We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donington Manor Hotel
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked this on a deal and were very pleased when we arrived to find a good room and friendly staff. The bar was well stocked and comfortable. There are areas of the hotel that are a little tired and could do with a bit of an up-date but it still had a charm.We ate in the restaurant and were pleased with the menu choices. The food and sevice were very good and we would not hesitate to go back again to dine. This would be a very good hotel to stay in for the airport and we would definitely consider it if flying from the East Midlands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktm351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    82
    77
    41
    31
See reviews for
52
121
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As we had late evening flights from East Midlands Airport, we decided that we needed to stay in a hotel close to the airport. After searching the area, I emailed the hotel to see if they did a park and fly option which they emailed to say they did, and rang me for my card details for the reservation.

We parked the car there for 4 nights and paid for a double room for one night on our return. The staff were very helpful and the hotel easy to find. They gave me details for taxis which was about £10 to the airport. There was no problems with the car being parked there.

The hotel itself is in need of updating, as the furniture and wallpaper which appears to have been painted over and over seems to have been there for many years. The hotel itself smelt very musty, so had to open the windows to try and let the smell out. However, the room was large with a large en-suite, and large bed. The bar was suitable downstairs, and breakfast was included although it was not the best breakfast I have had, it was presented well.

Overall if your after somewhere to rest your head for the night, after or before a flight from EMA and you are not too fussy, then this is reasonable priced with very friendly and helpful staff, just beware of the musty smell.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartynJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked a suite back in March for Saturday 3rd August which was the day of our friends daughters wedding.
I telephoned the hotel 2 weeks prior to the wedding to confirm our booking and was given a booking reference number and told that yes we had a suite the cost would be £115 which was £6 more than I had originally been told when I made the booking but this was not the problem .
When we went to check in on our arrival I noticed that our room had been changed to a superior room. When I told the receptionist that we had booked a suite she said it had been changed by the wedding arranger as a member of the wedding party had requested a suite.
My issue is we were also part of the wedding party and should we not have been given the courtesy of a telephone call to explain why our booking had been changed? If we had not been part of the wedding party and had booked a suite would the same have happened?
We declined the room we were offered on principal and went home instead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paaulinebyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castle Donington hotels

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

this was a one-night stop-over, chosen for the good discounted price and its nearness to the M1.
We were delighted to find that far from being adequate, which was what we had expected, it was indeed very good. The staff were helpful and welcoming, the room turned out to be large, panelled and whilst not up-to-the minute in design, nicely furnished and comfortable, including sofa and upholstered chairs, with a large en-suite bathroom and generous supplies.
The meals, included in the deal were very good, up to the standard of far higher rated restaurants.
All in all a most pleasant experience - well worth repeating even without the discount.

Room Tip: far enough from the road and well insulated for traffic not to a problem, aircraft noise from the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB02-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a number of times for business when my normal hotel is full etc. This time the room I have been given is really musty so have all windows open to get rid if the smell. The loo seat is actually falling off as two of the hinges are no attached to the loo.

The food at the hotel is really nice, apart from breakfast yet overall it is not a good hotel and there are better hotels to stay at near East Midlands airport

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betts1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawarden, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked two rooms at the hotel for one night paying the same amount for both rooms.There was a vast difference in the rooms one had a four poster, hairdryer, trouser press and a large bathroom the other did'nt it was missing a remote control for the tv and they boast about 24 hr room service but nothing to order from in one room. Was quite dissappointed and proberly won't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night in June 2013. We had spent a lot of time looking around for somewhere nice to spend our night coming from our own wedding nearby that night.
We had left one of our cars and our suitcases with the hotel before hand and we arrived around midnight, having prearranged everything, or so we thought.
We arrived feeling pretty exhausted after an amazing but very long day. We then spent over 20 minutes at reception, surrounded by drunk people from an ongoing wedding at the venue, whilst they struggled to find our car key which we had left there which meant we couldn't get our cases.
Eventually they found it and my husband retrieved our cases and we went to our room. Despite the hotel being aware, there was no acknowledgement even that it was our wedding night however we ordered some champagne which arrived soon after.
The room was very pleasant and spacious. The only complaint being that I stepped into the shower and turned on the tap to find that the water was scalding. It was so much so that I still have a mark to this day nearly 2 months on.
We slept well and breakfast was brought to our room which was excellent.
Overall the location is good - close to the airport and other amenities but don't book it for a special occasion as you really are just "another booking" and it really did just feel average.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.7 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
755 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,677 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
599 reviews
2.2 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Manor Hotel

Property: Donington Manor Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Castle Donington DE74 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donington Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donington Manor Derby
Donington Manor Hotel Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing