We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Modern, freah and clean - a lovely hotel. Reception was inviting, giving a good first impression. My bedroom was delightful, with a very comfy bed, huge fluffy pillows, decent tv and divine shower. Good breakfast in a very nice dining area. Hope to be able to go back for another night! Unaware of any aircraft noise.
Nice conference facillities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Trish K,

Thank you for your excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport before a trip to Malta.

We had an excellent suite, clean and newly decorated. The meal in the restaurant was exceptional. A relaxed atmosphere in which to unwind prior to our vacation.

The icing on the cake was the staff. Friendly, helpful, and everyone knew us by name (odd), even though we've never stayed there before.

We were traveling to celebrate my partners birthday, and they brought us a cake up to the room, unprompted.

My only minor gripe. The light in the walk-in dressing room would not switch-off. There was no switch controlling it.

Radisson have got it so right. Im a frequent traveller using Starwood properties, however, I have stayed in two Raddisson's to date, and they have been a far superior experience.

This is by far one of the best UK hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Po_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Po_72

Thank you for your excellent review on trip advisor.

We love to hear that were getting it right and that we are able to surprise and delight our guests.

Thank you for the feedback with regards to the light sensor in the dressing room in one one of our suites, my engineering team is looking into this to resolve the issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Situated close to the airport with rooms overlooking the runway this hotel is pleasantly surprising from both the outside and the inside. The whole place has been designed to within an inch. Every detail from the light shades to the colour of the books on the shelves.

I had a business class room which was clean and comfortable. It had a coffee machine, large tv, very large bed and all the other comforts you'd expect.

The restaurant is fine. The food is of a good quality, great service all within a relaxed environment. Breakfast was again very good. Typical hotel style but with a few nice twists especially on things such as the brands of yoghurts, juices etc.

A few down sides worth mentioning...

- no bath in the room although the shower is large
- the pillows are so soft they are useless. With four of them on the bed, you'd think that there would be a choice of feather and non-feather but no
- the windows don't open in the room however you have air conditioning however when I turned it off before going to sleep the unit droned on and on all night which stopped me sleeping
- the reception desk needs some coat hooks so you can hang your cloths up whilst waiting to check in
- the check out procedure is slow and queues form very easily

Don't let these little issues put you off. When a hotel is as good as this it is such a same that they can't go that extra bit to get it absolutely right...

Hope this helps

Room Tip: Try the air con to make sure it isn't noisy before you hang up your cloths and relax
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear TJBrooke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and loved the designer feel of our hotel.

In response to the feedback you gave us, I am disappointed that you found the pillows uncomfortable. Generally we get very good feedback on our pillows, however we do have non feather available on request, as we appreciate the different needs of our guests.

I agree that hooks at the front desk would be extremely helpful, it is something that I will look into, I just need to find the right solution to ensure that they are in keeping with the rest of the building.

I would really apppreciate if you have the time to e-mail at the address below with the room number that you stayed in, in order that I can investigate further the noise generated from the air conditioning unit in your room.

Thank you again for your helpful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The room was clean tidy and spacious, the bed very comfortable and huge. Service warm and friendly. The evening food was ok, breakfast a good standard buffet. Also Free Wifi and considering the proximity to the airport no sound of an aeroplane was heard.

Down side
No phone signal, unable to open a window in the room and the aircon inadequate. Also despite paying £120 for the room and then £150 on food and drink in the evening and £12 for breakfast we were still charged for parking!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Mark H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us.

We are aware that currently there is an issue with mobile coverage with some networks within the building. We are currently working with Vodafone to provide a multi network solution for this.

As you said we also have excellent sound proofing in the building, especially considering our proximity to the runway, however in order to acheive this it means that our windows cannot be opened. I was hoping therefore that you may be able to contact me via my e-mail address below in order that I can investigate the air conditioning issues in your room.

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your bedroom comfort and the warm and friendly service you received.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

went for a work conferance yesterday 20/11/12 ...walked into reception and went to the receptionist to find out were we was going to be ..pleasant smart friendly staff greated us and was told directions , no problems really fab breakfast buffet was laied on which was endless tea coffee fruit you name it, and plenty too . conferance room was large and nicley set up, on each table there was 3 bottles of large water (0ne included spring), sweets, pens and paper which was very handy !!
lunch was a proper hot meal with three choices, pudding included and refreshments. the dining area is light bright and clean and you can see the airport runway but it was not noisy at all.toliets fresh and clean with flowers and tissues on the sinks nice touch we thought shoe polisher out side the toliets .overall a calm and almost relaxing experience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie01332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear angie01332,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad that we made your conference here such a calm experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times with work.

Good location, close to EMA. Has a good size car park and regular transport to the airport should you need it.
Check in it always quick and easy, even when they are very busy. The reception area is light and bright, with a nice bar area and plenty of sofas and chairs to relax in. Light bar meals are available as well as in the more formal dining area. There is a pool, gum, spa etc but I didn't use them.
Lifts were quick, you need your room card to operate the lift, which I like for security, don't like when i'm struggling with a suitcase, crew bag, handbag etc.
Rooms are excellent. spacious with plenty of plug sockets. I don't think there is anything you won't be able to charge, heat up etc. Nice big flat screen tv on the wall, good amount of lighting, work desk and chair. Small fridge with complimaentary still and sparkeling water. Tea, (regular, fruit and herbal) coffee and hot chocolate and some cookies. Kettle, cups and glasses. Rooms have a safe. The bed is very comfortable. During my first stay I think they must have had an issue with the heating as it took almost 5 days for the room to cool properly. On subsiquent stays it has only taken an hour. The bathrooms have either a full bath with an over shower or a wet area shower, The bathroom door is also the door to the sperate loo. One thing I was a little unsure of was the design of the bathroom windows. Two clear panels allow light and sight from the main room into the bathroom and vice versa. Good for still seeing the tv (speakers in bathroom should you wish to use them) whilst in the shower or cleaning your teeth, not so good for privicy should you be travelling with another. But that's the only niggle.
Room service rather expensive but then again it always is in such places. There is an M&S food at the services close by should you feel peckish.
Breakfast was lovely. All the normal offerings and if you wanted your eggs a particular way, it was no trouble at all.
All in all. I'm never upset to learn I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HostieHev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear HostieHev,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor. Its great to hear that our regular guests enjoy coming back.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations
emma.fairhurst@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for one night - on an amazing deal, including parking (normally around £40 in itself), for half nothing from Hotels4U. Easy to find, possibly even walkable to terminals if you had the inclination. Spectacular to look at, gorgeous big rooms, interesting layout (although you might feel shy in the bathroom - our room at least had open walls to main bedroom) (but lovely with blue and purple low lighting around bath and under sink - totally glam!). Great citrus-y toiletries, proper hairdryer, couple of small bottles of water in fridge (not generous but appreciated), good TV, extra-amazingly-comfy big bed, lovely crisp bedding, gorgeous shower (and bath), efficient wake-up call, and little breakfast crunch bars with fruit and coffee for those up and out too early to eat proper breakfast. Transfers (in our case free) quick and courteous especially on the way back at 11.30pm, when we were redirected to a cab firm at the airport on Radisson's account. All-in-all, absolutely perfect start to the trip, as good as any hotel I've stayed in in the UK, thoroughly recommended.

(PS Didn't sample the food, but there's a great Indian restaurant in nearby Kegworth if you don't want to eat in..)

Room Tip: We faced the airport, but didn't hear a thing even though this is a 24-hour airport (DHL hub)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roll-on-next-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBEMAOpsDirector, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear roll-on-next-trip,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantsatic review on Trip Advisor,


We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you rank as one of the best you have stayed in the UK.

We look forward to welcoming you back, the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Emma Fairhurst - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
11.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.3 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport

Address: Herald Way, Pegasus Business Park | East Midlands Airport, Castle Donington DE74 2TZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#1 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $89 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2016 LUXURY AIRPORT HOTEL OF THE YEAR, AWARDED BY THE LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE. Offering easy access to East Midlands Airport the new Radisson Blu Hotel is an excellent base for the discerning traveller. Stylish rooms and a first-class conference centre are offered alongside extensive dining options and excellent leisure facilities making it the preferred place to stay for business and leisure guests alike. Rooms: The hotel's 218 contemporary guest rooms are tastefully and stylishly designed with luxury and comfort in mind. With a selection of standard rooms, business class rooms and suites attention to detail is evident throughout. All rooms feature air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities along with 38 inch flat screen televisions and free high speed internet access. Business class rooms and Suites feature extra amenities such as Nespresso(R) coffee machines and free movies. Dining: With an extensive brasserie style menu providing international cuisine choice will be paramount. Guests will be offered a variety of dishes and can choose to dine in the restaurant, lounge or bar. The Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport considers breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and offers a Super Breakfast concept which includes a large range of continental and English options to satisfy all tastes. Meetings & Events: Combining state of the art meeting facilities with an excellent convenient location for business travellers or local businesses the Radisson Blu East Midlands Airport is already a sought after conference venue. Ideal for hosting events ranging from international conferences to intimate banquets the hotel's 9 flexible meeting rooms can cater for 400 delegates in the largest suite. Services: Guests can enjoy the facilities of the onsite gym with all the latest high tech equipment. The swimming pool and spa area will provide relaxation after a hectic day. Free High speed internet access will be available throughout the hotel, outdoor parking, 24 hour room service and guest laundry service. Location: Offering prime location minutes from East Midlands Airport the Radisson Blu Hotel is in the heart of the East Midlands. The nearby M1 and M42 Motorways create easy access to local cities such as Derby, Nottingham and Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing