We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here with my daughters. We felt as though we were invisible most of the time. Unfortunately, the staff were sullen and only interested in chatting amongst themselves all the time we were there. Cooked breakfast needed replenishing as we took the last three sausages and the rest of the watery, rubbery egg at 9am. No staff around to attend to things; 4 staff too busy chatting behind reception, unprofessionally, in full view of everyone. Another guest came in at 9.15 (breakfast was supposed to be "available" till 9.30), looked in to the cooked containers and had to make do with cereal and toast. He left within ten minutes. Breakfast is served from 4am, which is good but staff should be checking that everyone has what they pay for until the close of dining. If they state it is served until 9.30, then it should be. No staff around at all. At precisely 9.25 two very miserable looking women swooped on the dining room to clear things away to the kitchen, emptying the black bin and generally making a statement that that was it, so anyone coming then would have been even more disappointed. No eye contact was made with anyone (there were 2 other tables dining). Afterwards at 10am upstairs, when I asked for another towel for my daughter to have a shower, (checkout wasn't until 12,) the cleaner in the room opposite said aggressively "Yes, but when are you leaving?" Again, when we left, no-one noticed us deposit our key, 4 staff again too busy chatting in their group again, although a man looked as though he heard something and swung round to say goodbye just as we went through the doors. We weren't impressed. It really goes against my grain not to say thank you, but I didn't bother as I know they wouldn't have heard or cared. We won't be staying here again. Customer service desperately needs an over haul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonlady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    204
    99
    27
    4
See reviews for
129
210
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed in this Holiday Inn for one night only during December but will not be staying there again.

The room itself was fine, what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, however the service and food were, what can only be described, as abysmal. My colleague had a Lasagne which came in a bowl with two small pieces of garlic bread on the side, nothing else, no side salad or garnish and the Lasagne looked and tasted like a Tesco Value Meal that had been microwaved for too long.

The staff were surly and not very helpful.

I am a regular at Holiday Inns and am a Priority Customer but this one is to be avoided unless you are desperate!

Room Tip: Use a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormy0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAJ1705, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport.
I am disappointed that you state that the service and food were "abysmal". This is most unusual and very different from our past reviews. I will however share your comments with our Team who will undoubtedly double their efforts in ensuring that all of our guests have a pleasant experience.
Regards

Clive Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

A pleasant hotel ideally located for East Midlands Airport. The room was very comfortable but only had a shower and not a bath. The staff were very friendly and the food was good if a little overpriced. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. Continental breakfast was available from 4a.m. and hot breakfast from 6.30! The hotel suited us because they allow a third bed in the room for children up to and including the age of 17. Ideal as we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
250 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

arrived near midnight after flight from Spain found it easy-good location. Staff very efficient and friendly. recognized our booking immediately and we were quickly in our room which was warm clean and comfortable. good nights sleep then a good buffet breakfast and then on our way !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Booked an overnight stay at this hotel to attend a race day at Donnington - excellant location!! Check in was pain free and all relevant booking information was correct, ready and waiting - I was recognised as a priority card holder.

Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous... Enjoyed an evening meal and food served was hot, tasty and plentiful... and very quick to arrive after ordering!!

The room was clean, spacious and tidy, and suprisingly quiet given it's location to East Midlands airport....

Breakfast was again plentiful, tasty and hot! All in all - excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoofoowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAJ1705, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Hoofoowan
Thank you for your great review. We are certainly a great choice for all things Donington Park!

I am glad you were looked after well by the team, and we look forward to accommodating you on your next visit to the fabulous Donington Park.

regards

Clive Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked the Holiday Inn for an overnight stay on 09/10/12, prior to our flight from East Midlands airport.We booked 2 rooms, a family room for myself, my partner and our 6 year old Daughter and a twin room for our older 2 children (18 & 23 ).We paid £139 for both rooms, 15 days parking, breakfast and transfers to and from the airport.Check in was quick, and we were allocated inter-connecting rooms...which was perfect!. Rooms perfectly adequate and very clean.Plenty of choice for breakfast...perfect before a flight!
Previously stayed at the Thistle which is only a few minutes nearer to the airport...however with a price tag of £300 for 2 rooms without the breakfast or transfer...we chose The Holiday Inn.
All in all, an excellent hotel, with excellent service and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room408NorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAJ1705, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your "Excellent" review. We are pleased that you found us to be great value for money and were able to benefit from our early breakfast before leaving for your flight. Our new all-inclusive package including transfers represents a great deal. We look forward to seeing you again before your next holiday!

Regards

Clive Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed at this holiday inn several times over the past few years, as it is so convenient when flying from the East Midlands Airport, All ways clean and tidy, excellent value with a good breakfast all in the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenm242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAJ1705, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we are all pleased that you find the Hotel clean & tidy and that you benefited from our breakfast which is always free at Holiday Inn Express hotels!

We hope to see you back soon!

Regards

Clive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 8 in Castle Donington
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 8 in Castle Donington
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn East Midlands Airport Hotel
Premier Inn East Midlands Airpor...
#3 of 8 in Castle Donington
770 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport
Address: Hunter Road, Castle Donington DE74 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Castle Donington
#6 Business Hotel in Castle Donington
#6 Family Hotel in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to contemporary Holiday Inn Express hotel at East Midlands Airport. With a great location, comfortable public areas & air conditioning in all guestrooms, you re sure of a great visit. We're just one mile from the airport and 35 miles from Alton Towers. Each of our 90 newly refurbished guestrooms have air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults & 2 children under 12 & feature a double bed and pull out sofabed, flat screen TVs, an en-suite with power shower, hairdryer & tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast is included so you can help yourself to the Express Start buffet. For your convenience we also offer on-site car parking packages. The Holiday Inn Express' location is perfect for meetings with both the M1 Motorway & East Midlands Airport just minutes away ensuring easy access for delegates. Nottingham East Midlands Airport is served by major airlines including Jet2, Ryanair and Thomson so we regularly welcome international guests for meetings in our 4 conference rooms which can accommodate up to 40 delegates. The Great Room is an informal place in which to relax with breakfast, chill out with a drink from the bar or enjoy an evening meal from our tasty menu. Our hotel is also a great location for visiting Derby and Nottingham, Donington Park Race Circuit, Donington Open Air Market, the Peak District or Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Hotel Castle Donington
Express Castle Donington
Holiday Inn Derbyshire
Castle Donington Holiday Inn
Express East Midlands Airport
Holiday Inn Express East Midlands Airport Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing