We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled pub with real food and friendly staff.”
Review of Holly Bush Inn

Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at our family run pub, a hub for real ale drinkers and walkers alike. A traditional 17th century village inn, where highwayman Dick Turpin is reported to have frequented on his travels. An increasingly rare breed of unspoilt inn, where time has stood still, encapsulating the character and charm of the building. With fresh homecooked food, a selection of fine real ales and warmth from the open fires, there is much to tempt you. Nothing comes close to our pork pie and a pint!
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unspoiled pub with real food and friendly staff.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Highly recommended. A warm and traditional atmosphere, so hard to find these days, good variety of ales and ciders and quality homemade pub food. The staff are very friendly and the service is attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania_RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    63
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just up our street”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had our second lunch at this super little pub and it was just as memorable as the first. The Holly bush is just what an English pub should be. In the winter there are lovely fires in each room and a warm welcome from nice staff. No background music just the friendly buzz of conversation.
There are pub games in the conservatory and fine ales provided by a landlord who knows his beers and is an enthusiast who will happily give you samples to taste and maybe a tour of his fine cellar.
Whilst he is caressing his barrels the excellent house chef is at work providing innovative dishes, both well presented snack platters and delicious full luncheons. His pies with real chips and his Bread and Butter pudding, are beginning to build an almost legendary reputation.
We are so pleased we live fairly local! As Derbyshire folk we know all the good pubs in the area and we can tell you the Bush takes a bit of beating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunnsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab little Gem in a great village”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Love this pub , the food and atmosphere look forward to visiting again hopefully in the summer when the beer festival is on

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenfis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely pub with open fires”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely lunch time stop. Cosy rooms, with open fires. Good beer and lovely food, especially the pies!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank christinebut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great pub”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

great real pub with real ales, log fires, home cooked food, tiled floors and frindly locals with their dogs. fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank clair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holly Bush Inn also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing