We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“35 minute wait for fish and chips”
Review of Rose Cottage Cafe

Rose Cottage Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Ripponden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“35 minute wait for fish and chips”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

food was good but 35 minute wait unacceptable no apology despite friendly staff.choice on menu and specials was impressive

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Mike66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    89
    19
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been coming here for about a year and we have always had a good experience. My tip would be to order from the specials board. The food is always of excellent quality. Save room for a scone afterwards if you can! Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picturesque with excellent service”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A great place to eat, with some history. Being English (and a little more childish than perhaps is good for us) we did afternoon tea and scones at Rose Cottage. The staff were excellent and the food equal in standard.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grogzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent food, great service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Visited Castleton on a crisp March Mother's Day, what more could you ask for, a warm cosy welcome at the Rose Cottage Cafe. The Sunday roast is highly recommended, succulent locally sourced beef, with roasted root vegetables and yorkshire pudding, and the selection of home made cakes and puddings were delightful! The cafe has an extended/covered outdoor heated dining area, and a lovely garden area to the rear. Service is excellent, we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thehistoryhunters_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Will go back!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a few days at the CC site nearby and walked into Castleton looking for a bite to eat for lunch. Homemade mushroom soup, crusty brown bread and a pot of tea did the trick!
Lovely, warm and cosy and not too busy, so ideal for our visit. We are looking forward to going back in when next in Castleton.
Good food and friendly staff, what more can you ask for?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186514MargaretM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cottage Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Rose Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing