We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've never been sufficiently moved (+vely or -vely) to write a review before, though I travel a fair amount, but spent last night here with the family, and I could not have been more impressed. From the welcome and care we received from Carlos at front desk, to the chef and staff at breakfast - everyone went out of their way to ensure we felt like honoured guests. All facilities were excellent, and well maintained, and the overall experience was superb. Thank you to everyone who made our stay such a pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White_Rabbit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on trip advisor; we're delighted that you have had an excellent stay and would love to see you back again.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    598
    208
    116
    54
See reviews for
466
625
58
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I never review hotles before but i feel this needs to be said. I had chipped sink in dated bathroom, plastic toilet seat, dusty on extractor fan and picture rail, soot stained ceiling above heater. Dusty side lights, poor tired bed mattress and noisey frame. bar overpiced. Food nice albeit limited choice on DBB menu. The public areas are very nice but the bedroom was awful. My colleague booked a room same time and had complimetary water, wine etc - me £3.95 for water no thank you. Little things that dont cost a lot like biscuits with tea making for instance. Charged £5 to park car overnight and £15 for wifi! For the money paid i think not represent value for money and I expected more from the brand than i got. Next time might as well stay in budget brand and save myself money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback; this is sincerely appreciated. As per our direct email to each other, thank you also for giving us the opportunity to make things right for you. Look forward to seeing you soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm not satisfied with this Hilton Hotel. No Executive Lounge is available. A robe was not provided the first night and connecting to the internet required walking down to reception to get a code. I am a Diamond member of the Hilton Honors program. My room preference has never been honored at this hotel, I always get stuck at or near the end of the hall. Breakfast was satisfactory but not exceptional, the potato (hashbrowns) were disgusting and the scrambled eggs were barely passable. Perhaps the English are satisfied with mediocre food but I'm not impressed.
I stay here once a year for business and expect better from a Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingEngineer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed the night prior to holiday and night if return leaving my car there. The car parking and hotel was excellent. The evening dinner and breakfast was excellent value. My room was confortable and spacious. I would recomend this hotel and when flying form East Midland airport in the future will deffinately be staying there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're grateful that you've taken the time to post your review on trip advisor; delighted that you've enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel was ok but is in desperate need of an update. The reception area, pool and fitness quite were all of a high standard, but the room required severe attention. The room itself was tired and dull, and the walls were marked and dated. They were in desperate need of a lick of paint, and the furniture and decor need updating (the small sofa in the room was a horrid colour and was old and tired). The bed itself was hard and uninviting and the ironing board and iron were just stuck on the wall instead of being hidden from view. Two of the tiles in the bathroom had been replaced but sadly not with the same white tiles... not what I expected of the Hilton.. Similarly, in the stair well the paint work and wallpaper was drab, tired and in desperate need of a repaint!
The fact is, it is a perfectly reasonable hotel had I paid half of what I did. There are other cheaper hotels such as Premier Inn & a Days Inn nearby, and I don't feel that we gained anything extra for the £75 odd difference in total price. We could of had a whole extra night had we gone with the cheaper option, and no doubt this would of included Wifi and probably breakfast!
As other reviewers have mentioned, the parking charge is an extra £5 per night, and to charge £15 for Wifi seems extreme in this day and age. Breakfast would of been a hefty £17 (+£5 for room service) so we ate nearby and both had breakfast for less than £17...
I wouldnt recommend this hotel as it does not offer any hint of luxury at all. You'd be better off paying half the price and staying in a budget hotel.. as this is the feel that this Hilton has - budget!

Room Tip: Please note that your parking charge is added to your room bill, and you are NOT required to pay usi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback; it is sincerely appreciated

We've noted your disappointment in expectations and have addressed this separately with you.

We do hope that you will stay again with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend on the 16th December 2012.

They hotel was well situated, the staff were fantastic and the breakfast was to die for. I have already booked to stay here again for a night later on in the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagentdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor; brilliant review and we so happy that you had a good time. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Hotel has that worn out look and the accommodation had a smell in the hall and the room which reminded me of a football dressing room. Food Bland and tasteless. Coffee weak. Staff friendly, location is central and near to the airport and M1

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback via trip advisor.

We've noted your comments for our internal review; thank you also for mentioning the friendly staff service and the convenient location of the hotel; hopefully you are able to give us another chance based on that and do let me know when you next book with us so that we are able to give you our very best attention.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
600 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
759 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing