We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nourish at No44

Nourish at No44
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Nourish at No44. Set in the beautiful historic market town of Belper.Once an old pub, which dates back to the 16th century, now converted into a shabby chic candle lit Bistro by night, and bustling café barista by day. We have a passion for producing honest classic food, locally sourced wherever possible.Our menus are a serious blend of classic French and traditionally British dishes, served with a modern twist.We are an independent privately owned business.Our chef owner has a wealth of experience and his cooking skills shines through with his ability to turn seasonal and inexpensive food items into affordable and interesting dishes.“To understand our ethos”It’s all about the food, flavours and wine at No44.There is no pretentious fussy service, no linen, or fancy waiters; instead you will find a simple relaxed friendly service, in an intimate atmosphere, at an affordable price. Finalists in the Derby food awards October 2013 "Best out of town".
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went there with my wife for anniversary meal and we didnt scrimp on food or wine so it wasnt really cheap but to be fair that was our fault because we happened to have picked out some of the more expensive options on the menu. It was all worth it though as the food was lovely. Will definitely be going back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Medders6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    77
    38
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude waitress”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Have been wanting to try this place for awhile and finally got the chance today only to be told by a rude waitress that there was no room as they were busy getting ready for the evening sitting. There were clearly tables free and it was only 3pm on a saturday afternoon, very disappointing and this has put me off ever going again.
Customer service is clearly not on this restaurants agenda.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherdon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food and staff not good, decor lovely”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

After finally finding the time today to go and try this place me and my partner was very disappointed with it, had two fish finger sandwiches I had to send mine back as there was only one tiny fish finger in it, they did swap it no problem but for the £5.50 I expect a bit more then two fish fingers two slices of bread and one bit of lettuce, the chips was expensive for what you got £3 for 8chips, altogether it cost £15.50 I wish we had just gone across to the chipy spent a fiver and actually of felt like we had had something to eat, to many staff with vacant looks one there faces not doing a grate deal of work,

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marbles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely local restaurant ....for ladies who lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Friendly welcoming staff, fab tasty food , very well presented...great decor and atmosphere . Can't wait to visit again with my sister....
We had a sharing platter and took cakes and goodies home, I would love to sample everything on the menu, it all looked so tempting .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ripleysfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant used to be a run down, dowdy, miserable little pub catering for basicaly not very nice people. What a change, the decor is bang up to date while still retaining the old Victorian details and the food - delightful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hamgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourish at No44 also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to Nourish at No44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing