We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rad disown Blu is just of M1 at the East Midland airport, usually attend meetings and overnight stay. Good parking, swimming poll etc... Good food, etc... But bar is pricy
Rooms are nice modern, clean, shower, etc all function well as its a new and modern hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Kishor P,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before we flew to Spain, the deal included 10 nights car parking, making it excellent value. the hotel is a five minute drive from the airport and we were transported by minibus. The hotel is new and beautiful, the reception area and bar is bright and airy and there are plenty of areas to sit and relax. Outside there is a well designed patio area. Our room was lovely, packed with mod cons and everything you need to make your stay comfortable. the bed was huge and comfortable and everywhere was extremely clean. The bathroom was well positioned and the shower was large. We had dinner in the bistro and although the menu describing the food on offer was mouthwatering, in reality it was bland and average. Had it been of a higher standard I would have no problem paying the prices they charge but I feel the chef needs a bit of a brush up with his culinary skills. Another little gripe was that some tables had linen napkins whereas ours were paper!!! We paid £16 each for breakfast and again it was average.Having said all this we really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay again, the service was second to none, I rang down to reception to ask for more coffee as we only had decaf and the maid came up with a dish from their canteen with 'proper' coffee as the hotel had run out of sachet....service or what! There is a pool and spa which residents can use. Our overnight stay was £80

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoopschick1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear hoopschick1888,
Thank you very much your detailed feedback. I am very sorry to see your comment about the food you had in the restaurant. We changed some items on our breakfast buffet to ensure a higher quality.
Regard to the napkin it was our fault we missed the detail. We use paper napkin for breakfast and linen napkin for all other food served in the bar/restaurant and room service.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked into this hotel prior to our flight.
The room was fairly large, and quiet, however the remote for the TV was missing and the pillows were flat, but reception rectified this for us. the room was a little grubby the seat atthe end of the bed was dusty and the shower had soap scumm in the bottom but hey it was only for one night.

Whilst in the bar I was surprised to hear a barking dog and looking up in the direction of the reception desks saw a guest with a dog on a lead. Later whilst having dinner we heard a dog yap. And upon finishing dinner we went out to the bar and again saw two small dogs with a guest going into the lift.

Food in the resturant is expensive and not brilliant and drinks are expensive but its convenient for the airport.

We asked at reception and they said their policy is to allow dogs, cats and rabbits in rooms. We asked if there were certain rooms available for pets and were told that NO they are allowed in any room and that the rooms are cleaned thouroughly after their stay, given our room was grubby on arrival I would question how deep the clean is.
Had we been aware of the pet policy we would not habve chosen to stay here as pet owners allow them on beds and soft furnishings and also pillows.

Sorry Raddison you have lost a customer or two as doing a straw pole at work others were unaware that you had this policy and would not opt to stay where pets are allowed.

Room Tip: Ask for one where pets have not been
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Dawnie123

I was very sorry to learn that you don't agree with our policy of permitting dogs to stay in our guest rooms with their owners. This policy is consistent with nearly all of the major hotel brands both here in the UK and worldwide.

We do levy a small additional charge for this service and any room in which a dog has stayed is thoroughly deep cleaned after departure. However, we're happy to take on board your suggestion and in future will only allow dogs to stay in specified rooms.

Contrary to what you were told by our Receptionist we do not permit any other pets, only dogs, and then only in the guest's room, dogs are not permitted in any of our public areas such as the bar, lounge or restaurant. It is also made clear at the time of booking that should a dog disturb any of our other guests the owners would be required to remove it from the hotel.

Since our hotel opened in late 2011 we have received no negative response to the current policy but we will keep the matter under review and change it if our guests require.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for feedback and should you have occasion to use our hotel again please do contact me direct so that I may make the arrangements personally.

Kind regards

Daniel Keane
General Manager

daniel.keane@raidssonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had a short stop - arriving around midnight and leaving at 10:00am.

My room was comfortable, spacious and quiet. The bathroom had a well fitted door that could close and separate the toilet from the bathroom, or swing shut the other way it closed the bathroom and toilet from the bedroom.
I couldn't get the air conditioning quite right - so didn't have my preference for a cool bedroom temperature.
In the morning I found the gym - good machines, space to work and not busy. Then the pool - I was happy with length, temperature and having it to myself for most of the time. I then had a trip to the steam room. No plunge pool / cold shower - but otherwise a great way to start the day.
The changing rooms were small - but fortunately not busy. I would have liked a spin drier to avoid transporting wet swimming trunks, but the bag supplied helped overcome that.
Into breakfast - I was the only guest. The manager explained that as it was quiet they had stopped the buffet breakfast - so my breakfast would be cooked to order. Nothing was too much trouble and I got double what I had asked for, in addition to fruit, cereal, toast, muffins etc that were still on offer.
I have no complaints at all - good staff, good hotel and it was a very convenient stopping off point; really easy access to / from the M1. I would definitely use it again when needing a stopping off point on a long North / south journey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Marty W,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your experience with your stay.
We have an air handling unit in the guestrooms therefore the minimum and maximum temperature set up will be different compare to an air condition. Please let us know when you stay next time and we ensure you will get a room with your preferred temperature.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.Schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent one night in transit for family of four. B&B package.
Superb hotel. Excellent location close to M1 and services.
Spacious bedrooms. Well appointed. Comfortable and clean. No noise problem even the AC was quiet. Excellent wifi - good speed
V pleased with breakfast - choice, quality and quantity
Large car park - we were not charged during stay.
Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear scottishdoctor,
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay.
We have car park charge it seems we missed this.
Please visit us again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.Schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here en route to Spain and on our return. This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are exceptional so helpful and pleasant. We had dinner and breakfast there both going out and coming back and found the breakfast and dinner to be excellent. The rooms are spacious and very pleasantly decorated. We were upgraded on our return with a card welcoming us back,a lovely touch and very much appreciated. We loved everything about it.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank happytravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear happytravel7,
We are pleased you had a great experience with your recent stay with us.
Hopefully you will visit us again when you are in the area.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed overnight to catch a 6am flight the next morning. I have stayed in many Radissons in recent years, the fact I am also part of the Club Carlson programme too means that it is ususally recognised by the hotel and we usually recieve a special gift or other things to show the hotels appriciation...at the east mids gotel we were not. When walking into our room, we noticed there was one double bed....our part was 2 adults 2 children! I rang one touch to be told that the bedding was in the cupboard and that I had to make the bed myself!!!! I couldnt get over how rude this was. I also found the hotel unaccomodating for an airport hotel as they did not serve cooked breakfast to your room until 6 am which was useless to me. Overall not great and I was not impressed. To be a proper Radisson it really needs to improve.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eccy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Glasseys

I am most disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet expectation and would be very grateful if you could contact me direct in order for me to look into your feedback a little further and to see what I can do to 'make it right' for you.

All Club Carlson members should be acknowledged and welcomed on check in and extra beds should be made up by our Housekeeping team prior to guests arriving. I apologise that this was not the case.

We do provide the full Radisson Super Breakfast in our restaurant and via room service from 6am each morning with our complimentary Grab and Go Breakfast being available from 3am to 6am. Additionally a selection of hot and cold dishes is available 24 hours a day from our room service menu. These options should have been explained to you when you checked in and I apologise if they were not.

I hope to hear from you in due course but in the meantime thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies once again.

Kind regards

Daniel Keane
General Manager
Daniel.keane@radissonblu.com
01509 686222

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
795 reviews
1.7 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
324 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $83 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing