We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
Ranked #18 of 77 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have had breakfasts, lunches and evening meals at The Black Swan and can safely say I have never had a bad meal there. Always tastes great, good selection of real ales and always efficient staff.

Worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidCosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    58
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice pub on market place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I love the little plates at the black swan, sort of a version of tapas but with items like hummus and pitta, onion bhajis, nachos, handmade chips, falafel and other goodies. I would also kill for their goats cheese and red onion tart!! I have noticed portion sizes have got smaller in recent years however.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Boxing Day lunch”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Decided to meet here after reading reviews. We were not disappointed we shared 'little plates'. Food and service excellent, very welcoming. If you are in the area you should definitely try The Black Swan.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lincstraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good and varied food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A group of ten of us rolled in unannounced on Saturday lunchtime and enjoyed a very good lunch.
Friendly and efficient service. I had one of the "little plates" - serrano ham and manchego cheese with bread and it was plenty filling enough to sustain me for the rest of a ten mile hike. Only criticism I heard from another in the party was that the carrot and coriander soup was overwhelmed by coriander. Otherwise I would certainly recommend their interesting and varied menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhycantIbemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Another great experience at The Black Swan. Both food and service were excellent! There were three of us who ate of the tapas menu and were impressed as always by the quality and amazing tastes within each dish! Great value and would highly recommend!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Belper, Derbyshire
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing