We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Rose Cottage Cafe

Rose Cottage Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stopped off at Rose Cottage Cafe for an afternoon drink.

It was clean, tidy and served a nice pot of traditional tea (this isn't hard to do I admit), but Rose Cottage Cafe was a really nice place, with a lovely garden area should you choose to sit away from the road.
We had our two dogs with us so sat just inside their front terrace area, it was lovely to watch the people wander by and enjoy a bit of September British sun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Sammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    90
    20
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Does the Job!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Needed a variety of drinks and eats for 7 at tea time - ordered at the counter 3 hot chocolates for the kids with black forest gateaux and ice cream, two teas for the parents and for the aged, a cup of coffee each and a piece of lemon gateaux and mandarin & almond cake. Our orders were brought to the table. Nobody grumbled (but the coffee was not great)! We were not hurried, though the place was busy - we being last to leave. Weather good enough to sit outside. Perfectly adequate, including the toilet facilities but left lighter in pocket, as one always does. It was 'good' as are many tea rooms so better than average - but not 'very good'. So not a bee line, should we visit Castleton again, tea not being a primary objective - the location happened to be conveniently placed for us, that's all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldWitleian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely tea garden”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely place to relax with a cream tea and Pimms after a long walk! Just the way to complete the day!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely mid-morning break”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just had a coffee and cake and it was lovely! Sat outside watching the world go by in a really pleasant setting. Good staff, good food, not surprised by the positive reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rare gem - a must if your in or around castleton”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited this tea room yesterday and I must say the service And food were 5 star! They brought water and a treat for our dog to our table which was also a nice touch, I can highly recommend the cream tea too! Very fast efficient service with stunning surroundings! Please visit if your in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoontobemrsRixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cottage Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Rose Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing