We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Hen Do Venue”
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool relax with a song or two by the piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool
relax with a song or two by the piano
DINNER TIME FOR ALL YOU HUNGRY GUESTS SET THE TABLE FOR 17 OF YOUR CLOSEST FREINDS AND FAMILY
Plan tomorrow
After a tiring day put your feet up by the fire with a glass of red
Midnight swim
Morning papers and coffee by the pool
feed the ducks
how about that view
Unexpected snow in March certainly kept the Anthony family busy 22-24 march
looking through snow covered tunnel on many walks around us
Another snow tunnel the scenery is breath taking
Stairs to the main areas
Relaxing areas ot the gardens
More planting
Large gardens to walk the dogs or simply relax
Just a small part of the decking
Planting around child safe pond
Large Seating area for all guests upstairs and downstairs
Seats 18 in the open plan kitchen and lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sazmeenie
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No Fun Allowed!”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

18 of us arrived for a long weekend on Friday 1st June for my friends hen do. On first impressions the house looked nice but defiantly needs updating, some sockets did not work, dishwasher, paper coming of the walls in the lounge area, smelly cushions, rusty outside chairs etc.
The pool area was lovely which got us excited as this was going to be were we spent most of our time.
The system in the upstairs bedroom plays music in the pool area only, so if you want music in other places in the house bring your own speakers, BUT do NOT have them too loud! It states in the terms and conditions that no loud music was to be played after 12:30 but if you close all the doors in the pool area it's ok. We abided by the rules, however we still received visits from the owner every night of our stay (he lives in a building attached to the house) telling us to quiet down and even sent threatening messages at 10.23pm saying if we did not turn the music off he was calling the police.
During the day he was walking around the gardens of the house watching us which was invasion of our privacy and made us uncomfortable. His behaviour completely ruined it for everyone.
You can not let loose and have a laugh in this house, I do not know what he expects from 18 girls on a hen do who has paid thousands to be there?!
I do not recommend this to anyone under the age of 90 as you will have to go to bed at 10pm each night!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2018
To all my genuine customers please ignore the last 2 reviews they are totally false and misleading please judge us by our 5 star ratings and not by a group of hens making stories to cover their guilt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaCarte...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hen Do Venue”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in the house for my sister's hen party as a group of 18. The house is well situated and has plenty of space. The leisure facilities are a big bonus although be very careful round the pool area as the floor when wet is extremely slippy.
Communication with Tim was easy and they were on hand for any issues during the weekend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2018
Thank you for your review
Yes the pool ,sauna and hot tub are a real bonus the pool is at 30 degrees all year round
Maybe a lot of water was being splashed
On the tiles which makes them extra slippy but just to confirm they are non slip tiles
Thanks again
Tim-and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessicaru...
1 review
“Sisters Hen Party”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had the most amazing stay at the Gate House. The pictures do not do the place justice! There is everything you could possibly want!Made full use of the facilities with Aqua Zumba in the pool and a spa day using the sauna and jacuzzi! Lovely communal kitchen space! Owner and family very helpful! Easy proximity to Derby for meal out and drinks! My Sister thoroughly enjoyed ! Hope we have an excuse to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Thankyou for this Review Iam so pleased your party enjoyed their stay.
Thankyou for mentioning the pool and the photos it is a large pool yet we never advertise the fact it can be used for aquazumba .
Really appreciate you taking the time to review
Kind regards
Tim and Marie
The Gate House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amberbarr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sister's Hen Party”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This house is absolutely beautiful, with enough room to sleep all our 18 guests for my sisters hen party. We had a pool party the first night and then on the second night made the most of the sauna and hot tub! If you are looking for a big house to spend time with your loved ones, playing games, eating, dancing and just generally have a fabulous time then this is perfect :)
The owner Tim was very helpful with any queries we had during our stay, I even left my shoes there and he posted them back to me.
Would without a doubt recommend you stay here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
Thank you for the kind review ,we hope to see you all again in the future ,it was a pleasure having you all .

kind regards

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
358Jenny
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot recommend this place enough, from the useful range of comfortable bedrooms, gorgeous bathrooms, large sitting room with plenty of comfy sofas, huge dining area to the amazing pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna facilities. The garden is delightful and has so many lovely places to sit at various levels allowing sun chasing into the evening. As the cook for a big group of people, I found the kitchen really well equipped, with loads of extras you wouldn't normally expect like deep fat fryer, griddle and huge wine fridge. The open plan design is great for letting the cook be part of party. Only downside; not having the time to be able to stay for a whole week!! Can't wait to come back again.
Lots of lovely places to walk in the vicinity; we had a great walk on the Sunday to Bluebell pub where we had a really nice lunch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2017
Hi
Thank you for the kind review and that you enjoyed your stay at The Gate House .
We really appreciate your comments it really helps others to confirm a booking with us.
Hope to see you all again in the future it was pleasure having you all
Thank you
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaitlinH...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant 50th Birthday Party”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the second time we've booked this venue and both times have been a great success.
It's wonderfully grand and spacious. The kitchen is well stocked. The pool is perfect - big enough to swim properly. Hot tub was a massive bonus this year and we loved the steam room.
It's a great venue to walk from. I swam in the river which fishermen assured me was perfectly clean and full of happy healthy salmon.
This is a great venue for families and for groups of friends. Relaxing and grand enough to feel like a treat from start to finish.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
That's great ,thank you for you nice comments I really do appreciate your review and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at The Gate House
Kind regards
Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amberlaur...
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for weekend away ”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Gatehouse has everything you could want for a birthday weekend away! The hot tub is a lovely feature to have and the pool is big enough to feel you can really swim. Kitchen table allows everyone to sit and eat together and the layout means the cook doesn't feel left out! Only downside is the wifi is very poor but everything else is perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2017
Hi Thankyou for your comments and that you enjoyed. Your stay with us,Sorry about the wifi unfortunately it went down on your weekend
It is normally fine ,
Best regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing