We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Efficent Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton East Midlands Airport for only one night earlier this month. As Hilton hotels go this is a nice hotel.

Reception and check in was efficient in my case but at times I saw very long queues at reception. Many people staying at the hotel were using it before or after a flight from the East Midlands airport as it has a large car park and the hotel offers a park stay and fly service, although the hotel is not on the airport. All parts of the hotel, reception, bar, restaurant, rooms, health club are in excellent condition and tastefully decorated. I had a very well equipped modern room on the fourth floor which appeared to have been recently refurbished. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and well equipped with bath and shower over the bath and the usual selection of shampoos and other toiletries.

There is a bar just off reception which is quite nice but was very expensive, even for a hotel bar. As there is no where else to go the bar was busy but there was always seats available. Breakfast was the usual buffet style but there was plenty of choice and the quality was good. I can’t say whether all this was good value as I was on a package paid for by work.

The hotel has a Living Well health club on site which has a very nice 15 meter pool which I managed to have to my self for an hour. All in all, no complaints about the East Midlands Airport hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor, there are only 8 or 9 rooms on this floor and they are quite lar...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such an eloquent review on trip advisor; this is very much appreciated.

We're also grateful to you for giving us a 5 star rating.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
There are newer reviews for Hilton East Midlands Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,391 - 1,397 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel came as a package with airport parking, the cost was £78.00 for a one night stay for two and parking for eleven days. We were met by a very efficient booking clerk who lacked all signs of life! There was no warm greeting, no smile whatsoever, the paperwork etc was all done as quickly as possible, coldly, and with no advise as to where we could locate our room......perhaps she knew what was in store for us!
Perhaps we should have taken note of the Rat Trap on the very front of the hotel, and in full view of guests to get an inkling as to what was to come!
The room was located right at the end of the furthest corridor, and as we passed the Spa an overwhelming smell of chlorine hit us and lingered all the way to our room which overlooked the car park and dual carriageway which wasn't a problem as to noise levels as there was triple glazing.....this was the only good thing about the room. It hadn't been cleaned, there were cup marks over the bedside tables, dressing table and desk. The wall paper was hanging off the walls beside the bed and the carpet still had the remains of the last occupants (tissues stuffed under the bed!!!)
The bathroom wasn't much better, Broken tiles and fittings, red and dark green mould on the tiles all around the bath and shower and the toilet bowl was stained down the front and still had the fitting instructions stuck to its base! To top it off the sink unit and base was in need of a good clean. We decided to ask for another room after discovering that the bed linen was torn and heavily stained (see photographs) We were advised at the reception that there wasn't anyone available, at this time, for someone to look into our complaints so we decided to take an early supper in the Bar while we waited. This was a very expensive mistake, we only wish we had brought a few sandwiches with us, but we were hungry so ordered from the menus. A ten inch Pizza was £14.00 a warm chicken salad cost £16.00 with a glass of wine and a pint it came to £43.00. The food was well presented but they served very limited amounts, the salad had just two pieces of tomatoes and the Pizza wasn't cooked underneath....You may ask why we ate at the Hilton, its a case of being captured, I'm afraid, once you are in the car park and the hotel, it's a chore to get back through security and getting the pass authorised and verified, and with such unhelpful reception staff it's just not worth it. We paid our bar tab and waited for over ten minutes for someone to attend to our complaints, by now we were tired, a little less hungry and in no mood to take on the Ice Queen so we went back to our room. By ten o'clock no one had referred back to us about the room so we turned in. Whilst in the foyer, the next morning, awaiting the taxi to the airport we overheard other guests taking about the prices in the bar, amongst other things, one guest said that they had ordered a takeaway and was told to eat it outside on the patio another said that they had taken a taxi into the next village and had had the best pub supper and all for under £30.00 for the three of them and that included the taxi returns.
Was there any one member of staff that stood out, as to customer service......Yes, only one and he was the Taxi Driver from the Hilton. Excellent service, the best in customer service. He was extremely helpful, and a great credit to the Hilton.

Room Tip: Bring your own food!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busterandtilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments about your stay with us.

At the outset please accept my apologies that you experienced barriers that came in the way of enjoying your stay with us.

At Hilton we welcome all guest feedback because it enables us to improve our services and provides for us an external measure of guest expectation. We are committed to delivering the very best guest service and when things go wrong we have a journey ambassador on site in addition to a duty manager who is empowered to make it right for the guest.

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so that we could receive some detail which will allow us to investigate more fully into these circumstances.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to hearing from you.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here on 28th September. We booked through holidayextras.com & got 2 weeks parking plus a nights stay before our holiday for a bargain price of £73.50 this was for a triple room which was a large room with 2 double beds. When we arrived it was a very straight forward process for us to park our car & get checked in. We also benefited from the special rate for a 3 course dinner for only £12!!. Yes drinks were pricey but we knew this beforehand & as we were travelling the next morning we only had a couple. The shuttel service was very effiecinet both on taking us to the airport & collecting us on our return journey. Would I book again - absolutely I felt like our holiday had started a day early!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190748JoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday and grateful for the 5 star rating you've given us.

Thank yo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here in September and got an excellent park and fly deal. One night stay in a twin room and parking for a week for £74. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Also, unlike some other airport hotels I have stayed at there is no aircraft noise. Didn't use any of the hotel facilities and didn't have breakfast so can't comment on those. The hotel offers free transfers to the airport (every 20 minutes) and the journey takes 10 minutes maximum. The driver dropped us off right outside the terminal and when we arrived back from our holiday we called the number and he was there within 10 minutes. He dropped us off right next to our car. I will definitely stay here again when flying from EMA and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.

We're delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday and appreciated our transport services.

Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating and also for your recommendation.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel on 25th September before a flight to Menorca. This time it was not such a good stay, we usually have a room on the ground floor. This time we were on the 3rd floor, the windows let in a lot of draught and the guttering and down pipe seem to have come apart. It was more noticable as it was very cold day and raining. The towels in the bathroom had also seen better days.
The check in and transport to the hotel was excellent once again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations with the room location. We appreciate your comments as it helps us make things better for the next time. Thank you for mentioning the excellent check in and transfer services.

Thank you for being a loyal guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and i having our first stayfor one night at the hilton hotel east midlands found it a nice hotel even so you still had to pay £5.00 just to park your car over night.
Wanting a nice hot bath ready for our long haul fleight at 430am in the morning only to find that the hot water was stone cold never mind we had a wash 5 hours later when we arrived in porto rico ................................ also the toilet leaked at the bottom so all the water was going all over the floor .never mind ..........

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the situation with the hot water and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. Water temperature is being monitored especially with us being an airport hotel and having very early departures in the morning.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed over at the Hilton East Midlands Airport 05.10.12 for our first wedding Anniversay and we had a lovely time. The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly and the Manager was lovely and most welcoming. We had the most fantastic meal in the restaurant that night and would highly recommend it and I'm still raving about it now. We will be staying again as soon as we can get away again. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Tania,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about your stay with us on trip advisor.

We're delighted that you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
605 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
10.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $80 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing