We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of The Green House

The Green House
Ranked #57 of 77 Restaurants in Belper
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Belper
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a pretty normal town chain pub not too similar to a weatherspoon and the food again is much the same. You do get what you pay for, they do have offers in the menu two for £10 etc. But don't expect anything from a top pub / restaurant if its not fried then its microwaved.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BelperJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    28
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Full English”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Popped in on the off chance - with two hungry teenagers. Good breakfast/coffee drinking atmosphere, large TV's etc. Large breakfasts, well presented and well cooked - and that includes a veggie option. Very good value for money - can't ask for much more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 358ISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A cheapish chain meal, nothing more”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've eaten here on a number of occassions so that we don't have to cook after work. Whilst the staff are quite friendly and the atmosphere is often pleasant, the food and service are variable. Toilets could do with smartening up (broken locks, seats, taps etc) and I hate the fact there is often broken glass around the outside tables. I used to sit outside in the summer when I had the dog with me but stopped doing this as it was so bad I was afraid he'd cut himself. If you want a quick cheapish chain meal then it's fine but don't expect anything more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CAM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Chain pub with ok vibe”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

THe Green House is a chain pub with a very large interior that manages to have a bit of atmosphere but its not a traditional local boozer. Ok menu but is a bit over priced for the size of the portions you get.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading menu and terrible service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Took my family for a meal one teatime. Ordered the Kids menu which was supposed to include a sweet in the price. Both the main menu and the kids menu confirmed this. When I asked for the sweet I was told that the menus were out of date and I would have to pay extra for the sweet. I pointed out the claims on the menu and was told, rudely, that nothing could be done. The duty manager refused to speak to me and the bar staff were defensive and unpleasant. The way they handled my queries was embarrassing. I wrote to complain to the manager with copies to the CEO of the chain and received no reply from either. It seems good customer service (or lack of it) comes from the top management. Couldn't recommend this pub to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green House also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing