We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a catch up with a large group of...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ebenezer Chapel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SlothNick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a catch up with a large group of friends”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for the weekend with a large group (~20) of old friends from Uni. It was perfect for what we wanted. Warm, comfortable and had plenty of room for us all. The kitchen was large and well equipped which meant keeping us all well fed was a breeze. It's in quite a good location which is easy to get to with a couple of pubs and a small shop within walking distance and much more available a little further afield.

My only criticism is that it is perhaps a little tatty around the edges but this is to be expected from such an old building and is part of the character in my opinion. For the price we paid I was not expecting 5* luxury anyway and I was more than happy with how it all turned out.

I have already recommended this property to a colleague who is looking to arrange a similar getaway with a group of friends.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria123...
Northanpton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Christmas”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The house accommodated our needs perfectly with children and downstairs bedrooms for less mobile guests
Having the fire in the lounge made it very cosy, although the furniture wasn't new it was comfortable and with children ideal, I wasn't nagging them all the time (although they were well behaved) plenty of room for family games. Plenty of room for hide and seek.
Had a lovely meal in the pub over the bridge.
Liked it so much have booked it again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable large house and location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam J
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for large groups”
Reviewed January 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed my stay at Ebenezer Chapel. There was 22 of us staying, as and not once did it feel crowded, even had a sauna in my room! Will definitely be going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2015
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your week end at the chapel and hope to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy_1232...
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we wanted”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ebenezer Chapel. We were in a very large group and it had everything we could have wanted and enough space that we weren't on top of each other. There are two living rooms, both very comfy and plenty of seating there and in the dining room. Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, and most importantly it was very good price! Good location, short walk to Belper, everythin we could have asked for and no problems. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2015
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay in Derbyshire and found the chapel to be comfortable and to your liking. I hope to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claireand...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tatty , desperately in need of up dating and maintenance”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with family friends and due to good company had a great time. However only 1 of the 2 microwaves worked if you physically held the door shut. 2 plugs in the living area had pins missing from them which made them highly dangerous.We had to buy a radiator key to get them working. The sink leaked and we had to fix it our selfs. Despite trying to call the owner they never answered or returned our call. The settees need up dating, disgusting. Tin opener didn't work. Desperate for a refurb and electrical inspection to make safe. Cold rooms.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2015
Please see the management response to the review of 'Needs a Safety Inspection' as you are a member of the same group. The one call about the slight leak under the sink did not make anything sound urgent and it was stated that the information was just to let me know. I did try to return the call but at the time was in a remote valley with no phone reception and by the time I received reception there was no response at the chapel. The reception in the chapel is very hit and miss depending on what part of the building you are in. However nothing sounded urgent and that was the only thing mentioned and a plumber could easily have been called in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham...
ROTHERHAM
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with friends & family in Dec/Jan 2014/15. I was in the front room. The radiator never came on & there is an open fireplace adding to the cold. It was freezing all the time & had to be vaccumed to get rid of spiders webs around the room that had not been cleaned for a long time. Neither had the en suite. It had not been cleaned around the toilet or behind the seat. Downstairs bathroom was very cold & water in shower did not drain fast enough. The place hasnt been decorated for years, there were faulty plugs in the lounge, the microwave door wouldn't close. All in all the place was a disgrace.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie M
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs a safety inspection”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed this new year, could be a fabulous place but needs new settees as most of them are broken. Microwave doesn't work and there's a note saying it's doesn't work and they're not replacing it. Lots of rooms with green walls because of the damp. We had to clean it ourselves when we got there as it was quite dirty and lots of cobwebs. Windows and doors in bedrooms had dead insects on them. Pulled one plug out and it fell to bits things in kitchen didn't work like tin opener, bottle opener, scissors didn't cut - the list is endless. Terrible shame really as it could be amazing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2015
During the visitors stay the only problem mentioned was on an answering machine message stating that a sink was leaking slightly but it was no problem and the customer was just informing me of this fact. Nothing else was mentioned at all. I had an amicable exchange with the customer after her stay but this all appears to have changed after there was a deduction from the security deposit for missing items.
However, I have to comment that the sofas are not broken? There are two microwaves which work fine, a handle on one of the microwaves does have a chip of plastic missing from it, but this does not affect the way it functions. What owner would leave a note saying 'It doesn't work and they are not replacing it'?
The kitchen is very well equipped and the items mentioned could have been replaced quickly from the supply of spares.
As far as safety is concerned one plug was found to be damaged with the pin dropping out. It had had some severe treatment. The property is inspected annually by Visit Britain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing