We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waltzing Weasel
Nearby Hotels
The Old Post Office(Birch Vale)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sycamore Inn(Birch Vale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
142
41
10
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
41
10
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskinder scoutfresh milkpeak districtfour poster bedbiscuitsreal characterlittle extrashigh peaklovely hostsreceived a warm welcomegreat roomfull english breakfaststayed longerstayed here for one nightnice bathroomvalley trailexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 206 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hi. We stayed at The Weasel for just one night on the 15th of Feb. We arrived early so we could have a walk down the Sett Valley trail (it runs behind the pub) The place looks a little run down from the outside but that's not the case. The interior and rooms are excellent. We were given a warm reception and nothing seemed to much trouble. Breakfast was also excellent. The Weasel is well situated for walkers and cyclists, with the trail behind the pub running West to New Mills and the Millineum Walkway, and East to Hayfield and Kinder. The nearest food is at The Grouse which is just a short walk away. An unusual pub, real ales, sky sports, a good wood burner and Chinese Food !! We will definitely stay here again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing-Weasel, Owner at The Waltzing Weasel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Andy,

Thanks for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Waltzing Weasel Bed & Breakfast. Just to note you can see the sett valley trail from the property and it is easily accessible from the B&B but there is no pub or restaurant on site. As you said there are plenty of choices in walking distance nearby to eat & drink like the Grouse.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Carol & Lorraine,

Waltzing Weasel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room we had was spacious, clean, comfortable with lovely views. We slept really well, and woke to a breakfast from heaven.
Another thing - I accidentally left a jacket in a cupboard, and they have kindly forwarded it to me straight away.

What else can I say? - go there and enjoy.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the beds - go for a nice old one!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Only booked this B&B the day before my partner and I went. Oh how lucky we were to have got the last room available. As soon as we pulled up into the car park, we were greeted by the owners cat. A friendly welcome that set the scene for our two night stay. One can't speak highly enough of the wonderful welcome and nature shown by Mine hosts Carol and daughter Lorraine. It makes such a pleasurable change to have such caring hosts who never rushed you, never pulled faces when you asked for something, no matter what time of day or night. Nothing was too much trouble.
The room was large, very comfortable and clean with some lovely period furniture and even though we booked last minute, we still had stunning views of the Peak Hills above the village of Hayfield towards Kinder Scout.
The Breakfasts were wonderful. Carol and Lorraine would arrange anything to suit your requirements. There was an array of cereals, fresh Orange juice, Milk, Yogurts and the fresh fruit was fabulous. The cooked breakfast was so tasty and well presented including all the usual ingredients. Whilst eating, you had the fabulous views of the hills.
What made the stay for my Fiancee Lisa and myself was Carol and Lorraine and Sandy the cat of course. What lovely lovely people. A real credit to their profession. We never stopped laughing with them. We can now agree and appreciate with what previous reviewers were talking about. We often say we will return to certain places, but we have ALREADY re-booked to return to this Gem, for a little longer too, next time. It's so nice to give a positive review. Thank you Ladies.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice little pub we got the 'superior double' which was £70 and a great spacious room with a nice view. Bed was very comfy and had a great sleep. The service was very friendly at breakfast and a good cooked breakfast was provided. Very nice stay we would come back there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I hosted my best friends hen party at the Waltzing Weasel and without a doubt this was the most fantastic and perfect venue. The location was fantastic, the views were stunning, the rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty. Carol and Lorraine were excellent hosts, couldn't do enough for us and treated us all so well. All this at a very reasonable price too.
Will definately go and stay again and I would recommend this B&B to anyone.
Thanks Carol and Lorraine. xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews