We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Girls weekend”
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool relax with a song or two by the piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
The GATE HOUSE WHICH SLEEPS 17 PEOPLE OR IF YOU DONT MIND SHARING IT IS BIG ENOUGH FOR 20
Relax in the pool
relax with a song or two by the piano
DINNER TIME FOR ALL YOU HUNGRY GUESTS SET THE TABLE FOR 17 OF YOUR CLOSEST FREINDS AND FAMILY
Plan tomorrow
After a tiring day put your feet up by the fire with a glass of red
Midnight swim
Morning papers and coffee by the pool
feed the ducks
how about that view
Unexpected snow in March certainly kept the Anthony family busy 22-24 march
looking through snow covered tunnel on many walks around us
Another snow tunnel the scenery is breath taking
Stairs to the main areas
Relaxing areas ot the gardens
More planting
Large gardens to walk the dogs or simply relax
Just a small part of the decking
Planting around child safe pond
Large Seating area for all guests upstairs and downstairs
Seats 18 in the open plan kitchen and lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol H
Willenhall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls weekend”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just retuned from a fantastic weekend away to celebrate our friends 40th birthday. Our party was a very mixed age range group of 18 and everyone agreed that this was one of the best short breaks we had taken together. When we arrived our pre- ordered shopping had been taken inside and was ready and waiting in the kitchen for us. We were greeted by the owner Tim who was great and showed us around the property. The house definitely had the WOW factor . The entrance has a beautiful wooden staircase leading onto a galleried landing. The entrance also has a lovely more formal seating area complete with a grand piano.
Upstairs is the very well equipped kitchen and large seating area. The kitchen has all the mod cons you could need ranging from twin ovens, dishwasher and large American style fridge. There are more than enough pots, pans and crockery to deal with the largest of parties. Next to the kitchen was a great utility room with washer dryer etc.
The bedrooms were all beautifully decorated and everyone commented how comfy the beds were. The bathrooms were all very modern with lovely showers and some with deep baths as well. An added bonus was that all towels were provided.
The outside space was one of the things that we enjoyed the most. The decking area outside was fantastic. There was plenty of lovely tables and chairs to relax in and also a gas BBQ. A lot of work has gone into the landscaping of the garden and this was something we all appreciated. The seating area at the top of the garden by the duck pond was a lovely place to sit with a drink to catch the late evening sun, a real little sun trap.
Perhaps the icing on the cake for us was the swimming pool, sauna and hot tub. Without a doubt this really made our break extra special.
Everyone has had a fantastic break and really couldn't have asked for anything better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities on offer.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thats great !

Thankyou for your quick response and putting your review on Trip Advisor.
I am so pleased you and your friends enjoyed your 40th Birthday .

Thankyou for your kind and detailed description of The Gate House

We look forward to seeing you all again

Kind regards
Tim & marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Perfect layout of the property
Liked least: Nothing...
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2014
How kind !

we would like to thank our guests for writing such a complimentary comment.You were such a pleasure to have and we are so pleased the party went well and that your friends and family enjoyed their stay with us.
Hope to see you all again
thank you

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: There was something for everyone
Liked least: No one in our group had any problems
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your anniversary was a great success.
hope to see you all again
kind regards

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
878hilary...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived it felt like home. Tim and Marie could not have been more helpful.
It was a wonderful Hen Weekend and the ladies all LOVED it. The pool, the hot tub and the sauna were all well used.
I'm not sure if Makeney was ready for the Bride and her Hens going for a run complete with blow up 'Nigel'!
It was a perfect weekend and certainly one that we will all remember. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The layout of the bedrooms allowed for a baby not to disturb or be disturbed by others
Liked least: That there wasn't enough time to enjoy the area more, no steps to get out/into pool
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your kind comments .
Hope to see you all again in the future !
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hen weekend, mixed age group, AMAZING, you need to book this...”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic place to stay as any large group. Huge, clean, well laid out & well thought out house. The photos really don't do it justice!

The pool, hot tub & steam room were perfect, highlight of our stay.

The house has everything you could need, every facility and utensil you could think of!
Beautiful sitting area and kitchen, and the outside grounds are fab. Chickens, a duck, horses and wildlife, it's all brilliant.

We fully recommend the Hollybush Inn for a Sunday dinner, just a 2 minute walk away.

The owner, Tim is great, just a friendly down to earth man who will help with anything he can.

I can't recommend this place enough, and would not hesitate to go back. That goes for all 16 of us.

Thank you for making my hen weekend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it, loved the hotub
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2014
Hi
Thank you so much for those kind and very welcomed comments you were a great bunch and love to see you all again
thanks again
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffordK...
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fab fab fab fab fabulous !!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Well I honestly dont know where to start.... 14 of us arrived on Friday 7th Feb 2014 for our friends 40th birthday celebrations..... From the outside the building looks very impressive and when we entered we werent disappointed either. ground floor three bedrooms and bathrooms and the pool, then a large open staircase leading to further three bedrooms and bathrooms kitchen and lounge.... Spacious, very clean, fully equipped kitchen and bedrooms to a high standard, I cannot fault anything about The Gate House and I am fussy believe me !!! The pool was a dream, just like stepping into a warm bath, high quality loungers surrounding it too. The price isnt cheap but if you have it at full capacity between you all then its a snip !!! Honestly I was more than happy..... If you are looking for quality acommodation then look no further than The Gate House and I promise you wont be disappointed folks. Supermarket and pub close by and then Belper is just a short distance away, you have Derby if you want the usual shops.... Im definitely going back at some point but by the looks of it I will have to book well in advance cos most of this year is booked already.... and Im not surprised...... We had a thoroughly fabulous stay in a wonderful place !!!!!!!! Karen H....

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Gate House .We are so pleased you had a great time celebrating your friends 40th birthday.

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you all in the future.
kind regards

Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nettegrif...
Cheshire , England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My daughter and boyfriend found me The Gate House as I was looking for a large house to rent for a long weekend to surprise my husband on his 60th birthday. It had to be large enough for our family and friends to stay 18 people and 2 small dogs in all.
Well they got it perfect the house is amazing does not feel like a rental home ,such high quality all you need and more .It is clean, so warm all through the house,the beds are comfy.The pool was really warm and enjoyed by both adults and children.Plenty of room for so many people and well equipped you cannot fault anything.
We went to the Holly bush pub which is just around the corner on the way back from a lovely long walk . Very traditional and friendly. On the Saturday night we had booked a meal at Angelos restaurant for 22 of us to celebrate my husbands birthday. I would highly recommend it . The whole party said there starters and main courses were excellent . Even though the restaurant was full the service was great and the food was pipping hot. On Sunday we all sat down very comfortably at the table in The Gate House and had a lovely Sunday dinner all together. Everyone had an amazing weekend. The owners Tim and Marie are lovely. You will not find a nicer house to rent it has it all. We would definitely come again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review .We both really appreciate you taking the time to write your comments and without us knowing also says we are pleasing our guests.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your husbands 60th birthday here and that you will remember your stay as being a truly memorable one.Thankyou
kind regards
Tim and Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing