We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different for Belper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graze - CLOSED

Graze
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something different for Belper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I visited Graze last weekend with my husband, sister and brother-in-law. I have to say first impressions are very good, the decor is really grand and plush although a bit dark.

The food was great, although my brother-in-law was not impressed but he was expecting a big plate of food which is NOT what is served here! The 3 courses for £19.95 is also very reasonable, although the wine is a bit pricey.

I know that the restaurant is still new and the staff are still being trained, but I did think it was strange when a couple were told they were fully booked, when you could clearly see there was a lot of empty tables. They could have tried to "squeeze in" at least 2 people on this night!

The only slight disappointment I have is the waiting staff. As I mention above they are still being trained and most of them are young, however a smile or bit of courtesy would have been nice. The waitress that took our order was very good, but the others just didn't seem to be happy to be there.

Otherwise, a good restaurant which I hope will pick up as I think it's just what Belper needs.

I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    34
    18
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, surroundings and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited on a Saturday lunch time in a party of five. The staff were friendly, smart and attentive. Excellent selection available on the menu. The starters that we chose (3x soup of the day, 2x brie) were all delicious and devoured completely. We had a mix of mains but the feedback on each was the same - delicious, yet again. And put simply, the desserts were to die for. The surroundings are pleasant and the restaurant is very spacious. The menu, as commented in previous reviews, is a bit clustered and not entirely clear, but our server was more than happy to take us through it and explain the fixed price deal. The main positive of Graze is the value for money - two courses of excellent cuisine for £9.95 can't be complained about. Definitely a welcome addition to Belper - not just as something to benefit local people but also the local economy as I expect this will draw customers in from slightly further afield.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evening drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited early on a Saturday evening not long after opening. Very pleasantly surprised by the décor and atmosphere. The range of drinks could have been a little more interesting - for example serving cocktails.
Once a little more established then this is what Belper really needs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited mid-week to take advantage of the very appealing £9.95, two-course set menu. One thing I also noted is the jump in price from a 2 to 3 course option on the set menu - £9.95 for 2 courses or £19.95 for 3 courses? Clearly not been thought through.
To begin with, on entering the restaurant, the décor appeared confusing - promoting themselves as a modern British restaurant, the 'taxidermy' and several Thai Buddha statues seemed mismatched. There was a large seating area, presumably intended for aperitif's/post-dinner drinks however the space was empty, with no atmosphere and no sign of any member of staff to welcome guests.
We were eventually seated after managing to attract the attention of a member of staff who was presumably the manager, although his dress was somewhat scruffy by comparison to other member of staff and appeared more like a fellow diner.
No water or bread was offered to the table and orders were taken rather promptly, despite asking for more time to view the menu once already. The menu itself was also very poorly presented, overcrowded, with too much detail and a tricky-to-read-font.
To start, I ordered the mini Cumberland sausage. I was expecting a miniature traditional Catharine wheel-shaped affair, however I was disappointed to be presented with two average-tasting cocktail sausages. The 'crisp white onions' were simply slivers of raw white onion, no 'crisp' to them. Whilst the starter didn't quite meet expectations, overall, it was good.
For mains, I ordered the open salmon fillet en-croute. This course was pretty poor, truth be told in terms of the food quality and the length of time which it took for the food to arrive, with no apology from any of the staff. The salmon was totally overcooked, the 'puff pastry crisp' was a small slice of 'puff pastry' which was not at all airy and was, in fact, very dry. The lemon and brown butter sauce was virtually non-existent and this, combined with the dry pastry and overcooked salmon made for a very dry and poorly executed dish, with very little flavour - the crushed potatoes somehow providing the only moisture on the plate. At no point during our main course did anyone check back on the table to ensure that the food was to everyone's liking.
Following the disappointment of the main, I decided to skip dessert, of which there was a very limited, unadventurous selection to choose from. Some of my fellow diners chose the 'graze mess' which took an extremely long time to arrive, despite its lack of complexity and the fact that it was 10pm with only about 3 small tables of diners remaining.
Overall, graze is trying too hard to offer 'fine-dining' despite promoting itself as a gastro pub. The restaurant needs more attentive staff and a more personal customer experience rather than making diners who chose the set menu (lower profit) option like second-rate customers and execution of the dished requires some work - shame as it could be just what Belper needs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NickyFoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked a table for mid week and had a very disappointing experience. We had a wait 90 minutes for our main meal and almost at the point of leaving when a very poor dish of salmon arrived. It was overcooked and dry and as there was no sauce it was hard to swallow. We are not people who would make a fuss so we paid without saying anything but were surprised that the waitress took away an almost untouched meal and didnt say anything to give us the chance to complain. The pork chop dish was very good. However, service not good and together with a long wait and one poor meal we wont hurry back. Its difficult to rate when one meal excellent and one terrible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizziederbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing