We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day by The River”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priest House by the River
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Day by The River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked a "Surprise" Birthday Sunday lunch Sun 14th July for a "Family and friends" to celebrate a "notable" birthday, with our 11 year old and 22 other adults.
With visitors making the journey from as far afield as Devon, Warwickshire, Yorkshire and Leicestershire as well as local, the venue chosen needed to impress and the occasion memorable.
We had a most gratifying and peaceful day, having been allocated the Chellaston Room, thankfully fully air conditioned given the 30degC sunny day we are growing used to!
All the food, sensibly pre-chosen and properly communicated to the management was beautifully served and attractively presented by the polite and attentive staff allocated to our party.
Even though another similar party, plus a good number of "spur of the moment" diners was being catered for simultaneously, our food was served at a relaxed and appropriate rate for us to get to know each other and not feel rushed.
Although no-one wished to stay over, so no comment can be made regarding accommodation, the row of cottages were bright and attractive in the sunshine, and we were well entertained by the brave bathers in the cold and fast running waters of the adjacent river.
Well done to all the staff involved in making an important event so pleasantly memorable

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent birthday celebration at The Priest House Hotel, which I have passed on to all concerned. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    211
    109
    48
    33
See reviews for
96
367
8
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just spent 4 hours here for an informal business meeting. Lovely sunny day so we stayed outside on ths patio area. Initial impressions were excellent...all tables were clean and the environment inviting and pleasant..

We went inside and asked for coffee at around 10.20 which arrived promptly. The empty cups then stayed on the table for 2 hours until our second request to have them taken away!

We asked for lunch menus when we spotted a party setting up a group of 3 tables at 11.30. No one came for an order so at 11.50 one of our party went inside with the order for 5 meals and drinks and nearly £100.... 40 minutes later and no food although the drinks had been instant.

After we chased the food it came....but the empty coffee pots didn't go!

The food was completely standard fare. One person had lamb shank and the sauce was nothing more than chopped tomatoes with chick peas. There was nothing special about the £11 burgers either.

so I don't really care what the hotel is like. Our experience would not encourage us to stay here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Feenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to The Priest House Hotel. I am sorry you experienced delays with the service of your lunch and for the disappointment you felt regarding the quality of our food. Perhaps when you are next in the area you may wish to contact me and I will ensure the service delivery meets your expectations. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport-on-Severn
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to visit friends in Derby and treated ourselves to an overnight stay at this hotel, meeting our friends for dinner in the hotel restaurant. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we had an amazing time. Set next to the river it was idyllic. The standard of service across the whole of the hotel was excellent and first class. This is the fourth hand picked hotel we have stopped in, and all have been without question top class, for service this beats them all and we would recommend this hotel to everyone. At the time of our visit they had an offer on and it was very good value for money, we plan to stop hear again on our next trip to Derby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahmCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest
I was delighted to read your comments following your recent stay at The Priest House Hotel, particularly your comments regarding the quality of service you received. We look forward to welcome you back when you next visit our area. Regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
244 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

At the end of a leafy lane, by the banks of the River Trent you'll find this historically and architecturally interesting hotel which is handily placed for East Midlands Airport and the cities of Nottingham, Derby and Leicester.
Bedrooms are either in the main hotel or a row of adjacent cottages which are decorated and furnished very much in Julia Hands' style.
Admittedly, there were one or two issues during our stay but these were quickly and satisfactorily resolved by the General Manager once he was aware of them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel building are probably preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konnosir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and I am pleased I was able to resolve the issues you had during your stay. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel. Good room and facilities, friendly service, though stretched through lack of staff (perhaps because it was a Sunday evening).
Restaurant food was good quality, though small portions made it a bit pricey. The worst aspect of the stay was the outrageous prices on the wine list. Of all the people eating, we were the only mugs to buy a bottle of wine, and we only did so as it was a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your food and found our staff members to be friendly. I am sorry you found our wine prices to be expensive, which start at £23.00 a bottle for our house selection. Kind regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The room was the biggest disappointment here, tiny.... We had to lift the chair to get into the closet. There was virtually no room to place anything. Way too small, I would never consider this the bedroom of a 4* hotel. I don't think the premier Inn is as small. However we did have an excellent dinner, the food, wine and selection was fantastic. The sommelier was very knowledgable. The breakfast was also lovely. Staff were great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stirling061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest
I am sorry you found your bedroom to be too small, although we do have a wide range of bedroom to choose from. On your next visit we would be delighted to show you a selection of alternative rooms. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the quality of our food and your kind comments regarding the team. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

After reading quite a few reviews about this hotel, I found myself not wanting to go for Saturday's birthday bash that we had booked.
We were a party of 12 staying over on Saturday 6th July, negative review after negative review began to chip away at my enthusiam for the stay.
Well!!
Reception was first class polite and efficient
Room clean and spacious
All members of staff helpful and always on hand
Restraunt and Bar excellent (prices were expensive but not too expensive)
Food excellent (just not enough - for greedy so and so's like us)
Waiting times irrelevant because of the company.
Overall very good and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoopWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent birthday celebration at The Priest House Hotel. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the food and service which I have passed on to all concerned. We look forward to welcome you back for your next get-together. Regards Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
9.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.3 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
#7 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.7 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#8 of 8 in Castle Donington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priest House by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priest House by the River

Property: The Priest House by the River
Address: Kings Mills, Castle Donington DE74 2RR, England (Formerly The Priest House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#3 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priest House by the River 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil and stunning location on the banks of the River Trent, The Priest House's history is a rich one that can be traced back almost 1,000 years. Built around a mill tower with its very own water wheels, this 42 bedroom hotel is perfectly placed for a romantic break, an exclusive conference venue or a picture perfect wedding. We've hand-picked a fine selection of food and drink to compliment the charm and romance of our English Countryside setting. Fine dine in our beautiful dining room or relax in our newly renovated and re-named Millstream Bar & Terrace where you can enjoy al fresco dining overlooking the River Trent in the Summer months. We invite you to come and relax and really feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Priest House by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priest House Hotel Castle Donington
Priest Hotel Castle Donington
The Priest House By The River Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing