We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure”
Review of Rose Cottage Cafe

Rose Cottage Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Cropredy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a pleasure”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Taking a drive round we stopped at Castleton for a browse we spotted a crowd of people just leaving the Rose cottage café so thinking time for a cuppa we went in .The staff where cleaning up after previous customers and after a couple of minutes the place was spotless .This café owner certainly has good staff very pleasant and on the ball .We had scones and teas and food and drink was excellent next time we are in the area we shall certainly use this café again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    88
    19
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left Hungry”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

On a day trip to Castleton with our dog we came upon Rose Cottage café. As we were ready
for lunch and dogs were welcome we decided to eat lunch there. We went through to the garden
at the rear which was lovely, made our choice and went and ordered and paid. Our cup of tea was brought straight away, however no such luck with the lunch. We waited and waited. After 45 minutes I went to ask how long our lunch was going to be and was told there was a delay with the meals but it shouldn't be long . After an hour and 5 minutes and still no lunch we had to request our money back. At no time did the café owner come and apologise it was all left to the very polite young waiter. If there was a delay with the meals surely it would have been the best policy to inform customers before they placed orders then they could have decided whether they were prepared to wait this long .Even when we were refunded our money our lunch still
wasn't ready. Although the food looked good if you managed to get any would not be tempted to ever visit again. Customer service skills are really lacking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aldo251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tea and cakes after a long walk - wonderful”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped here for a cup of tea and a cake after walking the Caverns in Castleton. We had our tea in the gorgeous garden patio in the sunshine. The cakes were delicious, and generous in size. Would recommend coming here for a mid afternoon tea and snack.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We dropped in late afternoon for a cup of tea, sat out in the beautiful garden and were served promptly by friendly and polite staff. We didn't eat there but all the meals I saw looked great and the cakes were fantastic!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspley Guise, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Thumbs up Rose Cottage”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a beautiful day in Castleton with friends who'd never been to Derbyshire before. Rose Cottage gave us a great lunch. The garden at the back was a lovely setting. My steak sandwich without the trimmings came as ordered and was scrummy. Rest of the party were equally happy with their orders.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCWalker04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cottage Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Rose Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing