We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude Waiter, Very Bad Food”
Review of New Ming Court - CLOSED

New Ming Court
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Rude Waiter, Very Bad Food”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The waiter at the restaurant was very rude and made many inappropriate comments throughout the night. The food was the worse Chinese food I have eaten in the UK, although I live in China and realise that the take away style Cantonese food we eat in the UK is not real Chinese cuisine this was awful even by UK standards for Chinese food. The attitude of the waiter added insult to injury.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TheBigCheese187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    11
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food annoying waiter/owner”
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

I have been here twice and have to admit that the food is nice and on a similar level to the nearby river gardens or memory of china and slightly below the standard of food at the lotus lounge in alfreton. It's in nice small portions which means you can order more or a wider variety so that you don't fill up on one dish. My only fault is that on both occasions the person serving us made inappropriate comments to the females dining with us. Maybe some people like this and see it as banter, but it's just not for me I'm afraid.

Helpful?
2 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Ming Court”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Food was excellent, staff were friendly and attentive good night out, was only disappointed by the choice of food on the buffet, at fifteen pound per person would expect a better range.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent cantonese cuisine”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I've used New Ming Court many times, both for takeaways and to sit in. Lance and his staff are always attentive and friendly. The food is excellent with a plethora of dishes to tempt your tastebuds. Prices are reasonable for an eat-as-much-as-you-like restaurant and the many friends we've introduced to the place, speak highly about it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Dined at the New Ming Court many times....it just gets better and better!
Food and service are second to none and tremendous value for money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 646johns646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Ming Court also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing