We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belper Base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Belper Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My second time here, we were at a wedding reception 6 years ago and it was good. Got a great deal through expedia.com £42 for a very decent room. Arrived about 2.30 pm. Had a guinness (very good) my wife had a coffee which she enjoyed. A very lively naming party was in progress with loads of (well behaved) kids. There was a very good 3 piece group playing quietly. All the doors were wide open being a lovely day. The grounds were in very good shape and my wife enjoyed a stroll before we had a very good afternoon tea in the (very small) bar. Met the friends whose wedding it had been and we went out to The Hanging Gate (about 2.5 miles away) for evening meal then back to hotel for beer and coffee before a very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was good. Reasonable value and we enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful when I left my phone charger and posted it back to me.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurpleHazeDerby, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    320
    182
    113
    66
See reviews for
147
553
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We attended last weekend for a wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The vast majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful (only one member of reception staff was rude and about as useful as a chocolate teapot but hey, you can't have everything!). The food was great and our room was lovely. Our only complaint was the heat - our room was like an oven and if we hadn't brought our own fan we would have really struggled to get any sleep at all, particularly with a 3 month old baby in tow. Granted the hotel can't manage the weather though!

Room Tip: We were based above the car park and were worried about the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NarleyHoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent 2 nights here last week using a gift voucher from buyagift.com. Our check-in was very speedy and the receptionist very welcoming. To our surprise we were allocated the Bridal suite (about 40 years too late for us!). The room was big with a coffee table & 2 chairs and very clean with an enormous comfy four poster bed. The tea & coffee making tray was well stocked, the kettle was one of the fastest boilers I've come across in a mini kettle. Our room looked out onto the well cared for gardens and despite it being very close to the lift was very quiet.

Breakfast on both mornings was excellent, we both had the full English, the coffee was lovely.

A very enjoyable stay and well situated for visiting the Peak District. Buses run into Derby every 15 minutes so we left the car at the hotel & travelled by bus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legallass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lovely setting in the heart of the Amber Valley. Don't be put off by some of the negative comments. Food was good, staff pleasant, large rooms - obviously awaiting some refurbishment but no complaints from us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank careyjars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PurpleHazeDerby, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, it’s great to here that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team who will be thrilled to hear your feedback.

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Recently visited here for a wedding, the wedding was lovely however the staff were not up to scratch. A drink was served for my toddler in a wine glass, I asked for something more suitable and got a glass tumbler. Glass broken by staff and not cleaned up properly. Paid a lot of money for the room which had just been renovated but it was premier inn standard. The bridal suite had nice furniture but there were stains everywhere!!! The food was lovely as was the lady at the front desk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodg_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belper hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Ok, so this is not the best hotel you'll stay in, but hey if you set you expectations correctly it's a lovely old place in a beautiful setting. The hotel is currently (slowly) being refurbished and we stayed in an unrefurbished room and it was quite ok. Huge room and absolutely adequate for our needs. I think it's absolutely fine ... My fiancé thought it was ok, and the huge bed was super comfy.

Room Tip: We had room 15 ... Huge and great bed ... A little tired but more than ok for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I bought a groupon for a night here despite the recent poor reviews.

What a horrendous experience trying to book. A chargable booking line which keeps you on hold for ages before dropping you into a voicemail service to leave a message. If you are going to handle your call center via call-backs then dont make people wait on the line for ages first just so you can rip a little more money out of them

I eventually recieved a call back from an offshore call center from a chap that was very difficult to understand that told me I couldn't have my prefered date as they were fully booked. I told him hotels.com et al all showed spaces but was then told the groupon rooms are kept separate from normal rooms.

Way to insult your customers and make them feel like second class citizens

Terrible service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pabcpabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your experience wasn’t entirely positive while dealing with us.
From reading your review it appears that there has been some confusion, first of all please don’t worry about the 0844 number that you called, it’s not a premium number, just a national number, therefore I am happy to inform you that you haven’t paid anything additional. Also the central reservation office isn’t based overseas, its actually based in Bambury. As you have purchased a Groupon voucher it is subject to availability and therefore some dates are fully booked.

It’s not our intention to make any one feel like a second class citizen, but unfortunately at times phone lines are busy and availability is limited (this has been clearly stated on the voucher, prior to purchase).

Please let me know if I can assist further in any way and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel.

Warm Regards

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
3.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.0 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
8.3 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney Road, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing