We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet area of Belper close to amentities”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Strutt Cottage

The cosy relaxing living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove. The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
The cosy relaxing living room
Warmed by a no fuss cast iron real-flame gas stove.
The stable door makes the most of the summer breezes
Strutt Cottage in its lovely location
Sumptous King Size bed and a lovely view of a 13 century chapel
Comfortable, stylish and luxurious
The lovely view across to the 13th century chapel. Can you imagine reading a book here?
Well equipped and stylish kitchen.
Quality fixtures, fittings and furniture.
Clean, bright colour coordinated bathroom.
The Bathroom
View of  the 13th Century St.Johns Chapel and its grounds from Strutt Cottage
Sunset from Strutt Cottage
Looking towards Strutt Cottage
St. John's Chapelyard, a lovely spot for an evening stroll.
Belper Market Place, a two minute walk from Strutt Cottage
Just around the corner lovely Georgian architecture and cracking views and fabulous shops
World Heritage Listed Belper Mills. The North Mill & East Mills seen from the River Derwent
A remnant medieval landscape, Belper Parks is just two minutes walk from Strutt Cottage
Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall are only a short car or bus journey away
The sun trap terraced gardens, planted with cottagey Mediterranean style plants and herbs.
The top patio enjoys expansive rooftop views of Belper and the surrounding countryside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
thorntons...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet area of Belper close to amentities”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Close to all amenities and convenient for train and bus station. Coop near by and Morrisions a short walk away. Plenty of quality eateries and an amazing delicatessen 'Fresh Basil'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bath and shower available
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Thank you for your comments. Belper is a great little place and Strutt Cottage is very well-placed for a holiday with everything at hand yet situated in a lovely quiet spot. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we're very happy to be welcoming you back again next year! Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
515Dez
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Impressions........”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

‘First impressions are lasting impressions’, they say. On arrival at Strutt Cottage I was met by a glum looking owner. “Oh” I said “I’m really sorry if I’ve kept you waiting” (which I hadn’t – I was early). “We’re used to it – it’s what we do. The hot water is on. These are the keys. All the information you need is in that grey folder”. And she was gone. 37 seconds. Now, depending on your mood this could be interpreted as either a) business-like and swift. Or b) Indifferent and unwelcoming. In either case it was a personality free introduction! Not what I was expecting, having been subjected to extensive flowery advertising material. It appears that “Welcome” or “How was your journey” are considered unnecessary. Likewise a pint of milk and a loaf of bread. First impressions!

If you are looking for a base to explore the beauty of Derbyshire and beyond, Strutt Cottage may be the place for you. The owners ridiculously describe it as “Amazing”, “Luxurious”, “Sumptuous”, “Stylish” and “Elegant” In reality it is simple, clean, basic and functional. It has a decent wi-fi speed too. Describing the cottage as “boutique” is, frankly, pretentious or deluded. The word you are looking for is ‘small’. It’s not without charm and it’s in a great location. If you intend to be out and about most of the time Strutt Cottage offers great value for money. But you are unlikely to fall in love with it – there just isn’t anything that special about it.

The owners are equally gushing about the town – Belper – “If you haven’t been to Belper before you’ll love it” and “It’s got it all”. Belper is a small, semi-rural town, similar to hundreds of others in the UK. Locals are keen to tell you about the 19th century cotton-mills. But it would seem that nothing happened here in the 20th century. And I wouldn’t hold your breath for the 21st century – it couldn’t be described as a forward looking town. The truth is that there is little here to hold the interest of visitors. Everyone seems very proud of the fact that Belper has a cinema. But it gives over its space for Bingo every day to enable it to remain solvent! Belper doesn’t seem to know quite what its identity is or who it is trying to appeal to. For its size, a large number of outlets are dedicated to eating. Quality is variable (some is good) but there is a dearth of variety. Pies, steaks, casseroles and pasta are prevalent in most restaurants and cafes. Good salads are in short supply. I sampled the ‘Special’ in one outlet on a rainy Tuesday lunchtime – Grilled Liver! Yes! There are also a number of tea-rooms, attempting to be trendy but mostly achieving tweeness. Here the middle class of Belper sip double-triple- skinny- chocca-mocha-late-achinos and nibble lemon drizzle cakes in cafes sandwiched between other locals queuing in the rain outside the job-centre and the citizens advice bureau. There are also a large number of independent grocers, butchers, bakers etc and a good deli. And there is ‘Sweet Memories’ – selling nothing but sugar! I sat for a couple of hours on a bench in King Street and watched the people go by. Maybe it’s no coincidence that the town favours a high calorie and heavy carbohydrate diet – and has an over-representation of individuals contributing to the national obesity crisis! The local women tend to favour short angular hair styles (popular elsewhere in the 90s) and sport sensible pastel-coloured cotton outfits. And the men like to tuck their shirts into their shorts (popular elsewhere in the 60s and 70s). Oh, - the biggest and busiest shop in Belper?? – Poundland!! There is no doubt that they are a friendly bunch though and most will offer advice and help if they possibly can.

But the real joy is when you walk over the bridge and out of the town. Glorious countryside and breath taking walks for all abilities. There are (off course) many local pubs to explore in the villages – many offering good ales and beers and friendly chat. Again the food is pretty standard pub fayre but the ambience makes up for it.

Sometimes us townies, with access to affordable foreign climes, can forget just how beautiful parts of Britain are. I will definitely be back to discover more of the area. But Belper? – doubtful. And Strutt Cottage? Nah! First impressions!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2015
Dear Dez, Many thanks for your review of Strutt Cottage and Belper. Apologies if you thought our welcome had fallen short. Often we find that people like to get in and get settled and orientate themselves and we take our lead from the demeanour and responses of our guests.
We are pleased you enjoyed our unspoilt countryside and the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin K
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A cosy little cottage, ideally situated for that much needed break”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage, small but cosy ideal for exploring the Peak District. Belper is a lovely town with plenty of places to eat. Highly recommend Monty's 2 and The Black Swan. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2015
Thanks for the warm words and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I'll pass on your comments to Belper's independent cafes etc. and we're very happy you supported them. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
1 review
“Excellence”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

we stayed at strutt cottage for a long weekend and couldn't be happier. Clean comfortable, shops
just down the road and the main street with pubs, restaurant s, and a Morrison's 10min walk away. Busses are readily available and if your driving we can recommend the black bull pub just outside belper. Sigh posted from the mill near shottle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found Belper and everything it has to offer so handy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGP212100
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value.”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hi all.
Thank-you for the rental of a lovely cottage well placed for the town and rail, The local bars re friendly and 4 with-in easy reach all with a good choice of beers and ales. Local Chinese take-away also good value. All shops there in town that you need or want.
The cottage is warm comfy and user friendly it is short of nothing required bed is spot on or was for my-self. kitchen good and compact. Stair-case steep use with caution young and old alike, other than that just chill relax and enjoy your stay. For me 10/10.

Glen.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBond2015
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, brilliant location. Overall great value for money. Would recommend to everyone wanting a nice relaxing few days away. Would defiantly go away and recommend to others

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy warm cottage.”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed in this cottage with my girlfriend for a few days to celebrate her 40th birthday. We thought it was a lovely warm cottage with excellent facilities throughout. Perfect sized rooms, the fire was awesome. We have recommended it to our friends and would probably come back in the summer to explore the peak district in more depth.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing