We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable weekend”
Review of Rushop Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rushop Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Myself and 4 women friends stayed at Rushop Hall in November 2013 for a walking weekend. We had originally booked separate B&B rooms but since one of the cottages was free, they gave us that instead which was really wonderful because we had our own kitchen area and three separate living areas. This 4-bedroomed cottage was very clean and spacious. Each room had its own en suite bathroom and it was very comfortable. There was even milk in the fridge when we arrived! Also, since we were delayed arriving (on a Friday night), Neil and Jan stayed on specially since we had ordered an evening meal in advance. The breakfast was amazing (and a very good start for a walking day!) and the evening meal good value. On the Saturday night we ate in a pub in Castleton which was fine, but it was very busy and we almost wished we had eaten at Rushop Hall.

The location is perfect for walkers with several walking trails close by and accessible on foot so no need to take the car. I would say you probably do need a car to get there in the first place though. Just one thing: if you're driving out of the driveway at night time (there are no lights), beware the pile of rubble as you turn left. I ended up catching the underside of the car on it and there is no warning or cones to alert drivers to this.

I can't fault this place on anything in relation to comfort, cleanliness and hospitality. I just hope these good reviews don't tempt the owners to raise the prices which are currently quite reasonable!

Room Tip: The large cottage has three double and 1 twin room so would be good for 4 couples or two families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 152 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just got back from another great 2 night stay,the new cafe is lovely,we stayed in Boots above the cafe,they have been done to a high standard.We had our evening meals in doth nights and Jan's meals were up to there usual high standard.Two nights not enough.Look forward to our next visit,many thanks to Jan & Neil,super hosts,Kath & Tony.

Room Tip: New rooms above the cafe are lovely,done to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Thank you to Jan and Neil for a very welcoming stay, everything was perfect for us, one night wasn't enough!
Hope to return soon to try out the cottages next time.
Rooms were spotless and comfy for a good nights rest.
The evening meal was delicious (especially the spicy butternut squash soup)
Breakfast was cooked fresh and kept us full all day. All in all it was a lovely tranquil night away from our children for our second wedding anniversary!
Nothing to fault! Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank foxy228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

While the stay was good, I left a toilet bag there and have been attempting to get it returned for 6 weeks, and have been told in writing that they will try to return it when they have time. The owners wrote that the my property has little value and probably will not be worth the postage!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollie002, Owner at Rushop Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Andrew stayed with us over the weekend of 6th September to celebrate the 60th birthday of a friend of his who has stayed with us on many previous occasions. 13 gentlemen stayed in total, booking all of the available accommodation.Andrew was put in a twin room (not by us but by the gentleman who booked all of the accommodation). He complained bitterly and quite rudely to my 16 year old daughter, who showed him to his room, about being put in the twin room to share with another of the party. His luggage was also lost by the German airline who brought him to England which did not put him in the best frame of mind although he seemed happy enough when I lent him a pair of my walking boots so that he could join the other 12 on a walk. I am still awaiting a sign of his appreciation although he did return the boots by leaving them outside my back door in the rain!
After he had left we found a toilet bag in his room but had no way of knowing to whom it belonged to as two gentlemen had shared the room. Eight days later Andrew rang to ask if we had located a toiletries bag and would we send it to him in Germany. He promised to reimburse the postage.
We were particularly busy at that time and also went away for a few days but had arranged for someone to post it whilst we were away. Upon our return we learned that it could not be posted until the contents were checked to ensure that they could be carried to an international destination. This is a legal requirement. I did e-mail Andrew to advise him of this and his reply was to state that "The Royal Mail did not know their job and that there was nothing within the toiletries bag that could not be sent". Some days later he also rang my wife to rudely advise her that the contents were of great value - £500 was mentioned - and that it must be returned at once. He also contacted our local Tourist Information Centre to complain about us keeping his property and refusing to send it to him.
I went to the Post Office myself and was advised that the contents - aftershave, toothpaste, disposable razor etc could not be sent unless the aftershave was removed. Again I e-mailed Andrew and updated him as I had done throughout. I also asked whether it was worth posting as the only item of any value was an electric toothbrush but I did offer to post it without the aftershave as per Royal Mails instructions (which I had also e-mailed to Andrew). He told me to post it to his English Office which was permissible as different rules apply to internal parcels. Apparently he was in England every two weeks! This I did. Needless to say I still await the promised reimbursement for the postage but am not too hopeful.
It just goes to show (a) that there are two sides to most stories
(b) sometimes you cannot do right for doing wrong!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

5 of us stayed at Rushop Hall the night before a race in Castleton... nicely situated outside of town, amazing scenary all around. The rooms were all modern and well equipped. Very friendly and helpful hosts - we'll be nack next year with a bigger team so will be booking in early!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we stayed in the pepper pot cottage for two nights.we got stuck in traffic on the m1 so it was dark when we arrived but the directions from Neil and Jan were great and we found the secluded spot first time. we were welcomed and shown to our small but perfectly formed cottage. it was separate from the main building and sat around a central court yard. Neil showed us in to the cottage, which was warm and very clean. the door opens in to a small kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and kettle. ample tea coffee and milk for our stay. also down stairs is a large bathroom with fresh white towels and a walk in shower. all clean and looking like new. the flag stone stairs curl up from the kitchenette to a large bed room with a wood burning stove. the double bed was made with crisp white linen and lovely comfy duvet and pillows. the stove had been lovingly prepared so you didn't have to be an arsonist to start the fire. there was plenty of wood and some gloves to keep our hands safe. the black out blind meant we had a great night sleep in the comfy bed. that evening we chose ti have dinner at rushop hall. we let Jan know a couple of days in advance so they could get in ingredients. the dinning room is in the converted stable which was fantastically restored. there was one else eating so it felt like our own personal chef. the food was fantastic and so was the selection of wine and local ales( much to my boy friends delight). in the morning breakfast was just what we needed to prepare for a long walk. all fresh and not greasy. it was the home made touches that made it for me, jams and vanilla yogurt. throughout our stay Jan and Neil were so helpful and accommodating. the location is good , just a short drive from castleton and buxton. we did a fantastic 9mile walk suggested by Neil that took us to castleton and the lord seat it was lovely. we will being coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelwood129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were celebrating a 60th birthday and used both the main house of this delightful place in the Peaks, one of the cottages and rooms above the new cafe. Great place for a relaxed and comfortable stay when walking, cycling or just relaxing. Very friendly, family feel with good wholesome food, made by the proprietors. You can self cater in the cottages or eat in the cafe.

Room Tip: For B & B, I'd recommend the rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
3.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
4.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,156 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
11.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rushop Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushop Hall

Address: Rushup Hall Rushup Lane | Nr Castleton, Castleton, Peak District National Park SK23 0QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Castleton
Price Range: $124 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rushop Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rushop Hall is a mixture of 17th & 18th century architecture, recently renovated to provide comfortable four star accommodation for our guests. Set in 40 acres of The Peak District National Park, the views are stunning and the welcome from your hosts, Jan & Neil, warm and friendly. Bed & breakfast is available for up to 12 people (6 within the main house and a further six in our newly renovated early 19th century stone barn). Self catering accommodation (for up to 14 guests) is also available in one of our beautiful stone cottages. Rushop Hall is licensed to serve alcohol with evening meals which are available upon request in our brand new dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rushop Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushop Hall Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing