We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff-Poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waltzing Weasel
Ranked #2 of 5 Birch Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went to this BnB on a Bank holiday weekend and stayed there for two nights. Location was nice, had splenty of parking space. But our room was like a loft. there was a small window on the ceiling but we couldn't open it as it was mouldy. The room itself smelled a bit of fresh paint with dampness combined. There was also not thermostat so we couldn't change the heating temperature. It was quite hot at night and we had difficulty sleeping. Otherwise the room and the bathroom were clean. It had a small garden. Not big enough like it is shown in the picture. But yes, you could sit there as they had benches and it was beautiful with lots of flowers and foliage.
They had a good selection of food menu but it was a bit pricey.
The staff was friendly and the service was quick. I am sure the other rooms were fine, we were just unlucky to the get the attic!

Room Tip: check the room before you book
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for The Waltzing Weasel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

This used to be the place we would go after a wintery walk as it was full of character, open fire, nice decor.

When we went in we werehit by the smell of bleachy cleaning products, harsh lighting and the characterful decor has now been replaced by framed prints of those godawful roly poly women.

What happened? It used to have such atmosphere, warmth and welcome and we just couldn't wait to get out of here this time. We didn't bother about dinner. The drinks were overpriced and we didn't feel relaxed or very welcome.

Thank imacosmicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We found this place by accident last year and decided to see if it was just as nice this time around. We were not disappointed the food was excellent with lots of choice and nice cheerful staff. We have not stayed overnight but may do in the future. Would highly recommend Lamb Henry and the chips and roast potatoes are to die for, also wonderful fresh seasonal vegetables.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hants-gog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (just returned today)... the food was amazing.... lovely welcome from the staff (special mention to Richard !). The bed (we had the four poster) was incredibly comfortable - (and HUGE).... bit of noise from the main road, but other than that, a delightful room ! The bar staff (sorry, can't remember all their names) and the chef were very friendly. It was quite quiet when we stayed.... people don't know what they're missing !

    • Value
    • Service
Thank DebbieandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

What can I say about this little gem of a country Inn? One word fantastic! We always stay here when we are in the Peak District. With comfortable rooms and a friendly atmosphere, the Weasel is Ideally situated for nearby walks such as Kinder etc. The food (albeit a limited dinner menu) is recommended ( the breakfast is fabulous). The Weasel has a secret weapon ..... Richard. This guy puts his heart and soul into his job and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome and personifies customer service skills. My partner and I call the Weasel our home from home and we cannot wait until our next stay there.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We just love the Weasel. Food excellent. Staff friendly. Lovely atmosphere. One down side for us is that the full menu needs changing. We have eaten there that often that we are eating the same things!!

Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Twice now the Weazel has come to our rescue when the nearby Sycamore Inn has let us down.
Last Friday the mini bus from The Sycamore that was supposed to pick us up and take us home never arrived and so we turned to the Weazel which, as always in the past, delivered beautifully cooked food, with smiling service and in lovely surroundings.
We even experienced the setting of the breakfast tables whilst eating as per the previous review, but so what? Why so picky? If they weren't doing that they'd probably be cleaning the tables from the last eaters so what's the difference? It didn't bother us.
TheWeasel has never disappointed us yet. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieDGlossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Vale
8.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sycamore Inn
The Sycamore Inn
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waltzing Weasel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waltzing Weasel

Address: 8 New Mills Road, Birch Vale SK22 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Birch Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birch Vale
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waltzing Weasel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waltzing Weasel now with new owners since May 2013. The bedrooms has gone through a refurbishment and is now run a family as a Bed and Breakfast. The Waltzing Weasel historically dates back nearly 400 years and is ideally located in the walking country of the High Peak in the Peak District. Situated along side of the Sett Valley Trail, views of Kinder Scout and surrounding hills and moors can be enjoyed. The Waltzing Weasel makes an ideal venue for families, visitors, walkers, cyclist or stressed business people who want to chill and be pampered. Guests can relax in one of the eight luxurious bedrooms with en-suite. The Grande bedroom (Room 6) has a beautiful 300-year-old Jacobean half tester bed and leather settee for that added comfort. All rooms and public areas have free WiFi access. The Waltzing Weasel's offers breakfast in one of the best room in the house overlooking views of Kinder Scout. There is a courtyard and a pleasant garden where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful setting. The Waltzing Weasel's aim is to provide a civilised retreat for those looking for a welcome break. We are located only forty minutes away from Manchester and its international airport, and are in easy reach of Sheffield, Stockport, Buxton and Glossop. Those who enjoy walking or cycling or just relaxing in the countryside will be delighted with the location of the Waltzing Weasel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Waltzing Weasel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waltzing Weasel Hotel Birch Vale
The Waltzing Weasel Birch Vale, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing