line for several minutes and no drink. We decided to leave the drink as we were sick of waiting. Our table was now ready and we were now informed that there would be at least 30 Min's to wait for food.

I did notice a table next to us which had a reserved notice 1:30pm This was well after 2:30pm! Maybe this table should have be made available, to save the overworked staff some time? As we were waiting to be served, an elderly couple arrived and the waitress struggled to accommodate them (It was not busy at this point), another guest intervened and offered his table as they were just finishing their coffee.

The food was excellent. The chips are great and the wild boar burger is excellent.

We then had more trouble paying our bill at the bar.

This place would definitely warrant table service, queuing at a bar to pay a table bill while another customer wanted advice on which type of ale he should purchase was annoying!

What a shame. The chips are great and the wild boar burger is great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickPaintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Castle Hotel Downham Market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We saw this restaurant when driving through Downham market and liked the look of the old building. The photos on the walls and the items on the ceiling added to the atmosphere. The witress was pleasant and took our orders. When the food came for the four of us, the supposedly "well done" steak was half raw and one of teh otehr meals was burnt. The other two meals were perfect, hence the rating of average. Afte3r we had eaten, two us the whole meal and the other two the edible bits, we were asked twice if everything was OK and we showed them the uneaten foot. One said that was too bad and the other said it was unacceptable and that we should have called someone over to get properly cooked meals. they did not however offer any reduction.

To sum up, a lovely building staffed by pleasant people; only the food, and only two of the four meals, could be desribed as sub standard.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Hotel also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing