We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Priest House by the River
Nearby Hotels
Hilton East Midlands Airport(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
$342
$283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$253
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel(Castle Donington)(Great Value!)
$205
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$123
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasant House(Castle Donington)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveler rating
354
251
129
57
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
354
251
129
57
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesmain buildinglovely locationcottage roomhand picked hotelsthe fine dining restaurantbanks of the riverafternoon teasecret escapesscallopsbride and groomwedding venuewedding breakfastrelaxing breaksconestwo night stayevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 840 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My first time staying at this hotel, which I picked for it's locality to Donington Park for Download festival. All the staff I have encountered have been wonderful; very polite, very attentive, very friendly. The breakfast is excellent, the room is a very high standard and beautifully kept. I can't imagine not coming back. It's perfect.

Room Tip: I booked early for Download Festival and was given a cottage room, which is ideally located for coming back late and not disturbing anybody. Just got given my own key & free to come/go as I pleased.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest
I was delighted you enjoyed your stay with us during Download and I was pleased you found my team to be friendly and attentive during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Michael.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Priest House is in a really beautiful setting, and the main hotel, staff and food were very good. However, as the hotel was full we were placed in one of the cottage rooms, which itially looked very cosy from the outside. Unfortunately, they were not up to the standard you would expect from any hotel, and especially not one that markets itself in this way.
The entrance to the room was covered in leaves, dirty and with chipped tiles on the stairs that had black and yellow tape peeling off of them. The guttering was full of leaves and had it rained, everywhere would have been very slippy and dirty.
The room, although very nice looking, wasn't clean, with dirt around the shower cubical, tap spout and chair coverings very badly marked. The heating in the bathroom didn't work and neither did the shower!
On the positive side, the staff were great and the food lovely - but if you are considering this one as a special treat or get away, I might consider looking for another hotel, otherwise you might feel let down.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellab b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest
I was pleased to read your review and that you found my team, food and setting met your expectations, although I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding our cottage bedrooms. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments over the phone and would be grateful if you could email me with your contact details, when I would be delighted to contact you to discuss the issues you raised in person. Kind regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We used our Handpicked Hotel Points for afternoon tea here and had a very good experience. Ms. Clift helped in advance before we left home and everything was in order on our arrival and just as promised, at no cost to us. It was so refreshing and ample with good instruction on various teas from our tall red headed waiter. The view at the window was of a rushing stream and several benches for relaxing afterwards.Or an outside area was provided if you so choose. It is in a rather secluded area so directions on Google were not the best. Perhaps follow directions for castle would help.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank planned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest
I was delighted to read your review following your afternoon tea experience at The Priest House Hotel. As you say we are located in an idyllic location at the end on a long lane on the banks of The River Trent, just outside Castle Donington, although I am sorry Google could not find us and give you clear directions. Kind regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently stayed here in the cottage accommodation, the setting is fabulous what more could you ask for stunning views, very relaxed by the river, very peaceful, quiet and serene. Lots of parking.
However, I was not impressed with the accommodation, outside looks so quaint, but inside is looking very dated, and although the en-suite was more up to date it was so tiny, its a struggle to turn around in there. Thank goodness I'm not 'larger than average'.
The bed was comfortable, the room was warm and the bedding and towels clean, white and fluffy. Overall it was an 'alright' stay. but I was expecting better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deni34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at The Priest House Hotel. I was sorry to read you found our cottage bedrooms to be dated and the bathroom a little small. We are regularly refurbishing our bedrooms and it is planned that these rooms will be refurbished during next year, as we have just completed the re-carpeting of the main house rooms and corridors, along with the bar, Brasserie and lounge.
I was pleased you found our beds to be comfortable and the bed linen and towelling to be of a good quality. Kind regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second experience of a hand picked hotel and it wont be the last we stayed for my husbands birthday it was a fab stay, room food were fab it was a sunday night so we ate in brasserie unfortunately the main restaunt wasn't open but didn't spoil it we got good weather so spent some time sat in sunshine it was a good experience we will try another at another time and will return to rookery also xxxx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harla95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriestHouse, General Manager at The Priest House by the River, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us when celebrating your husband’s birthday and that you found the food and accommodation to be of a good standard, which I have passed on to all staff members concerned. For your next stay you may like to know we now have an additional hotel to choose from, which is the St Pierre Hotel & Spa, in Guernsey which Hand Picked Hotel acquired this week. Kind regards Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews