We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donington Manor Hotel
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Four of us shared a room here after going to a festival nearby and we were impressed with the room which was spacious, comfortable and clean. We had a bedroom with a double bed and a living room which had two camp beds made up in it. The room also had its own garden area.With four of us sharing it was also very good value for money with breakfast included, compared to other hotels in the area on this weekend. The walk to Donington park took about 25 minutes. The quality of the breakfast could be improved though!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairy_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 331 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed for one night at Donington Manor Hotel and we were hugely disappointed. We did not have a room in the main part of the hotel so I can't comment on those. We were put in a courtyard room. It was very basic and the bathroom was really small and stuck in the 1980s. I have no complaints about the overall cleanliness, apart from the windows which were dirty and had cobwebs on the inside. The outside door to the courtyard rooms had a hole where there once was a yale lock and the lock on the actual room was like a bathroom lock with a little button to lock the handle. I was slightly worried about security. Other observations:

Basic pine furniture (MFI style)
Dirty paintwork
No hairdryer
Tiny TV which was not much bigger than a laptop, and hardly any channels
Stained carpets
No hotel info in the room
Three old washing machines piled up in the courtyard
One old chair outside in the courtyard
Wobbly hot tap in bathroom


We had breakfast at 7am and then ran for the hills. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

From the moment we enquired about holding our wedding at Donington Manor to the day after the wedding our experience was superb.
My partner telephoned and spoke to the Wedding Coordinator who suggested immediately that we should visit the next weekend and view the facilities for ourselves. She apologised that she wouldn't be there but would arrange for a member of staff to show us around. When we arrived we found she had don this and we were given a really good tour with explanations about the facilities and we were shown the suites and rooms for our guests.
We booked our wedding and I can definitely state that no question went unanswered. Nothing was too much trouble for the Coordinator. She met us whenever we asked and answered every enquiry thoroughly and very precisely. The preparation time prior to the wedding was faultless.
A timetable was drawn up with almost military precision.
When we took all of the decorations cake,etc on the Thursday before the wedding we had to go through the schedule again to ensure that all that we wanted would be provided - nothing would be missed.
I booked in the previous afternoon as did quite a number of my guests who had to travel to the wedding, including a number from overseas. They were very impressed with their rooms which were lovely and extremely comfortable.
The organisation on the actual day was perfect, including the change over of the room from ceremony to the reception. The tables were dressed just as i wanted them to be and it looked delightful. The meal was delicious and the service was impeccable.
We cannot praise the Coordinator and all of the staff highly enough. Our day was made perfect by thier care and attention to every detail to make it the most important day of our lives.
The only criticism of the hotel would be that there is not a ground floor disabled toilet. We had a guest who was in a wheelchair and her injury meant that it was extremely difficult to use the toilets. That is definitely something that needs to be addressed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Rawden room at Donington Manor is OK, but unclean under the table and my chair was dreadfully stained. I don't wish to sit on a dirty stained chair, the chair next to me was partly broken, The route to the downstairs loo was a nightmare. Dirty wall paper, ripped carpet which someone could have tripped over and a filthy stained carpet in the "hallway". The food was partly acceptable. Small starters, tiny bread roll, no offers of more. I chose roast beef. My beef was stone cold but covered in gravy or jus as they call it! I like my gravy in a gravy boat. I suspect the beef was from a catering back. Another bizarre thing was that they served the veg in dishes but put new unpeeled potatoes in with the sad selection of vegetables. Another problem was that it took so long to bring the food out the main was cold before we were served with the veg, or was it cold before Instead of using gorgeous in season local produce with had a sad selection of overdone carrot beans a n a floret of cauliflower and broccoli. I had cheese for pudding, no butter with the biscuits and when I asked which Stilton it was, considering we were near Colston Basset, Cropwell Bishop and Long Clawson , the waitress did not know. The staff were very nice, particularly our waitress and the girl on reception. What a shame they don't work elsewhere. They are too good for Donington Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

if you want wedding noise on the weekend then stay here We travelled from Australia for the superbikes and booked this hotel not knowing they had a wedding on Well they should have told us should have moved us apparently in England you can party all night which is fine for the wedding.So the second morning when the wait staff informed us at breakfast there was another wedding today we asked to be moved which the kind lady at reception did so. I do wonder when booking why we were put in a room right over the reception in the first place. Second room much better than the first as room 2 smells badly of sewerage. So I am not sure if you want to stay here it is in a good location and appears clean enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndajane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We travelled to this hotel for a special wedding. Reception not so friendly, hotel could do with a bit of a update. Shame about the room it was so damp and smell awful. The food was very good at the wedding and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan W, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear June,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is always nice to hear good feedback regarding our food.

I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met in other areas of the business and would be interested in further feedback. It is particularly disappointing to hear that a member of our staff had appeared unfriendly. Should you wish to discuss anything further please contact me at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nathan Wallis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

easy to find - located central to the town. On arrival the staff were already aware we were coming with the dog and offered to set up a table in the bar so we could eat there (as dogs are not allowed in the actual restaurant) - this made us feel very welcomed in deed.

Sure enough when we came through for breakfast everything was ready - everyone was so kind - they even brought through sausages and salmon for the dog!

We will definitely call back again - There are great walks in the area and we found the nature walk that goes around the Airport (which is not far from the hotel - but far enough)

Room Tip: the courtyard rooms are great as they allow you free access to come and go as you please - great if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahzidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan W, General Manager at Donington Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Nahzidog,

Thank you for your very kind comments about our hotel and team.

I trust the dog enjoyed the A La Carte dining on offer!!

Kind Regards

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.7 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
812 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Scalford Hall Hotel
Scalford Hall Hotel
#6 of 6 in Melton Mowbray
872 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,782 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Manor Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Castle Donington DE74 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Castle Donington
Price Range: $110 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donington Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donington Manor Derby
Donington Manor Hotel Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing