We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Church View Hotel

Church View Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church View Hotel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in August 2013. Extremely comfortable hotel. A well proportioned room with wifi. and bath which is a must for us. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Piping hot food, beautifully served on a table with a white starched cloth and napkins. Good attention to detail. We were made very welcome, especially by Lucy, the dog!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Yes a pleasant, comfortable place to stay with many nice and quaint touches.
Castle Donnington is a charming town and this hotel beats most convenience city hotels for all things.
There wasnt a swimming pool but I couldnt switch it off.

Room Tip: All rooms are very congenial
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in bedroom 11 which was everything you could ask for - very clean, warm, well decorated and comfortable. The home cooked for is exceptional in choice, quality and value for money. Without doubt this may be a smaller hotel but it sets an example to others.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 11 are very good - cannot speak to the others but I understand some are still awaiting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Recently, I stayed at the Church view hotel for business.

It's based in the sleepy little town of castle Donington, which has a great little town and a country setting.

So, I checked in at the hotel, as soon as you walk into the hotel you can see that it has been finished to a very high standard and obviously they had taken a lot of time to review the detail of the hotel.

Then I was taken to my room by the manager who seemed flustered and a little bit rude to be honest, making a few sarcastic comments about where my room was located even though I asked him where it was as I wasn't too sure.

The room itself was small, but again it was good quality, with a massive shower head. The only down point was that you have to turn the shower on through the cold setting to get to the hot and when it was hot it was only warm. Even though there was Wifi in the hotel, it was impossible to pick up in my room and as a consequence I could not catch up with my e-mails in my room which was a little inconvenient.

All in all, it's a great little hotel in an excellent location but the managers sarcasm and lack of interest dampened my experience of the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBooth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Clean rooms, great food, hospitable owners and excellent value for money...what more could you ask for. The rooms have a modern feel and are very comfortable. The hotel boasts a small bar area in which to relax at the end of the day before heading through for good honest food. Very well positioned as handy for East Midlands airport and close to the main thoroughfare of the M1. Happy to recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending 5 nights at this hotel and was amazed. It is a wonderfully decorated building with a cosy atmosphere but modern feel and has everything you would expect from a hotel costing at least twice as much. The owners and staff were friendly, inviting and always happy to chat or offer advice.
The restaurant serves up a delicious selection of properly home-cooked well thought-out food and is not to be missed. The room was spotless and well kitted out with a great bed and excellent choice of pillows (a rarity!). The bathroom had a proper hot, powerful shower and was something to look forward to at the end of a busy day.
I would love to offer criticisms but there simply aren't any. I arrived expecting to get 'what I paid for' but was pleasantly surprised at every turn.

Room Tip: I was on the side facing the road (room 7) but could hardly hear anything, so I wouldn't worry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed overnight at Church View recently and were extremely impressed. Lovely room with very comfortable bed. Amazing shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. Good choice of beverages in the room. Plenty of choice at breakfast (continental and full English). The owners are lovely and very helpful. All in all Church View comes highly recommended and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Donington
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
0.1 mi away
Donington Manor Hotel
Donington Manor Hotel
#7 of 7 in Castle Donington
299 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
Jurys Inn East Midlands Airport
#6 of 7 in Castle Donington
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,638 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church View Hotel

Property: Church View Hotel
Address: 71-73 Clapgun Street, Castle Donington DE74 2LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Castle Donington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Donington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Church View Hotel is a family run hotel situated in the historic village of Castle Donington.We provide a very high standard of accommodation and service in a tasteful, relaxing and stylish environment.The rooms tastefully respect the historic building while having a modern function and style reflected in the quality of bath and bedroom furniture.Fed up of staying in large chain hotels with a distinct lack of individuality?The Church View Hotel brings you all the comforts of a large modern hotel with a unique, individual service that puts you the customer first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Church View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church View Hotel Castle Donington, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing