We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay At Makeney Hotel”
Review of Makeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Short Stay At Makeney Hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

WE have stayed at this hotel previously so we know the standard. As other people have stated the hotel is dated but in my mind adds to the charm of the hotel which is suited in beautiful grounds and retains the original features. We upgraded to a larger room in the main building which in my mind are nicer than the new accommodation. What was slightly disappointing was the shaby furniture in the room, the sofa was ripped and stained, the bed could do with a new mattress. Weekend Breakfast was a buffet type hot meal which was good, the serving staff were very helpful. Due to the location the hotel is a very popular place for weddings as the background for photos are excellent, hence in the summer weekends rooms are quickly booked. Ideal place to stop if you are visiting the Derbyshire countryside. We would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRobotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    335
    191
    117
    66
See reviews for
155
574
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was extremely disappointed with this hotel! I have never ever written a review online about a hotel so im really passionate about this!! We arrived to a grumpy receptionist who was rude and unhelpful with a few questions we had about our stay. The phones didn't work in the room to call reception so we had to walk down if we needed things. The rooms were boiling hot and we had a terrible night sleep. The wifi kept going in and out. The lifts were out of order. The beds were lumpy. We wanted to eat dinner at the restaurant but they had a wedding getting setup in there for the next day so we had to eat in their conference hall which was pitiful. The food was terrible and looked like something from McDonald's. we had to wait 45min for food and what we had originally ordered we couldn't get as they had run out (I don't see how they could have run out, there was barely anyone there!)... As well as all of this we got to breakfast the next morning and were told that we had to pay 3 pounds each extra as we hadn't booked in the day before (yet they hadn't told us that we had to)... Overall terrible stay! Wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizabeth2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belper hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed last weekend for a family wedding and had a lovely time, the disabled room was not suitable for our needs so we were immediately moved from The Courtyard to the main house. The staff and service was excellent and the food was very good, always hot and delicious. The grounds are beautiful and it really made the weekend all the more special to have such a glorious day for the wedding. The rooms are a bit dated however they were clean and spacious and the showers were new.

Room Tip: If you require a disabled room with a walk in shower, request a room in the main house as the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySteedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience while with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after taking a trip to Alton Towers. We got a late deal at an amazing price! We were greeted at reception and felt at ease immediately. The hotel itself was lovely. Slightly dated but our room was spacious and very clean. We decided to eat in the restaurant and enjoyed the food. The service was a little slow but possibly short staffed during the week??
Locate just 1 mile from Belper which has a huge selection of restaurants and bars. Will definitely stay again if we are in the area. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamcuff91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, I’m pleased that you had a pleasant experince while with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review and I will pass on your kind comments to those involved.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon

Warm Regards Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location of this lovey hotel is just perfect. In the middle of the green nature you find yourself surrounded by inspiring view and dramatic scenery.
The staff is not the one of the best and i would say the same about their breakfast options but i would say that the location saved the rest.
Rooms are lovely, in an old British charm and if you get a room at a higher floor the view from your window can e truly spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We held our wedding breakfast in the Conservatory and evening reception in the Lavinia's suite at Makeney in April 13. Liz the Wedding Coordinator was brilliant throughout the whole process of planning our wedding and on the day. The Master of Ceremonies Simon was also brilliant and helped our day to run to plan and perfectly! All the waiting staff were great also. We found the staff helpful and friendly. I had given instructions to Liz/Simon as to how I wanted the room to be set up and tables decorated. The room on the day was perfect and just how I wanted. The food was great (thanks to the chef!) and they catered well for the different dietary requirements guests had. So many of our wedding guests complimented on our choice of venue and the stunning scenery at Makeney, which is the main reason we choose the hotel. We stayed in the bridal suite on the night of our wedding and another 8 rooms were booked by our family and friends. We all enjoyed the stay and our rooms. There was a good selection of food at breakfast. We cannot thank Makeney Hall Hotel staff enough in helping to give us the most perfect wedding day! Thank you, Naomi and Ash.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, I’m pleased that you had a pleasant experince while with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review and I will pass on your kind comments to those involved.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon

Warm Regards Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern england
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited the hotel with a group and found the accommodation very good despite the mattress on my double bed being a little too soft for my liking and my single room having a lovely view of the fire escape plus one of the curtains was hanging off the rail for the whole time. Tea, coffee and biscuits replenished daily. The bathroom was large and clean, could do with a hook or rail near the washbasin but the towels were fine, the bath towel was large and toiletries provided. Unfortunately the service was not good on the first night, maybe not used to having 30+ guests, but did improve. Cannot fault the staff for friendliness and helpfulness. The grounds are beautiful and the gardener, who seems to need more help, was very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walnutwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belper
2.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
284 reviews
8.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
346 reviews
14.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makeney Hall Hotel

Property: Makeney Hall Hotel
Address: Makeney, Belper DE56 0RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Belper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Belper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makeney Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makeney Hall Hotel is a magnificent Victorian country mansion, situated in the heart of Derbyshire, set in six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking views across the Amber Valley. Only eight miles from Derby and two miles from the flourishing market town of Belper, the hotel enjoys the most tranquil surroundings. The grandeur of the hotel setting combines with the warmth and attentiveness of our staff to make each guest feel at home and really special. From the informal Cocktail Bar to the elegant oak paneled dining room with an impressive oak fireplace, you’ll find daily and a la carte menus to tempt you wherever you prefer to dine. All of our 45 bedrooms are decorated in a warmly traditional style whilst the superior rooms have a period elegance this is in keeping the hotel’s heritage. With some of the most beautiful parts of the country on its doorstep, this hotel is also the perfect place for guests looking simply for a leisurely break in a truly hospitable environment. Picturesque grounds, impressive architecture and excellent cuisine make this hotel the perfect setting for a relaxing short break or other special occasions. As well as stunning scenery and marvelous walking trails, Derbyshire and the nearby Peak District are home to some of the country's finest stately homes including Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Kedleston Hall. For a family day out, enjoy a visit to Alton Towers or take in the delights of the local market towns of Bakewell, Buxton and Ashbourne. Makeney Hall offers Free WiFi Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Makeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makeney Hall Derby
Hotel Makeney Hall
Makeney Hall Hotel Belper, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing