We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spacious lounge and dining area
Super King size bed which can be divided into two 3ft beds
Family bathroom with shower over bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harry P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a fantastic find: Helen and Tony are considerate, creative and helpful landlords and the property really reflects that. This is a good base for seeing everything south of Bakewell or Buxton. We used it to base our trips to see Chatsworth, Crich and Matlock Bath and highly recommend to anyone considering. The garden is a beautifully maintained place for the kids to let off some steam on home days and offers at least 200 sq. m of manicured lawn. Helen was initially concerned that our 6yr old would be at risk due to a 2ft drop from one level to another but I would not let that put off booing as it is a beautiful environment in a quiet valley with marked walks in all directions and a lovely family friendly pub (The Hanging Gate) just a short walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful touches like the scones with clotted cream and jam on arrival
Liked least: Time too short - will have to rebook...
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2015
We really appreciate your positive review and are pleased your holiday was enjoyable.
Best Regards
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADDowns77
Papworth Everard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Me”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On arrival we were greeted by the owners. Fresh scones, clotted cream, jam, milk, tea and coffee were waiting for us in the kitchen. The accommodation was clean and spacious - perfect for two couples sharing as both bedrooms are en-suite. The location was ideal for exploring the surrounding area. Would recommend and would certainly stay there again on future visits to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
We are very pleased that The Byre suited your needs and you enjoyed your stay with us in Derbyshire.We endeavour to make our guests feel at home when they stay.
Many thanks for your comments
Regards
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineGl...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and comfortable with everything you need .”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

On arrival we were met by Helen the owner who gave us a very warm welcome. There was fresh flowers on the table and fresh milk, tea, sugar and coffee along with delicious scones with cotted cream and jam. There is a great many things to do and this is a great base to stay. Would definately come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted that you had a lovely holiday with us in Derbyshire.
Hope to see you again
Regards
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2015
Many thanks for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable time in our cottage.
Best wishes
Helen and Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ralph H
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“first place we have been prepared to rebook next year”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

comfortable, clean, well placed, great hosts. Could not fault it. We have been renting holiday accommodation around Derbyshire for about 10 years, this is the first time we hav rebooked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Liked least: ---------
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passenger...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location for exploring, comfortable accommodation for relaxing.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a very nice week at the Byre. Good location for getting to many local attractions & perfect for my partner to cycle some of the local hills ( of which there are many!) The Byre is very comfortable & has a nice size living area to spread out & not feel cooped up in when we were just relaxing. Comfy beds & a well equipped kitchen meant when had everything we needed. Being greeted with scones & jam & cream was the icing on the cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly B
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, superb location & great hosts”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a Christmas break with family; some of whom stayed in the adjoining cottage - The Mistal. Cottages are comfortable & warm; very well appointed & equipped to make them feel like a home from home. Super location as a base to visit the lovely countryside,market towns and the numerous attractions that Derbyshire has to offer. We loved Ashbourne & Bakewell. Helen & Tony are wonderful hosts and were happy to help out if needed. Can't wait to make a return visit in 2014 !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing