We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for one night during the Download Festival and what a nice experience. On arrival the lady on reception was very welcoming and professional and she even threw in a complimentary breakfast for my daughter and I, which was really good. We returned from the festival at around 1am the following morning and ordered some bar food which was really nice. The rooms themselves are spacious and well maintained and clean. I would recommend this hotel for anybody flying from the near by airport and they even throw in a shuttle service. Excellent

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominic_bennici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear dominic_bennici,
We are pleased that you had a good experience with the facilities and service we provided during your stay. Thank you for your positive comments and we hope to welcome you again next year for the next Download event.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.Schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,261 - 1,267 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Could not of been happier with my stay here. Great bar, fantastically chic rooms and luxury food. The lasagne was the best I've ever had, and I've had it all over the world. Would stay here anytime I'm in the area. Didn't try the fitness and leisure facilities but they looked great.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear adamirish,
Thank you for you positive feedback about your stay. We are glad to see that you had a great experience with our restaurant food.
I hope you stay again with us when you are in the area.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.Schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We orginally booked to stay at another hotel near by but when we got there it seemed really grubby and not worth the money so we left and went here instead. We were very disappointed that the trip wasn't going to plan but as soon as we stepped inside the radison we were instantly uplifted. We booked a one room suite which was just perfect, the decor throughout the whole hotel is fab. We had a tv bed, sitting area and a spacious bathroom. The suites even have espresso machines and complimentary wine and drinks. Even though its near the airport, I didn't hear any noise.
We ate at their runway restaurant and it was very nice. Portions were a little small but I don't eat loads anyway. Breakfast is served in there too and that was good.

Overall I'm so glad we ended up here and I'd certainly to back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlaleannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Carlaleannex,
We are glad that you had a nice time with your stay with us and enjoyed the service we provided.
Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

With best regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
Kordula.Schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night before flying out of ema airport. Price for one night inc 14 days parking was £30 less than long stay parking. A no-brainer. Check was swift and we were given a business class room with a view of the runway so our 4yr old could watch the planes coming in to land. Room was reasonable in size with a 32" tv and a great bathroom with large walk-in rainshower. The pool area is very nice with a small but well equipped (Precor) gym. Cant find fault with anything except perhaps the aircon wasnt as cool as we like and there are no windows to open. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrocD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear CrocD,
Thank you for your very kind comments about the hotel, we are trying to exceed our guest’s expectations. We will definitive investigate your point regard to the temperature of the room.
Please stay again when you are in the area.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a great airport hotel, stayed with our 16 month old twins, standard room was large enough for two cots and still plenty of space left for the double buggy and 4 suitcases! Staff made a huge effort to accommodate us, very friendly and made us feel welcome even though we were staying with 2 babies. Used the swimming pool which our babies loved, ate in the bar - food was fantastic, large portions at a good price. Room was lovely, large, nice toiletries. Everywhere was spotless. Free transfers to the airport and back without any waiting time. Our flight on our return was cancelled and we were unable to get a flight home for another 5 days, the hotel allowed us to keep our car in their car park for no additional cost. Overall a brilliant hotel, fantastic food, great customer service, we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Carlau,
We are glad that you had such a good experience with the facilities and service we provided during your stay.
Again thank you very much for your kind words and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Arrived back from Download 2013 and this hotel was superb.

Just 5 minutes drive from the main event and they laid on a shuttle bus to help us folk get there.

Great location from the M1 which saves all the queuing during this event,

The only thing I would mention and its very odd to think about this, The lift was full and there are no signs for the staircase? we found it in the end but if there was a fire and in a blind Panic you would struggle,

Trying to book for next year but there do not offer a cancellation fee, even if you cancel 4 months before arriving.

I am asking for more details on this.

Room Tip: We did not use the SPA or Gym, But looking to add an extra day on next year to do so :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear mark m,
Thank for staying with us. I have taken your point on board and will work on more information and sign’s to guide the high amount of guests during Download.
We are looking forward to welcome you again next year.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Download Festival 2013. It's about as close as you can get to Donington Park without camping. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to the site on a continual loop throughout the day and night which is handy. It does tend to be very busy coming back so we walked each night instead which took about an hour through the airport roads.
The rooms and bed were really comfortable. Nice toiletries, plenty of tea and coffee and a fridge in the room.
I also used the pool and gym which were well equipped. The pool and steam room were particularly nice to ease aches from standing up all day.
We are in the bar on the night we arrived and had room service one night when we got back. The food was very nice and not overly expensive. Also had breakfast one morning which is better value if you buy a voucher from reception which saves £5.
All in all this was a brilliant stay and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear PaulaNorwich_UK,
Thank you for staying with us during Download it was a great weekend. We will have a look into our shuttle service how we can optimize the transfers.
See you next year.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
812 reviews
11.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Pegasus Business Park Herald Way | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $91 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing