We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here the night before flying out leaving our car there, and again when we landed very late! An adequate Holiday Inn Express with friendly staff. The hotel is so convenienet for the aiport at jusy £6 for a taxi to the terminal building!
We love it here and will definitely be staying again.
Thank you to all the HI Ex staff, East Mids Airport!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 606 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Arrived and booked in, staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms were what you expect clean and tidy, everything in there you expect.

Unfortunatly Evening dinner service was at best slow and at worst completly forgetful. 45 minutes after ordering food we were finally served, this might not have been to bad but the curry i had was to be honest microwaved rice and a measly accompnament of curry, think i counted 4 little chunks of chicken!! others in the group faired slighly better the ribs are by all accounts "delicious" but the fish and chips were not the best, fish was at best drier than the gobi desert and mostly batter, dessert was a complete shambles, they must have almost run out of custard as the desserts we noticed coming out had loads of custard availble for pouring however our desserts were served with only a quarter pot of custard at most should we book again we will most definatly be going out for dinner.

Breakfast was not up to much either, the apple juice you get out of the dispensing machine is more water than apple, was hard to tell this apart from the hint of apple flavoured water we had from Morrisons, why do you not to bacon?? take the powdered scrambled egg off and feed people proper food, the toaster was hit and miss sometimes the bread came out whiter than it went in then it set fire to two slices.

All in all decidely average, heard more folk complain about the length of time to seve up dinner and they were all offered complimentry drinks so we were not the only ones to think the dinner service was lacking.

Room Tip: choose the raddison if you want the complete package, the rooms here are fine, it's the rest of...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincsoyibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieron R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear lincsoyibo,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express East Midlands airport.

I am delighted that you found the service offered by the staff to be efficient and that your room was clean and tidy.

I am however, very disappointed to hear that your dining experience was forgettable. I apologise that you were kept waiting for your dinner. Having looked into this, I have discovered that the date in question was unexpectedly busy and the staff were working the best they could under the circumstances. I can assure you that this is not normally the service offered to our guests.

With regards to your dinner and breakfast, I apologise that you found it to be less than satisfactory. We take all comments into consideration when it comes to adding/removing items from our menu and your comments will be sent to the relevant department. I will also ensure that my staff are following all instructions provided to maintain some consistency as comments like yours are not the norm for us.

I hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you're travelling in the East Midlands.

Sincerely

Kieron Roe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The room was clean,quiet and comfortable just what we needed before a early flight. The breakfast was also very good, fresh croissants and coffee. The hot food is not available until 6 am.
I would recommend staying here if flying early and we will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed Christmas Eve for an early start on Christmas Day at the airport.

The car parking system is very useful and reasonably priced. We left our car there for the week and were provided with transport to and from the airport.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was clean and well equipped. We had a comfortable night and woke refreshed and ready for the rigours of a holiday.

We had an early continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

me and my friend stayed in the holiday inn on the 1st of feb for 1 night before flying out of east mind on the 2nd. The price was very good car park deal and 1 night stay. It is very easy to find and so is the car park we stayed was also easy to find, the guy on reception gave us a map and very good directions.
The staff at this hotel are top notch especially the man at reception that checked us in he was very helpfull and friendly throuout our stay,
The rooms were very clean, and comfortable iv never had such a good night sleep away from home anywhere so comfortable. it is also very quiet and there seemed to be quite alot of guests.
We also had some food the night we got there the price was average for a hotel, and the food was good.
We had the FREE breakfast the following morning which was more than enough very fresh everything you need. eating area also very clean.

We had a nice stay and will definatly be staying again next time we fly out of east midlands.

Well done holiday inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchkin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

arrived one late afternoon with my husband to friendly staff who quickly sent us up to our room. it was exactly what we wanted the bed was really comfy just a shame we had to leave it behind. spent a few hours at the bar and a lovely young gentlemen kept us company late into the night. breakfast was very good i was expecting a basic and simple set up as we were leaving at 5am but was impressed by the amount and choice and was set up in buffet style. returning to tenerife next year and will consider staying here again. good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here myself, husband and four kids in adjoining rooms after returning from a holiday in Benidorm. This was our second stay here whilst using East Midlands airport and again we were not disappointed.
The rooms are clean and the staff extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Very comfy beds including the travel cot, immaculate bedding and lovely breakfast too. My daughter wanted bananas but couldn't find them and the staff were more than happy to help. We have found this hotel good value for money when we compared to the other hotels in the vicinity hence why we use this one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmajaynesimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $69 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing