We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. The hotel is a new build and is very modern with furnishings to a very high standard. Food is very good quality. Breakfast is fantastic with a very wide choice of items.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear happytrader,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am pleased to read that you one of our regular guests.
See you hopefully soon again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    392
    65
    21
    19
See reviews for
227
475
33
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed one night for scone for a conference in the hotel. Food excellent, both buffet at conference and breakfast in morning. Conference delegates evening meal was slow service and disappointing. Breakfast was very busy and superb. Eggs cooked to order and other cooked food regularly replenished frequently so nothing left sitting for ages.
Rooms modern but silly design flaws like clear glass between bathroom and bedroom so unless you are quite happy washing with your bedroom partner watching, be sure to be careful who you share a room with.
All accessible rooms were taken so we had a normal double which was fine if you don't need grab rails etc, but the loo has a door and is walled off the bathroom which makes the loo a tiny box room, too small for wheelchair user.
Wifi readily available. Good leisure facilities and staff all pleasant apart from a little officious bar manager (Alex) who acknowledged my love for a promotional Amarula lantern to the extent he told me had one of 4 of these lanterns in his home, but I couldn't have the one there on display, because it was for "promotional purposes" ! It later got "stolen" just wondered what the lantern in his home was promoting, especially as I asked nicely, explaining the sentimental reason for my love of Amarula.
Easy to get to off motorway.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bunjirabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Bunjirabbit,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I passed your comments to our relevant departments to work on.
It is our aim to achieve guest expectations and ensure high standards throughout the hotel.

With best regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh northern ireland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a conference. I found the room to be large and very comfortable. staff were very friendly. breakfast was just ok .loads of parking and free wifi worked very well. overall I found the Radisson to be an excellent airport hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armagh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear armagh222,
We pleased to read that your experience at the Radisson Blu East Midland Airport was so positive and we are looking forward to welcome you on your next conference.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I booked at room at the Radisson Blu Donnington to spend the night after a family members wedding in the Castle Donnington village. Unfortunately I had been really ill for a few days before the wedding and had to leave early, all I can say is there is no where else I would rather have been while feeling so poorly. The room was absolutely beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable thing I have had the pleasure of sleeping in, Safe to say the next morning I felt 100% better after getting such a good nights sleep. The air conditioning system was also very easy to use which was very useful when feeling so poorly.

To sum up, Probably the best hotel I’ve ever stayed in and as I booked in January sale extremely well priced!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear frangipie,
What a great compliment about your sleep in our hotel room. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us even you felt not very well.
Hopefully we can welcome you again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as my husband was competing at Donington Park Race Circuit. The staff were very pleasant from start to finish. Excellent value for the DBB package, as the meal in the hotel restaurant was excellent. When we arrived we were disappointed with room (very small and large roof extractor fan outside window), but after we went back to reception we were upgraded without a quibble. Didn't have time to try leisure facilities, but slept well, and breakfast was really good. Only complaint was as there was a wedding on each night, the car park was very full, and we found it extremely hard to park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear ChristyLiz,
Thank you very much for your comments. Yes, some days our 350 car park spaces are nearly occupied. We can maintain the amount of cars with the Fly & Park package because we allocate certain amount for them unfortunately not with the other room reservations and functions.
I hope it didn’t spoil your stay with us too much. It is great to see that the Front Office Team react so professional with the room change.

With best regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We had an early morning flight so booked into the Radisson Blu. From start to finish our stay was excellent. We had a nice meal in the restaurant which was a little pricey. The waitress was a lovely girl and on hearing we were on honeymoon arranged two glasses of champagne at the end of our meal. What a lovely thought.
We had an early morning alarm call and found breakfast snacks and hot drinks waiting in the foyer, before we were whisked off to the airport by a fantastic, jolly transfer operator, who was very knowledgeable about the whole procedure. Will definitely stay here again, next time we travel from East Midlands.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Jacqui W,
Thank you for your very kind comments about the hotel, we are trying to exceed our guest’s expectations. Our Team Members are trained and have the empowerment to surprise & delight our customer. I am proud that our Team made you stay so enjoyable.
Please stay again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We travelled from Canada to Derby to link up with our family and stayed 2 nights at this hotel on our way to Ibiza. What a great place! I have stayed in many Derby hotels and this is the best by far. Modern clean contemporary decor and facilities, very helpful delightfully friendly staff. We had a Junior Suite which was perfect for us. Quiet room with everything you need. The lobby and lounge area is spacious and bright and the Bar is right there in the middle. Breakfast was served in a dining area but because they were not too busy they did not put out buffet they took personal orders from each guest patiently bringing out great British breakfast hot and tasty cooked to order. we were concerned about the extra luggage on our Ryanair trip to Ibiza but the reception manager allowed us to store a bag free of charge to collect on our way back through. I cant praise this hotel enough, we will make this our regular whether using the airport or visiting family in Derby. Thanks!

Room Tip: Junior Suites on the Exec floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Marie C,
We are very pleased with your positive feedback about your stay.
Yes we are proud of our hotel design and to have the right Team Member to deliver Radisson Blu Standard.
We are looking forward to see you again when you are in the East Midlands.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing