We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cream tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Cottage Cafe

Rose Cottage Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cream tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had cream tea here after a long walk back from Edale. It was delicious but the pot of tea for 2 could be slightly bigger or more hot water supplied, we had to ask.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    83
    18
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cuppa & Cake Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We called into Rose Cottage after a 5 mile circular walk from Castleton, having changed out of our wet gear & muddy boots. It was so lovely to sit a while in pleasant surroundings, with a welcome pot of tea for two. I opted for the home made carrot cake, which was delicious, while my husband had a portion of Bakewell tart & custard. Excellent, attentive service, and comfortably full for a February afternoon - it was about 2.15pm so I presume we just missed the lunch time rush.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb experience,must visit again,professional owner managers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

So so glad we called in here on our recent stay in castleton.Lovely meal served in pleasant surroundings in the tourist friendly village of castleton in the Hope Valley.Not many people around on a cold and windy day in Feb,but surprisingly this cafe was full of people enjoying well cooked quality meals,We enjoyed our snack so much we called in the next day to enjoy the excellent food and service.Everything about this place was quality.

Susan and Tony Lee

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“light snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We called in for a drink and a light bite the staff were very cheerful and efficient and the food and were lovely

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Derbyshire! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Ordered extra toast, quality sausage & bacon, choice of fried or scrambled egg. Really good hearty meal and goid service. Lovely homemade cakes too for afternoon tea. Definitely recommend. We always visit here ehen in Castleton - with dog Poppy who was treated to a chew and bowl of water :)

Helpful?
Thank Ruth263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cottage Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Rose Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing