We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cafe/bistro to visit day or early evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fresh Ground

Fresh Ground
Ranked #39 of 74 Restaurants in Belper
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe/bistro to visit day or early evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am a regular to this little cafe/bistro in Belper. Nice, clean and welcoming. Food is good and not expensive. Great if you are wanting to make a night of it and have a twilight supper before visiting the Ritz cinema opposite. Often meet friends for a cappuccino and cake! Lovely!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    6
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holestone Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely soft wholemeal roll with cream cheese and smoked salmon, crisps, coleslaw & salad. Very tasty. I have wobbly hands and when I asked for slightly less cappuccino to be put in my cup, the waitress very kindly brought it to me in a mug! Much appreciated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belper
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“theme night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

i usually really enjoy Fresh ground but on the night i felt it lacked a little finesse and so i can only rate the experience as average. This won't stop me from going again though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevbagshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I often pop in Fresh Ground for a breakfast or just a coffee. Food is always of a good standard and the staff are very welcoming and efficient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharkbait53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have visited and it was as good as I had remembered! We shared some olives and feta with an organic presse and then we both had sweet potatoe curry and rice which was homemade, fresh and delicious. The owner is lovely but can come across a little brash. Possibly because we were the last customers of the day. This place has excellent potential. I wish them well !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambler657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Ground also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to Fresh Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing