We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
157
152
93
49
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
152
93
49
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza oven shottle hall roast beef lovely atmosphere sunday lunch one night stay an evening meal breakfast was excellent car park bed was very comfortable excellent value for money cooked breakfast full english town centre yogurt wedding pub
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 475 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017

We only stayed for the one night to attend a nearby wedding reception. Booking in was quick and easy. We had spoken to someone who had just booked in - they weren't over impressed with their room saying it was looking a bit tired and in need of decoration. On entering our room there was a slight smell of paint - proof that a redecoration program was in place. The room was clean and simply furnished, TV, tea & coffee. The bed was very comfortable. The meal we had in the restaurant was fairly priced and very tasty. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Warm and friendly welcome and staff..
Delightful surroundings to have a delicious meal..
All our needs were catered for, which included parking up of our motorhome in the car park..
Good selection of sitting areas to eat and drink..

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cainfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

The downstairs and bar in the hotel have been renovated to a high standard, and are welcoming. There is no lift, so it was a struggle to get everything to the room up the many stairs. The room is not as well kept as the main areas in the hotel. There was mould in the bath, there is not enough water pressure to have a shower, the furniture is cheap and the window vibrates in its frame with the wind.

It advertises parking, but as the spaces are not marked cars parked all over the place and there was no space to park our car.

The food in the bar was good, although the servers always seemed to be doing something else away from the bar area so had to wait for someone to return to the bar each time we wanted to order something.

We were told in advance that there would be live music finishing at 1030, but did not realise there would be an equally loud DJ after this going on until past midnight. Our bed may as well have been in the bar it was so loud.

Over all an unpleasant stay, and we will not be returning.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank relaxandsightsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

This was a great stay. From ease of checking in, wonderful roast dinner in the restaurant and a beautiful fry up for breakfast. Very reasonably priced that won’t blow your budget.

It located within walking distance to everything you need in Belper! Worth stopping by!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Richoooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Spent an overnight in The Lion hotel. Quick check in. Well appointed, clean and comfortable suit, with four poster bed, large tub and a shower.

Two TVs in room; one in seat area and one facing bed.

Kettle, coffee and tea.

Some road noise.

Had dinner in the hotel. there are several dinning rooms, one called the Vault (with the large pizza oven). Good menu, reasonable priced. Tasty food and big portions.

This was a Friday night and there were lots of staff on duty, both in the bar and restaurant, so service was quick. The bar is open until 1 am on Fridays.

Room Tip: Room 22 is a suit on corner overlooking the main street and adjacent petrol station.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SJB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews