We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just The Job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express as part of a car parking package and had an enjoyable stay.

The hotel is easy to find and we were promptly checked in. Our room was of an average size and reasonably clean. The sofa bed was made up too.

We asked the receptionist to recommend any good eateries / pubs and was given a leaflet with directions to The Otter In Kegworth.

On our return, we fancied a drink in the blazing sun and we were told that there was an outside area. It was simply some worn out metal chairs and wonky tables overlooking the Premier Inn hotel car park. A bit of a shame and a contrast to the inside. Drinks are expensive too. 2 ciders, 1 pint of lager and 2 kids drinks nearly £25.

After an OK nights sleep, we had breakfast which was quite good with BBC News on screens in the restaurant.

Check out was simple and within 5 minutes we reached the airport.

Overall, a basic yet decent hotel with no noise from the nearby runway a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ant1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Ant1985,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 609 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this 1 hour before arriving and although the booking company made a mistake with our room allocation the hotel promptly apologised and gave complimentary drinks. The room was well furnished and sufficient for our needs for 1 night. We ate in the bar and the meal was superb and reasonably priced as were the drinks. The staff were efficient and friendly. The real surprise was the breakfast the following morning as we did not expect much as advised however there was a wide selection to suit most tastes.

This was supposed to be a ''budget'' stay as we were in transit but this was much better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoandTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

a big thank you to Tara and Laura on reception...night staff
welcoming,friendly service nothing was to much trouble..
all hotel staff were brilliant
definitely be back again and would recommend to others

from the g4s team x



Room Tip: accommodated for everything when requested iron and ironing board ..it was immediately available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here recently as I had an early morning flight from East Midlands airport. It's not on the actual airport site but is located on the edge of a business park about half a mile away. The hotel was relatively good value, clean. I didn't use the restaurant but helpful reception staff provided a bar service and prices were reasonable for a captive audience. There was a serviceable breakfast available which is served from 4.30am; sufficient for the needs of very early risers.

There isn't a hotel linked airport shuttle as such but there is a twice hourly scheduled bus which leaves from virtually outside the hotel and only costs fifty pence. I used it and it was no problem at all. A pre booked taxi is six pounds and a reasonable option for families with lots of luggage etc.

I think the hotel is a good option for staying near the airport as its comfortable, friendly and good value for money.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank nidoc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear nidoc101

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, and I am pleased that you found our Airport Hotel to be efficient and ideal for your needs.

I am also pleased that you found the Skylink Bus service suited your needs - a great value alternative to the taxi service.

Hope to see you again here soon.

Clive Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is how all budget hotels should be, comfortable, clean and tidy, efficient and with a reasonable breakfast offering included in the price.
First time we have ever used Holiday Inn Express, it will not be the last.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hard-t-please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are very clean and confortable. The breakfast serves two hot dishes and plenty of other items, you are sure to find something you like.we checked in late and no problem room was there and waiting. There is shuttle service to the airport but we did not require it. Good hotel for the airport as it very close.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glider10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have used most of the hotels around East Midland airport whilst working at Ratcliffe on Soar Power Station. Holiday Inn Express is my least favourite. First choice is Radisson Blu. 2nd choice is Premier Inn with Holiday Inn Express coming tird. Main reason for this is the delay at check-in as often there is only one receptionist who is also running the bar and the awful restaurant food. Apart from the above the hotel is OK, rooms are comfortable but no more so than Premier Inn and the car park is often completely full. overall whichever of the above three hotels you choose you will be fine for a night but Radisson Blu is head and shoulders above the rest and this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_smith186222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveJohnson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Paul

I am sorry that you only rate us as the third option for the East Midlands area, we are working hard to ensure that our team is sufficiently able to offer you the warm check-in that you appear to be missing, but I am pleased to note that you rate our cleanliness and sleep quality highly. I hope that we can convince you to revise your score in the future.

Kind regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
1.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#5 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range: $67 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing