We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great real ale & home-cooked food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Canal Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Canal Inn
Ranked #43 of 74 Restaurants in Belper
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great real ale & home-cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had wanted to give The Canal Inn a try after our many visits to Crich Tramway Village last year and following our Easter Monday trip to the museum we dropped in for a meal. I had the two-course roast dinner and pudding for £6.95. Lovely thick roast beef with all the trimmings and equally soul-satisfying bread and butter pudding and custard to follow. All washed down with a perfect pint of Olde Trip ale. All my family thoroughly enjoyed their meals and we will definitely be popping in again. The licensees deserve to do well and their friendly welcome and down-to-earth service make The Canal Inn a great pub.

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDerekShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I went in with my family after a day out up crich. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The food was all fresh home cooked meals very good portion size for the price would go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Only dropped off here for a quick pint on the way back to Crich. The bar staff were very friendly and I could not fault the taste of the beer. A great place to go for a quiet pint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I took the entire family there for Sunday Lunch after a walk in Shining Cliff Woods (24/11/13) and was well please with the quality of the food, beer and service. Very good and I will be going there again. As of right now Sunday lunch is a choice of roast dinners only, which I do not have a problem with. It is good and well cooked food and plenty of it. They also do smaller portions for children which would also be ample for adults with smaller appetites.
It is very easy to get to, only being a couple of hundred yards off the A610 and there is also plenty of parking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pancho308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our men's walking group, the 'Nottingham Swallows' have had meals here for several years, but this was our first visit today after closure and new management. Everything about it was excellent - the drinks, the service, the prices and specially the food. For variety, quality and presentation it could not be faulted. We sincerely hope the new team succeed so that we can keep it on our list of pub meal venues

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canal Inn also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 
Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Canal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing