We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donington Manor Hotel
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“did the job”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

we were at a wedding reception and stayed over night, the staff at this hotel were lovely so friendly and helpful, which made up for the rest of the the hotel, we were in the stewart suite big room with seperate sitting area that leads on to a nice garden patio ( in summer very nice ) big bathroom which was clean, unfortunately the rest was very dated the whole place needs an upgrade, apart from that the food we had was good the price we paid for the room (£107 ) included a breakfast which was very good ( full english.).not sure we would choose to stay there for any other reason.although a good venue for a wedding reception.

Room Tip: stewart suite had nice garden patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1948kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    79
    73
    40
    29
See reviews for
52
113
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

On 15th March 2013 we had the pleasure of staying at the Donington Manor hotel for ours sons wedding. I can honestly say it was excellent! The rooms were spacey and comfortable, the wedding breakfast extremely good, all the staff served us with a smile. We had a small child in our party, and the staff served her small child portions of the main menu, the attention to detail was fantastic, even down to making sure her plate wasn't too hot, activity sheets and crayons at her table setting, given milk to drink! I cannot praise the staff enough, nothing was too much for them, happy and enthusiastic, willing to help and advise! They seemed genuinely interested in making the day perfect. Such a contrast to other places we've stayed in. The hotel is a little "tired" but the way we were treated, by far outweighed any negative opinion about the fabric of the building. We stayed in room 25, a large suite with living room, bedroom and en suite. The large moulded bath and powerful shower were lovely. It was quite at night, and complimented by an excellent breakfast! Other hotels may be posher, and larger, but do not be put off, this is a wonderful venue, with staff who were "real", friendly and approachable! Highly recommended to make your special day, and very reasonable on all prices!!!!!!

Room Tip: Suites very large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieArmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have stayed many times on business and decided to return for a weeked with my family (dog included )
They even offered a Zbed for our dog.
The rooms are quirky and full of individual atmosphere, they are well appointed and comfortable.
The food is excellent quality and well cooked with a good choice at a very good price.
Best of all are the staff, nothing is too much trouble they are polite friendly, but warm and just make you feel very comfortable
I will come back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The room was clean and tidy, but there were problems with the heating in the room (26) and we could not turn it down - so that meant a pretty uncomfortable night for night one. In fairness, the hotel staff did try to sort it out whilst we were out during the Saturday, and it had improved when we returned. We were in the courtyard and ther were rooms above us - problem here was that we could hear every thump and movement from the people upstairs - by no means was it a relaxing Sunday morning - guess that's what you get with old buildings!

Breakfast on the Saturday morning was fantastic, a delicious menu to select from - the smoked haddock and poached egg was delicious. However, the Sunday mornning breakfast was a poor show by comparison - we were ushered into an odd function room where the breakfast was set out buffet style - no where near as much choice as the menu the day before. Probably because there were more guests?

Staff were friendly, coffee was good, so not all bad and it is quite a cute hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was a two night offer, the room was surprisingly spacious with a separate lounge area to lounge in! It was huge building and was really quite busy for midweek in February, no surprise though when we tried the menu - my duo of pork, well the confit of pork shoulder was fabulous and my husband roast chicken delicious. They specialise in little gravy jugs with the meal which I loved. The waiting staff were knowledgeable about the dishes and really helpful and friendly. The first night we had no room for puds as we had lunched in the bar, burger and fish & chips but the second night(after visiting Donington Park Grand Prix circuit) we swapped mains and had puds too, after eating little since the generous breakfast. I had home made blackcurrant sorbet oh it was so good and went so well with the home made icecream.

Room Tip: We noticed through open doors that all the rooms we could see were really large and well laid out, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed there last weekend for a Valentine's break on the "room for romance" deal. Excellent weekend, superior room with French doors it's own patio. Meal in the evening was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Will definately be going back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186334John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend, got a wonderful greeting when we arrived, the receptionist was a young bubbly girl and very helpful. We had room 17 and it was lovely, very clean and spacious overlooking a garden at the back of the hotel. It was quite busy because the hotel was hosting a Charity ball in the evening but the efficiency, pleasantness and helpfulness was consistent, the staff are wonderful. We had booked a meal on the evening and because the big restaurant was being used because of the ball we went into the small one, which was extremely pleasant, warming and cosy. I cannot praise the staff enough, the supervisor, Shannon was way and beyond, nothing was too much trouble and she was so lovely, very efficient and friendly as was the waitress Tamlyn. I would also like to mention the receptionist who came on later I did not get her name she too was wonderful, this hotel deserves a gold star for their staff. The meal was fantastic, we had chicken parfait, my husband had the pork and I had lamb, with a side dish of buttered vegetables, it was faultless, cooked perfectly and tasted gorgeous, my husband has travelled all over the world and says this was as good as he has had.

The room was in a quite position, my only critisism was the bed, it was huge, and linen spotlessy clean, but every time you moved it creaked loudly, but apart from that it was fine.

Breakfast was good, help yourself, everything there you could possibly want, and you certainly would not come away hungry.

We would not hesitate to visit this hotel again, infact we will definately be going again, well done and thanks to all the staff for making it such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stopped in room 17, which was quite, warm, clean but did have a creaky bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySunTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.7 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
732 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,638 reviews
2.2 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donington Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donington Manor Hotel

Property: Donington Manor Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Castle Donington DE74 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Donington Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donington Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donington Manor Derby
Donington Manor Hotel Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing