We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but take a loan out if dining here....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but take a loan out if dining here....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Paid £80 for stay and 8 days parking. Arrived to a huge queue at reception with only one member of staff on.

Room nice enough and toiletries provided.

Price of food and drinks was disgusting. £11 for a rock hard baguette and 5 wedges.... £9 for a large glass of wine....

Driver from the airport was lovely and very helpful, much needed after a 7hour flight delay!

Think next time we go from East Midlands we will be staying at premier inn

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor.

Your comments about the food are appreciated and the chef has taken this on board and is monitoring the quality of the preparation.

Thank you for mentioning the driver from the airport for his helpfulness. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    569
    199
    112
    51
See reviews for
431
600
53
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staff are friendly and service is what you would expect.
Food prices, coffee and bottled water are outrageously highly priced.
I think they are catering to the corporates with expense accounts.
Pillows were good but the mattress could have been better.
Free wifi in the lobby but not in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReturningSoon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor.

We appreciate your comments and will review the pricing in line with our brand and competitors in the area in time for our new menu offering.

Thank you also for mentioning the friendly staff service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is very close to East Midlands airport, and no doubt gets lots of it's business from travellers through the airport. I chose the hotel as a convenient place to meet up with family. It's just a couple of minutes off the M1 motorway. Rooms were a little larger than many Hilton rooms, and the decor was to a high standard. There were one or two areas where the decor looks a little 'tired' or worn. However, our rooms were, spacious, it had climate control and a decent bed and tv. Everything was very clean. We made use of the pool which was was clean with had decent changing facilities. Breakfast was excellent, and the bar has a spacious and modern feel. Meals in the bar are a little pricey. Overall, very pleased with our choice, and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boro_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor.

We're delighted that we have been able to meet with your expectations. Thank you also for mentioning the convenience in location.

We look forward to welcomimg you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of a fly and park deal, which was a very good last minute deal. Would not have paid full price to stay here, but the deal we had was a bargain.

Hotel is very clean and modern, room was large, nice bathroom and comfy bed.

We used the hotel restuarant - food average and very overpriced we felt, as were the drinks. Very limited choice on the menu. Only used the restaurant as there was nowhere else local to do. This is the downside of this hotel - very isolated and not much to do locally.

Bus driver was helpful, the only thing we found a bit rude was that on the way to the airport he asked if anyone was flying with "Ryanscare", which then resulted in the other passengers slagging off Ryanair, this left us feeling quite embarassed as we were flying with the airline. All the other passengers seemed to be booked with Thomas Cook - no problem to us, but felt that the bus driver singled us out and made us feel uncomfortable. It shouldn't matter which airline you fly with, all guests at the hotel deserve to be made to feel comfortable and treated the same. In future, the bus driver should keep his opinions to himself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boohoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor.

Your comments are sincerely appreciated and the remarks pertaining to the driver specifically will be used in our Customer Care training sessions with our staff to ensure that we do not cause any unintentional hurt while making light banter.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This review is an amalgam of three or four stays at the Hilton over the last 12 months, all of them prior to trips abroad. Like many other people, I discovered it as a result of selecting the 'Mystery Hotel' on Holiday Extras. What that palaver is all about I have no idea, particularly as there is quite often more than one 'Mystery Hotel'. I would be very fed up if I ended up selecting the wrong one, and ended up somewhere else.

Check in is efficient, and you flight details are noted, as is the time you want your alarm call. The rooms are very comfortable, and you get a special rate three course evening meal for £15. Be aware that the bar is relatively expensive, but this is a Hilton. There is free wi-fi in the bar area, but (and yet again, another palaver) you have to be a Hilton super customer to use the wi-fi in your room. Fortunately for me, their wi-fi is supplied by BT, as is mine, so I could log in anyway.

The airport transfers are nothing short of superb. At busy times, their minibus runs three times an hour, otherwise it is pretty well on demand. Transfer takes about 10 mins, and you are dropped off near the arrival hall. This leaves you with about a 100 yard walk to departures, but it is not possible for the minibus to get any closer due to redevelopment work being carried out. When you return from your trip, you phone the hotel and they either come and get you, or arrange for the airport taxi company to deliver you. These transfers are INCLUDED in the price you pay for your parking and overnight stay. The Hilton drivers are unfailingly polite and helpful.

If you are going to have to pay for parking at East Midlands anyway, it doesn't cost very much more to take advantage of the Park and Fly option at the Hilton, and set off on your trip relaxed and hassle free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor.

We're delighted that you have given us such an excellent review mentioning in particular the unfailing friendly and efficient services of the minibus drivers.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed one night before flying from east midlands. nice clean hotel with an excellent swimming pool and gym. we got a good deal via holiday extras. The transfer to and from the airport was well organised and reliable. Bedrooms are fine. we are a family with 2 teenage children and a family room would be fine. There was no way you can book a room for families with teenagers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor

We're happy that we met with your expectations and that you had an excellent stay with us.

Look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the mystery hotel when we booked car parking and over night stay for myself and two friends.We had already eating when we arrived and had some thing to eat at the airport so can not comment on the food.The staff were really friendly and efficient the transfer from and to the airport were really good the drivers were very efficient and friendly. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable.We were coming from Leeds and we did over shoot the lane to the hotel due to the weather not been good and it was dark so we ended back on the motorway but did make it eventually.If we were flying from East Midlands again and could get it for the same price yes i would use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on trip advisor.

We're always delighted to receive feedback from our guests and good feedback like this serves to motivate us and push the mark a bit further. Thank you for mentioning the drivers friendly and efficient manners.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#5 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#4 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#3 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing