We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Value for money”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Strutt Cottage

The cosy relaxing living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove. The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove.
The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Strutt Cottage in its lovely location
Sumptous King Size bed and a lovely view of a 13 century chapel
Comfortable, stylish and luxurious
The lovely view across to the 13th century chapel. Can you imagine reading a book here?
Well equipped and stylish kitchen.
Quality fixtures, fittings and furniture.
Clean, bright colour coordinated bathroom.
The Bathroom
View of  the 13th Century St.Johns Chapel and its grounds from Strutt Cottage
Sunset from Strutt Cottage
Looking towards Strutt Cottage
St. John's Chapelyard, a lovely spot for an evening stroll.
Belper Market Place, a two minute walk from Strutt Cottage
Just around the corner lovely Georgian architecture and cracking views and fabulous shops
World Heritage Listed Belper Mills. The North Mill & East Mills seen from the River Derwent
A remnant medieval landscape, Belper Parks is just two minutes walk from Strutt Cottage
Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are only a short car or bus journey away
The sun trap terraced gardens, planted with cottagey Mediterranean style plants and herbs.
The top patio enjoys expansive rooftop views of Belper and the surrounding countryside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Go688956
1 review
“Value for money”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Comfortable cottage everything worked fine, we felt it was value for money, in a good position for visiting the surrounding area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chubby_Tr...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect budget accommodation for couples to explore the area.”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Myself and my husband loved our week in Belper. The cottage was a short walk into town, with an uphill walk back that gets the heart going! It was perfect for wandering down to the train/bus station for day trips out - Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth, Cromford Canal and Monsal Trail are the ones we managed during our week.
The cottage itself had everything we needed for our stay, the bed was amazing, incredibly comfortable, and the shower was good enough, the kitchen we felt was a little grubby, but a quick trip to Wilkos for a couple of bits and pieces soon put that right. For the price you pay I cannot rate Strutt Cottage highly enough, it really was an absolute bargain, and we had a wonderful week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
6
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
janbramha...
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I think this tiny cottage is value for money. Comfortable and warm.
Facilitated both my sister and I plus my small dog basically. Had all you need and is adequate.
Thank you Barry

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariem69...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everything is good”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here with my husband for the bank holiday weekend,everything was as described and finding it was very easy.the cottage is a home from home with everything you need to stay in and cook a meal. Bath and shower was a nice touch, when we arrived the fire had been put on so it was lovely and warm. Barry the owner was very good with his communications always happy to answer any queries and almost always very quick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mick19561
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
6
people found this review helpful

In need of updating, cheap but not cheerful, every time we looked out the window we saw people drinking in the church yard.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. A rare complaint for our cottages.
We pride ourselves on keeping the cottages in good clean condition and providing unparalleled value for money. Perhaps a more expensive experience would suit your tastes for the future.
Also, we are used to having guests that are clean and leave the cottage in a good state of cleanliness, again perhaps suggestive of a fully catered experience being more suited to your tastes.
We have since been made aware of the gatherings in the churchyard. These have been reported to police and council and the issue is resolved.
Thanks again for reviewing us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing