We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for 1 night!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Gainsborough Lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OK for 1 night!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here when we had an early morning flight. the room was fine, quiet and comfortable. We had a meal in the restuarant in the evening and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was, 3 courses for £15, but not so pleasantly surprised by the price of the wine!! £9 for a bog standard pinot grigio, 1 glass not a bottle!!! The transfer to airport went well, as did the pick up on our arrival back in the UK. All in all would stay here again if we had an early flight, but would take our own wine!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gainsboroughgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and for mentioning how nice the dinner experience was. Wine prices are under review for the New Year and should be set in line with our competitors in the area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton East Midlands.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    579
    203
    114
    52
See reviews for
443
618
55
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My daughter and i have travelled around the country on business and leisure trips and have stayed at a variety of hotels from budget to 4 star.
Having seen this Hotel on a comparison site ,and its price being lower than that of a well known budget hotel , we thought we had bagged a bargain with some luxury thrown in !
We arrived on sat 8th december at approx 8pm after an exhaustive trip and the hotel being extremely hard to find!
The Receptionist that checked us in was reasonably helpful , although at one point she told us that we had a complimentary breakfast as part of our deal , then retacted saying it would cost us £10 per head !
On entrance to our room (117) on the ground floor , we were initially quite impressed but on further inspection, things were not as great as we thought!
( My daughter has infact been working in a 3 star hotel in Plymouth that has a housekeeper with extremely high standards and stated that she would be horrified if she saw the standard of Housekeeping in a Hotel Chain as the Hilton!
Firstly , there was male type shaving hair in the bath , along with unrinsed shampoo drips!
There was also a chip in the enamel bath , and wood missing off the decorative bath panels .
We had twin beds , which were actually quite comfy with large puffy pillows , but my daughter commented that if her Housekeeper saw the sheets untucked like that , she would make her re make the bed!!
Then there was the Wifi , in this day and age most Hotels have free Wifi to cater for business trippers , but not the Hilton , you have to pay extra , along with any sateelite tvs you might want to watch!
But the biggest shock of all , was the room service! £4.20 for a bottle of Kronenberg , i had two along with a glass of lemonade ( which arrived as a glass of soda water !) and to top it all a £5 tray charge!!!!!
However after the initial shock , we had a good nights sleep , but had just one more surprise to come!!
On gathering our belongings to check out on the sunday morning , i did my usual of looking under the bed to makesure id not left anything behind , only to be confronted with a dirty pair of mens odd socks!!!!!!!!
So there you go , all in not a bad experince but the Housekeeping needs some attention as this is not the standard you expect from a Hotel like this!!

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocpups8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We look forward to all our guest comments as it enables us to proactively improve our services and products in line with our guests expectations. We are deeply disappointed and embarrassed that on this occasion we did not live up to our own standards. Your observations have been passed on to the Head Housekeeper for his action. We actually do provide free wifi for all our guests in the public areas and for our Hilton H Honors Gold and Diamond guests in the bedrooms. We also provide free Satellite TV in all our bedrooms and we also have Pay TV too. I do apologise if this was not conveyed to you at check in.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us; this will ensure that we do better for the next time.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Rude lady on reception tall blonde short hair i asked to change rooms due to it being noisy with loud people walking past and she basically told me i had to put up with it as didn't pay enough a lot for my room. I came down again ask she didn't give me any information regarding times of the hotel i.e. breakfast and the same lady huffed at me and then as i walked off she said something in another language! Apart from that the food and drinks were good but slightly overpriced. Lovely young barman.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squiffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

At Hilton we strive to exceed our guests expectations and offer our very best services to ensure customer delight. Please accept my apologies if you have received the impression that this wasn't the case.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed on route to Fuerteventura, brilliant Airport Hotel. Very helpful couple on reception, booked onto transfer bus for morning. Nice standard of rooms, good facilities and very comforlable.
Used Airport Taxi for transfer back to Hotel(Arrow Taxis?) as arranged by Hotel.
All in all the only place to stay for East Midland Airport

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms are of a high standard and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieismedarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for posting your feedback on trip advisor.

Delighted that we have been able to live up to your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 714 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We used this hotel for the night before our early morning flight, when we first arrived the hotel looked fantastic we were quite impressed In reception we were kept waiting 5-10 minutes while there was more than one member of staff on but only one dealing with customers which was quite disappointing. We got to our room and had 4 single beds we would of preferred 2 double or at least 1 double. Also the cleaning wasn't really to a great standard as the bathroom had remnants of previous guests not going to nick pick over that.

While we were at the hotel we used the pool and jacuzzi it was fantastic, couldn't have had better service in there and was probably the highlight of our stay there, the bus transfer first thing in the morning was fantastic to the bus driver was very friendly,and for all the children first thing in the morning there are loads of wild rabbits out and about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback.

We've noted your comments about the room and thank you for mentioning health suite facilities and also the mini bus service.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed on business - and was welcomed with 'we've upgraded you to a Club Class room from a standard'. That's nice, I thought. Couldn't actually see any difference anyway, having stayed there before, but the tea tray had no biscuits and no mini-bar (not that I'd use that at their prices anyway). I enquired about the biscuits, and it was now policy not to provide them - for cost-cutting not guest health reasons. This is a Hilton hotel, for goodness' sake. I know that biscuits aren't a ball-breaker, but come on. Interestingly, it was the only thing I remember about the stay. I think management should engage brain and act normally (if a Travelodge can do it, I'm sure the Hilton can), and also provide free wi-fi throughout the hotel, where reception is appalling at the best of times. The lovely ladies who look after the conference facilities are now just a lovely lady, and she's been stuck out in reception rather than the perfectly placed office next to the conference rooms, which is now being converted into a - yes, you've guessed it - chargeable computer room. Where will it end?!?!?!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments are genuinely appreciated and perhaps borne more out of a misunderstanding; while we don't stock biscuits in the room they are always available free of cost on request. This is being trialed with a view to avoiding waste more than a concern for economising. WIFI Internet is currently free in the public areas for all guests and free in the bed rooms for our Gold and Diamond Hilton H Honors guests. In addition we have invested in an upgraded business connectivity center which offers FREE state of the art computers for use with FREE wifi and FREE printing for all our In house guests. We do hope that this renewed facility will enhance the business experience for our loyal guests.

We look forward to you coming back to experience and enjoy these facilities

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have criticised aiport hotels in the past for being dull ,characterless and functional but yhis one is the exception.First of all you would have no idea that an airport was nearby which is a plus and second the staff are all friendly and helpful unusual for an airport hotel.The rooms are comfortable with all the usual aids if slightly dated.There is ample parking which the hotel do not always charge for,the fitness area is good for a smallish hotel and there is also a pool.I had a bar meal which arrived within minutes ,the food quality was good although £16 for fish and chips was a little expensive.Breakfast was buffet style and adequate with attentive staff.I was upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant surprise on arrival.I paid £45 for a room which was good value for a 4star hotel.I would recommend this hotel to anyone .

Room Tip: ask for a suite they are very nice although on the top floor of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evecharlton49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on trip advisor.

We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and grateful for your recommendation.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
581 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
734 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing