We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we stayed at this lovely hotel the night before we flew to egypt, the reception was welcoming and the room was good. we found the prices in there very expensive so we jumped in the car and fetched a take away, from kegworth 5 mins away.
i must applaud this hotel for the lovely man that takes you to and from the hotel to the airport, he is a true gent.it was a nice touch when we landed last night it was freezing and snowy , instead of having to phone the hotel for our return he was already there and when i commented that it was a surprise he said it was far to cold for waiting around for him in the cold, the hotel gets a gold star for that alone.
we booked this hotel for the night with 2 weeks parking through holiday extras, under the mystery hotel and i think we got a bargain .
, so a good nights sleep safe carparking if you land here you will be pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor; in particular thanks for mentioning the driver and the exceptional services he offered; gold star accepted.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We initially booked a two night stay and subsequently added another night, I phoned the hotel before travelling to ensure that the two reservations were linked to avoid any problems at check in. Despite assurances that this would be done it was not and consequently check in took longer than necessary. However this and a couple of other minor issues were dealt with efficiently and courteously by Katie on reception.
Room, linens and bathroom were spotless and maintained so by Housekeeping throughout our stay. (Decor is tired and dated, as previous reviews, but clean and well serviced, I feel it unreasonable to expect a brand new room every stay).
Breakfasts were well presented with extensive choice and attentive staff, breakfast chef anticipated our "egg requirements" by 2nd. morning.
Set menu in Restaurant was high quality and reasonably priced.
Hotel location was great for visiting Derby & the Peak District.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tonyitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a 5 star review and for mentioning in particular our receptionist and the breakfast chef. I liked that you also mentioned that you felt it unreasonable that one should expect a brand new room on every stay and that cleanliness is what its all about. Thank you for that. In today's age people have come to expect newness without much of a thought for character and old world charm. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed on 14th March for one night before flying on holiday for 10 days, parking the car at the hotel, as an all in price. A very warm welcome was received by the female receptionist. We were asked what time we required the transfer and did we want a wake up call. We were on the 1st floor and the room was clean and catered for everything we required for an overnight stay. Our check out and transfer was second to none. The driver even apologised for not getting us as close to the arrivals door due to the airport work that was being done. We returned yesterday and after phoning the hotel for the pick up was asked to go to the taxi desk as they were bringing us back.
Already booked for September, well done Hilton.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating on your review and we're delighted that we were able to improve on your last stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in October last year for one night, prior to an early morning flight. The room was lovely and very spacious. It was located on the ground floor which was ideal as it was so, very quiet despite the close proximity of the M1. We found the staff very helpful and the early morning (4am) shuttle bus provided a wonderful service. The car parking facilities were very good and it was just a short walk from the car park to reception.

The food in the main restaurant however was not to our liking, extremely rich (everything was in a creamy sauce or butter) and this did in fact result in a very upset tum and a disturbed night. Not ideal before a flight!

The return from the airport was by a taxi arranged by the hotel and the service was not a patch on the shuttle bus which had taken us on the short journey to the airport. We had to wait ages for 2 other passengers and then their cases were loaded first. We were then told that there would probably not be room for our luggage too! After complaining we were however squeezed into the taxi.

In summary we would use the hotel again but would either eat off site or just have a bar snack and also ensure that the shuttle bus did operate in both directions.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was perfect - very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and in particular about the return transfer; we have tied up with the airport preferred taxi service that is located in the arrivals hall to assist us in bringing back our guests and we do appreciate any comments on their service too as it eventually reflects on us.

Thank you for using our park and fly service and we look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a pleasant enough hotel of its type. The issue is with the extras. Wifi, car park etc. so many things normally included are to be paid for at this hotel. It's easy to double the room bill. I certainly would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firstdragoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback; this is sincerely appreciated.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room rate was reasonable and the room itself comfortable and clean. However all the add ons were infuriating. You pay for the car parking, you have to pay an outrageous fee per day for any use of wifi in your room. That's annoying as there's hardly any 3g signal in the room. The bottle of mineral water left on the side is over £3 if you open it! Breakfast is expensive and over priced. Room service food is also expensive and you pay an extra £5 for the tray! Would not go back to the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dexterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback; this is sincerely appreciated.

I am sorry that you felt there were pricey add ons. Wifi is free in the lobby and in addition we have a fully functional connectivity centre that has free use of computers for free wifi and also for printing. There is a £5 nominal fee for the car parking which is much the same as any other airport hotel would charge. A Full english breakfast is available in the restaurant for just £10 when you buy a promotional voucher at reception. At Hilton we do have extras that add on value to a guest experience but not necessarily the price.

Thank you for staying with us.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've never been sufficiently moved (+vely or -vely) to write a review before, though I travel a fair amount, but spent last night here with the family, and I could not have been more impressed. From the welcome and care we received from Carlos at front desk, to the chef and staff at breakfast - everyone went out of their way to ensure we felt like honoured guests. All facilities were excellent, and well maintained, and the overall experience was superb. Thank you to everyone who made our stay such a pleasure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White_Rabbit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on trip advisor; we're delighted that you have had an excellent stay and would love to see you back again.

warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
608 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
10.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $82 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing