We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verry happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maharajas - CLOSED

Maharajas
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Newly opened restaurant featuring a authentic punjabi cusine with a indo chinese menu. Fully refurbished with a warm welcome. The only restaurant in castle donington with a car park for easy access. All our food is made to order nothing is pre cooked we beeive in fresh taste food so you can be sure to have a great meal at the Maharajas.
derby
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Verry happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went here on a groupon voucher. Having heard mixed reviews was not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent. We were given free poppadom a and pickle tray to start. Then we had starters of onion bahgis which were really nice. Main meals were just as tasty. There were no hidden extras and never tried to tweak things and charge extra like another one of the local indians did. After we finished we were given a free shot. Chatted to the staff. Who were all very polite and you could tell that they are really eager to please. I will be going here again as I couldn't fault a thing. Don't listen to all the negative comments try it for yourself would be my advice to people reading this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meal out with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Tried the newest indian restaurant in CD last night with friends. Friendly welcome. Was given good service throughout even though we had prepaid groupon voucher. The menu was limited by the voucher offer but what we had was very nice. Good evening had by all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Second visit usually go to Ghandi's every week, food is excellent , service quick and very polite no waiting, certainly worth a visit will defiantly be returning again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenders01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I personally have been to this restaurant along with family and both times have been fantastic. Normally i am not one for Indian food but I am definitely a convert now. Food is amazing and staff are very attentive and friendly. A very nice atmosphere for a lovely meal out, very pleased and would not have a problem recommending to others. I will absolutely be using maharajas again

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
“Exellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself were made very welcome.The samosas and bhajis we are very good.
We had Chicken Karahi and Lamb Rogan Josh with rice and Naan bread with Kulfi for dessert.
Everything was well presented, fresh and hot.
The staff are a credit to Maharajah's.
We will definitely be returning as good value for money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajas also viewed

Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing