We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spacious lounge and dining area
Super King size bed which can be divided into two 3ft beds
Family bathroom with shower over bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Jean...
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at the Byre near Belper and what excellent accommodation, one of the cleanest holiday places I have ever visited, lots of welcoming touches too. Helen and Tony make you feel very welcome and are charming too. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Dear Jean and Chris
Thank you very much for telling us how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernonmor...
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“week at the Byre to visit family”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lovely cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay.Really lovely owners we were made to feel very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Blackbrook and thank you for your lovely review!
Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyandJa...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a fabulous place! The location is beautiful. When we arrived and drove up Helen and Tony’s drive, passing their bungalow, we immediately had a good impression as their front garden is so well looked after. The small ornamental lamp posts bordering the drive completed the picture. As we got out of the car Helen and Tony came out of their property to give us a warm welcome.
The Byre is behind their bungalow – not overlooked and with plenty of space to park the car. It is a pretty property with a front patio (including patio furniture) with flowers and large potted shrubs around the edge.
Inside, the property is spacious yet cosy, and everything is immaculate. The living room is well presented and includes books and board games. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need, including a dishwasher. There is also a large downstairs bathroom.
Upstairs there are two large bedrooms, each with an en-suite. Also, both bedrooms have full-length mirrors which every woman needs but doesn’t always get, either in rentals or hotels. Helen and Tony have thought of everything and I really do mean everything. When we arrived there was even milk in the fridge and scones with jam and clotted cream …as I said …everything. We were really pleased with The Byre and could find no faults. We would most definitely recommend it. Well done Helen and Tony and thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Wow! Thank you for that fabulous review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue D
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from hime”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A great location and fabulous accommodation. Loved our stay here and we felt relaxed from the moment we arrived. Owners are kind and friendly and yummy scones were left for us on arrival. So spacious inside and lots of thoughtful little extras that make it well equipped e.g. Hairdryer in both rooms. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review The Byre, we much appreciate your kind words.
Best Wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Cosy accommodation with great views"”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Located in Blackbrook which is a stones throw from the lovely town of Belper, where you will find restaurants, pubs, individual shops and supermarkets. The views from the bungalow are stunning and it's the perfect location for walking as it's surrounded by stunning countryside. It is located at the edge of the Peak District.
The accommodation is very clean and comfortable . The master has a really comfortable super king size bed with ensuite shower room. The Byre was a home from home and we would love to return.
Helen and Tony were so nice and made us feel very welcome, there were fresh scones and cream waiting for us when we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will definitely recommend to our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2017
Thank you Kathryn and Clive for the really super review. We do look forward to seeing you again and your friends in the near future.
Regards
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Denise...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, convenient cottage with charming and helpful owners.”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Had a lovely week at The Byre. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Fantastic accommodation with loads of room and extremely comfortable. A wonderful base for exploring Derbyshire. Tip top.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Spotty mobile reception
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Many thanks for your positive comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in The Byre
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for the great review , we are pleased you had a perfect break staying in The Byre.
All good wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing