We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
177
171
101
54
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
177
171
101
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza oven shottle hall friends wedding saturday night one night stay stayed for two nights an evening meal the pub car park full english breakfast breakfast was excellent comfy bed mains barrier venue derbyshire pubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 529 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

Whenever we are in the area, we have had lunch at The Lion Hotel and never been disappointed. Today was no exception and as always we had excellent food, drink and service. The staff are friendly and welcoming whether you are a regular, or it's your first visit. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank briankB8771TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

Just had some lush food here at the Lion. Fresh tasty and served in a stunning way. Bit of a wait the only feedback but well worth it! I would reccomend the Steak and Ale pie truly lush! Well done The Lion we will be back! Table of Geordies.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank anthonybower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a family get-together in the town. Room was comfortable and breakfast very good. Staff were obliging in allowing us to move rooms when the allocated one proved noisy as it overlooked the courtyard bar.

Room tip: The rooms overlooking the back of the hotel are quieter than those facing the road or the internal courtyard with its bar.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Anderson_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Stayed here for one night during April as a last minute business stop over.
The room was fine and clean and tidy with en suite (shower). Bedding was of a nice quality also.
Unfortunately my room overlooked the road outside and with single pane windows the noise from traffic throughout the night was very loud.. woke up multiple times with lorries passing right outside the window.
Breakfast was good, cooked to order. If you get a room at the back of the hotel I would imagine you will get a better sleep!
Would I stay there again? Yes if I could guarantee a room at the back somewhere quieter.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thegloversfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Usually confined to familiar chains and The Lion is a distinctly warmer experience. Parking, solid wifi and nice pub are big wins. Rooms split in to old part of the building and a new part. I was in the old part and the room was fine, probably needs a touch up with paint brush and refresh around the shower cubicle. Meals in the pub are excellent, breakfast service has real proper coffee and a wide food choice. All staff very friendly.

Room tip: Old part of the building rooms overlook the road, so might experience traffic noise.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews