We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great working lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Often use hotels around here for meetings

Following a less than complimentary Trip Advisor review I did about another hotel by the airport, I was messaged by the Radisson Blu marketing manager suggesting I give them a try (got to admire his initiative!)

Popped in for working lunch today

Good experience

Handy for motorway
Clean, bright and contemporary
Quick service
Excellent club sandwich
Certainly better than others around East Midlands Airport that I've tried in the past

Will return

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear MJH1,
Thank you for your recent visit. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us, hope we see you more regularly.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operation Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,242 - 1,248 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great airport hotel. The rooms, although not particularly large, are spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathroom is also not particularly big, but the shower is spacious and good. The staff - reception, bar, restaurant, shuttle bus driver - are all friendly and efficient. I have stayed twice now and have eaten once in the restaurant and once in the bar, which has a more limited menu. The food was very good on both occasions. We used the free shuttle service at 4am. Whilst waiting, there was complimentary tea, coffee, water and cereal bars available. This would always be my first choice of hotel at East Midlands airport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Bluesprout61,
Thank you so much for your positive comments, our team at the hotel tries very hard to ensure that all our guests have a positive experience.
It is absolute great to read that you choose us for the second time.
We hope we can greet you again soon.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Fabulous hotel totally let down by the total lack of air conditioning. My room was like a sauna and I couldn't sleep. The sophisticated system simply didn't work, and the hotel did absolutely nothing about it. I would not stay here again. Shame as my rooms is really lovely

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tringster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Tringster007

I was very disappointed to learn that the air handling system to your room did not operate correctly and even more disappointed to learn that you reported the issue and it was not resolved to your satisfaction.

I would be very grateful if you could contact me at daniel.keane@radissonblu.com or by phone on 01509 686222 so that I can check which room you stayed in and on which date. This will then allow me to identify how our procedures for dealing with guest complaints failed on this occasion.

I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience but in the meantime please accept my sincere apologies.

Kind regards


Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here on 24th of april the night before we flew to lanzarote for our honeymoon wow we was disapointed, beautifull stunning reception welcomes you and there was a dunlop convention on that evening so was very busy but the reception staff was very efficent and welcoming and we booked the restaurant for dinner.
I had emailed the hotel to say it was our honeymoon and they gave us a superb room absolutley beautifull and views overlooking the runway so thank you radisson very much.

They gave us a glass of champayne with our meal as a compliment for our honeymoon lovely!!, The food was lovely and the restaurant was very elegant and you would have loved to sit there all night but had an early flight to catch.
The hotel is spotless and room was immaculate wish we had stayed longer but all in all was the most perfect start to our honeymoon.

we would definatley go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baker061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear baker061,
We are so pleased to read that we made such a good start for your honeymoon.
The Radisson East Midland Team wishes you both all the best for the future and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Organised another conference at Radisson EMA. Staff were as always very helpful, professional and went that extra mile to assist. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed. Good location if traveling from EMA and they have a shuttle service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Maria Nottingham,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your experience. I passed your comment to our Meeting & Events Team, it is very rare to receive feedback on Tripadvisor especially for this department.
We are glad and hope to see you again for an upcoming conference in the near future.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I only had the pleasure of staying for one night whilst at Donington Park race circuit but, despite checking in on a busy Saturday night when there was a large party in progress, I was dealt with cheerfully, helpfully and efficiently.
The room was very pleasantly furnished - light and airy, although one can't spend very long gazing out of the window as the business park is a little tedious.
The in-house restaurant was reasonable but the menu was quite expansive and well-priced. Service was very proficient, including the bar man who mixed a very palatable dry martini (although I would suggest slightly less vermouth and slightly more gin, that may be personal preference).
I didn't have a chance to check out the breakfast as I had to leave early, but cannot fault my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fen_Scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Fen_Scorpion,
Thank you for your recent stay at the Radisson Blu East Midland Airport.
I took your comments and passed it to our Bar team to double check our recipes for our cocktails.
Please visit us again when you are in the area.
Once again thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a great stay in Radisson Blue prior to our flight to barcelona. Hotel is spotless and a great location for a pre flight stay. Spa was great and Breakfast was plentiful. The service from check in to bar and restaurant was really polite, professional and friendly. keep up the great work i will be back for another visit next time I take a flight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maltings4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KordulaS_13, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Maltings4,
We are pleased about your positive comments our Team at the hotel try hard to ensure that all our guests have a great experience.
As you mentioned we will keep up and focus on customer service and looking forward to see you again at the Radisson Blu East Midland Airport.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser - Operations Manager
kordula.schloesser@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
388 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
794 reviews
1.7 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
321 reviews
11.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $87 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing