We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice of airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“excellent choice of airport hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked through Holiday Extras and got a great deal. We had a fantastic, large family room on the ground floor (think it was a quad room) which was just perfect for us. We even had extra towels and toiletries for the children which was nice. We didnt stay long in the hotel as we departed early for our flight in the morning. We chose not to eat in the restaurant or bar as both were expensive so opted for our favourite airport restaurant/bar The Nags Head at Castle Donnington. Our beds were very comfy and it was a quiet room which was a godsend with two excited children to get to sleep! Our transfer to the airport was speedy and efficient and we were very impressed on our return as it was raining and the driver dropped us right at our car rather than reception which we was very grateful for. Overall we thought it was excellent and would not hesitate to return or recommend to friends to stay.

Room Tip: if you are a family get a quad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your awesome feedback and your 5 star rating.

We're delighted to have made your holiday and grateful for your recommendation.

Look forward to your next visit

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    579
    202
    114
    52
See reviews for
443
617
55
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

me and my hubby stayed at the hilton for 1 night as we had an early morning flight from east midlands to dublin
we arrived late to check in 11pm ..but the chap in reception had no problem with this and was
friendly and polite, lovely big room with plenty of tea and coffee refreshments, also a massive tv and lovely comfortable big bed, with clean white duvet and two lush big pillows each .fab....
would defo stay here again and we will defo be back in the future
did not stay for breakfast as we had to be at ema for 5pm maybe next time

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie01332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We're so happy to have been able to make your stay enjoyable.

We're grateful for your 5 star rating and look forward to your next visit.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked a night’s stay with two weeks parking in a Family Room at a very reasonable £68. I didn't expect too much for that price but were very pleased with the service we received. We chose not to eat in the restaurant, but the Nags Head Inn, in Castle Donnington. Check in/out was simple and efficient, all staff were very friendly. Special mention has to go to our driver who dropped us at the airport and picked us up on our return. He was very friendly and helpful and was waiting for us when we landed.
Only slight gripe was the sofa bed for one of the kids. The mattress was very thin, so much so that one of the supporting bars could be felt through it. My daughter couldn’t sleep in the bed and as it was late I decided to swap with her rather than advise the hotel reception. I suspect they would have done something about it, though I can't comment further.
We would definitely look to take the same option again when flying out on holiday from East Midlands.

Room Tip: If taking a family room, check the sofa bed first. Ours was uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD5Clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments especially your special mention of our driver. I trust you have enjoyed your holiday and next time I must request you to try out our restaurant. We are currently offering discounted dinner vouchers for families who have booked a holiday package with us and we have put a new menu offering in place as well.

Please allow me to apologise to you for the sofa bed. We have now put in place rollaway beds that offer a better standard of product.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before flying from East Midlands to Barcelona for the weekend. Booked through Holiday Extras as one of their secret hotels, & we definately got a bargain.

Left the car in the car park with NO problems. Transfer to the airport should be booked at reception. We waited for the shuttle bus in reception and as it was almost full with 2 families, we were provided with a taxi, just for the 2 of us. When we rang the hotel on our return, again we got a taxi. Great service.

Large room & bathroom, both very clean. Hotel is next to motorway but we didn't hear any noise.

We ate our evening meal at the hotel & had the special deal which was good value for money. lovely food. You would have to get the car out to eat elsewhere. We didn't stay for breakfast.

Good sized pool, which we used.

All the staff were met were lovely & credit to the hotel.

would def stay again if flying from East Midlands.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about the hotel and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for giving us such a glowing recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for flying from east midlands but the bar food is a rip off, tasty but very expensive. Rooms are a very high standard, but I guess that's what you expect from a Hilton Hotel. Close enough to walk to the airport so no worries about missing a flight!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageJo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I cannot but help think that you've got us mixed up for some other hotel for one reason only and that is..... this hotel is not walking distance from the airport as you described. It takes about 10 minutes by car; about 3 and a half miles literally.

Otherwise the rooms are of good quality and we do transfers every 20 minutes to the airport so quite convenient really.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed on a family 2 night break as a base for Alton towers and Warwick Castle have to say I was a little disappointed , the staff I cannot speak highly enough of absolutely 10/10 (apart from chamber maids) as for the hotel itself extremely expensive and very tired for a Hilton. I usually stay at travel lodge or premiere Inns when we travel with the 2 children for short breaks to England as they're adequate enough for our needs and are only ever a base and maybe have a couple of drinks when the children go to bed . We got a good deal for the 2 nights so i thought why not. First night we actually got a taxi down to Kegworth for dinner as the food and drink were extortionate .Second night we got dinner on our way back from Alton towers as it was long day , we decided to just pop to the bar for one or 2 drinks (even at over £4 a pint!) only to discover they had no draught drinks at all due to some fault in the cellar and very limited stock in the fridges sorry Hilton for a 4* NOT GOOD ENOUGH . Staff could not apologise enough thought may be have coffee instead , '£5 for a Costa coffee we don't even pay that in Ireland for Costa !', so just went to the room and had a coffee after we washed the dirty cups that were in the room which we hadn't used by the way ! On the plus side the beds were comfy and room was plenty big enough for a family of 4, but to be honest never had any complaints about beds or room in the other 2 places I've already mentioned .Sorry Hilton xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjzsog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much forn taking the time to give us your review.

We value all of our guest comments very highly and we use the feedback to improve our services and products. In order to make the dinner offering available at a reasonable price for our holiday makers we have meal vouchers available at reception that substantially discount the food in the restaurant. In addition Hilton offers children 10 years and younger free meals from the children's menu when accompanied by a paying adult. We want to show you that we are a family friendly hotel and that we genuinely care for our guests.

I am really sorry that your room was not serviced the second day. It might have happened that the 'do not disturb was on'. I would like to thank you for mentioning the staff as being 10/10 and that the rooms were large and beds comfy.

Thank you again for staying with us and sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you. Please do contact me directly to book your next stay and I will ensure that you get the very best attention.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at the hotel prior to flying out early next morning. Lovely hotel, spacious comfortable family room. Bar areas are very nice and only reason I have not given it 5 stars is the cost of the drinks which, as with most hotel chains, are somewhat excessive.
The use of the pool was a welcome bonus and was thoroughly enjoyed by the kids.
The transfers could not be bettered and the drivers were very professional and courteous.
A good deal was gained from Holiday Extras (£88 for room incl. 15 days parking).
Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dweezuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerEMA, Front Office Manager at Hilton East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and grateful for mentioning the drivers for their professionalism and courteousness.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midland...
#4 of 7 in Castle Donington
580 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
731 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton East Midlands Airport

Property: Hilton East Midlands Airport
Address: Junction 24, M1, Derby Road, Castle Donington DE74 2YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton East Midlands Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IMPORTANT TRAVEL ADVICE: When travelling to the hotel and using a satnav, please search for the hotel name in the 'points of interest' or 'hotel search' section of your device. The reason is the hotel postcode covers such a large area that it can be imprecise on some devices. Please also note that if your satnav's maps are not up to date this can also cause misguidance, especially on tomtom devices. We strongly advise you to refer to our directions page on the hotel website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hilton East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Hilton Hotel Derby
Hilton Derby
Derby Hilton
Hilton East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing