We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Room for three made up and equipped for three people.....joy!!! It should be so easy but this is the only hotel that we have stayed to get it right and it really does make a difference. Even with the double sofa bed made up the room was large enough for our needs and spotlessly clean. The shower was excellent and tea and coffee facilities ample. In fact everything we needed. The continental breakfast was plentiful and we appreciated the early timing. With friendly and helpful staff we would not stay anywhere else when using this airport. Thank you to all concerned especially the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goatsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    204
    99
    27
    4
See reviews for
129
210
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for a night before our flight to go on holiday. Very comfortable beds! Great nights sleep. Rooms were spacious, breakfast was ok, the staff were very friendly. Like EVERY hotel it would be nice to have more milk, tea and coffee in the room. Otherwise good!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Drinks very expensive. Food very expensive the reception/bar/restaurant is all in one room so you can't sit anywhere to keep warm. It's March in England and they have air conditioning blasting out at below zero all around the building. We decided to sit somewhere far away from the conditioning unit but the seats where put near to the ever opening automatic door. So you would sit there and feel just freezing & someone would come in and stand under the "eye" or sensor of the door as they gazed around so no
Longer are you at a temp of zero you are now at -90 below zero. The food was nice but very small portions & the drinks extortionate. The rooms where very nice & very clean. & the staff lovely. The biggest problem we had was the cold!! Would we stay again? No we are off to a warm cheaper premier inn next time

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendsofthealikies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieron R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear friendsofthealikies,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport.
I'm delighted to hear that you found the staff lovely and that your room was nice and clean.

I am however, very disappointed to hear that you found it so cold in the hotel. I know it's sometimes hard for the staff to feel the cold when they are on the move all the time, but we are always happy to change the temperature if requested. Our guests comfort, experience and satisfaction is always at the heart of our business.

With regards to the prices of our drinks and food. I find that we are very competitive in relation to the surrounding airport hotels, but of course, your comments will be taken into consideration. We are constantly reviewing our products to ensure that we are offering a wide range of products at a competitive price.

I sincerely hope that if you are in the East Midlands area again, you will choose to stay with us.

Many thanks again for your review.

Kieron Roe
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

24th Feb 2014

Overnight stay in readiness for an early flight from local East Midlands Airport.

Arrived 2 hours later (12.45pm) than planned due to closures on both the M42 and M6 motorways.

Tired and in need of a coffee and my pillow the staff were very friendly and helpful, preparing my drink whilst I took my luggage to my very clean and comfortable room. Came down for coffee to find a snack to accompany both of which were courtesy of my Platinum card status.

Before turning in for some much needed sleep a taxi had been booked for both my trip to airport and the return journey on the 26th.

Great night sleep, albeit shorter than I would have liked, but trouble free and woke up to a very hot shower. Not always something you can rely on when staying in different hotels...

A call from front desk advised me the taxi had arrived, some more great service to add to the list from a very short stay at this hotel.

Recommend for business use.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank H2499MNmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel very convenient for East Midlands Airport. The hotel itself is basic but sufficiently comfortable for an overnight stay. The rate quoted for parking and hotel also included a taxi transfer to and from the airport (around a 5 minute trip each way). Would definitely stay again if flying from East Midlands.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and me took advantage of the hotel's park and stay package as we had a late fight back to the UK from Malta. Check in was easy, bot for leaving the car and upon our return. Complimentary taxis were also provided to and from the airport which was very welcome.

Upon our return the lady who checked us in was fantastic from offering to order some food from a local takeaway to providing us with utensils and plates etc. That's what I call 'value added' service!

Breakfast was adequate in terms of choice/quality but I have no complaints for the price paid.

So well done and thank you to all those involved!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here the night before flying out leaving our car there, and again when we landed very late! An adequate Holiday Inn Express with friendly staff. The hotel is so convenienet for the aiport at jusy £6 for a taxi to the terminal building!
We love it here and will definitely be staying again.
Thank you to all the HI Ex staff, East Mids Airport!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#6 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
#6 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing