We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makeney Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$94
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsley Lodge(Horsley)
$118
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$203
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
$115
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastwood Hall(Eastwood)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveler rating
314
379
216
131
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
314
379
216
131
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roombuy a gift voucherbridal suitemain buildingthe holly bush innevening mealconservatory restaurantafternoon teanight breakroom was largederbyshire countrysidewedding venuefood was lovelylovely settingself servicebeautiful buildingboth mornings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We drove to Makeney Hall from Wiltshire in the middle of the days of Christmas past numerous tasteful seasonal decorations. Arriving at the hotel however we were immediately struck by the starkness of our surroundings - not a vestige of Christmas cheer in hall, lounge or dinning room. This was a great pity as many of the rooms would lend themselves as well to seasonal decoration as any in the surrounding hotels where we visited for lunch and afternoon tea.

This apparent meanness of spirit on behalf of the hotel managers seemed something of a contrast to the generally warm obliging and professional approach of the service staff that developed over the stay - especially in the restaurant where good value well presented food and wine were served consistently over our visit. We were on a Groupon Offer which provided extremely good value for dinner with wine, bed, and breakfast. (Well recommended) The normal rate for dinner I would be equally happy to pay though breakfast at £13 seemed a bit steep - unless there was a loading for the exceptionally good views of the park and valley from the conservatory.

Our room (no 18) was spacious, furnished with high quality fabrics, and of a good standard for one step up from basic. The room next door, named Chatsworth, (number 20 I think) looked, upon a peep round the door, to be magnificent in its outlook.

Such a pity with all this potential not to add that extra ingredient most hotels do over the days of Christmas. Would I recommend the hotel to others? Yes most of the time. But not I'm afraid around Christmas unless you are feeling particularly scrougelike!

Room Tip: A small supplement for an 'executive room' would seem well worthwhile. For a special occasion the 'superior rooms' with a view look well worth considering.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

OK, so we read the reviews and had our doubts but decided that the shabbiness wouldn't bother us!

In fact we had a fabulous stay. This is a grand building full of history and we were able to visit other historical buildings in the area. The staff were attentive and agreeable throughout our visit and in our view they were above average in diligence to customer comfort.

Our room was huge, clean and furnished to a very comfortable standard. There was a walk-in closet which took our baggage and clutter out of the room. Our bed was comfortable and warm enough bedding. The heating was not on when we arrived and the room was too cold but once it went on at about five pm our room was most comfortable. The water was hot, hot, hot and kept coming. There is a bath (always annoying if there's only a shower in a hotel).

The evening meal was good value and pleasant, nothing amazing but competently done. Meals were taken in the most wonderful conservatory which was warm, beautifully furnished and overlooking the gardens. Once again the staff were professional and pleasant. The breakfast choice was very good and the quality of the bacon and sausages was high.

We will be going back as it was a most comfortable stay with no irritations.

Room Tip: We were in room 8.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leloroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I’m delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Kerry Rawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night after attending a wedding nearby.
Arrived at 12pm to check-in, room wasn't ready so were told to store our bags in a seperate room and that the bags would be taken to our rooms when they were ready, as we wouldn't be returning from the wedding until around midnight. Receptionist was not exactly friendly either.
Returned from the wedding to find: room was a double instead of a twin as booked, it was absolutely FREEZING with no heat on and a broken radiator (in the middle of December) as well as stinking of cigarette smoke. It was very shabby and was in an annexe/extension of the main hotel, and definitely not to the cleanliness standards I would expect. To top it off the bags were not in the room, which was worrying as reception had closed.
We had to head back out into the rain and luckily a (very helpful) night security guard located our bags and kindly allocated us another room. The new room was still in the annexe, but was a twin and at least had a working radiator. The bathroom was absolutely icy cold, and very shabby indeed. There was also some kind of 'fountain/water pump' type thing right outside the door which was noisy all night and made it hard to sleep!
The hotel was very cheap so I suppose you get what you pay for, but I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main old building
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneyD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in room 3 which wasn't too bad, needs decorating. Other family member stayed in room 4, which has mould and no proper shower, very poor. Also room 33 is very noisy, possibly plumbing problem. Breakfast is very average. Some staff could do with going on a course on customer services, their attitude and way they speak to customers is very poor. It could be a lovely hotel but it is definitely not worth the price per night of £99. We have stayed in far nicer hotels and paid less. It's a shame it's so run down because it could be a beautiful hotel if some money was spent on it. It certainly IS NOT 4*

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is a lovely old building with plenty of character. The communal areas of the hotel were lovely however the bedroom and breakfast sadly let everything else down.

My room had 2 lights not working one in the bathroom and the other the bedside lamp how housekeeping could fail to notice I dont know however I had to shower in a half lit bathroom. The cleanliness of the rooms was ok but there were splash marks of various colours dotted around the doors, frames and walls, and the shower head had plenty of mold growing on it.

The breakfast wasn't terrible but poor for £10 (£13 if you wait till morning to decide). The breakfast is a buffet kept poorly stocked by the staff. The bacon looked boiled rather than fried, not a crispy edge in sight yet was swimming in grease, the sausages to were in a vat of grease, eggs were apparently scrambled but were very runny and a very peculiar shade of yellow.

All in all not a terrible place to stay, the character of the hotel helps but I wouldn't be rushing back at £85 plus per night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, General Manager at Makeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write your review, feedback is incredibly important to us as it allows us to learn about a guests experience while with us and then is turn how we can improve. It’s a shame that I didn’t have chance to speak to you directly about the issues you had, as I would have tried to have of rectified this for you.

We carry a stock of light bulbs and one for our duty managers would have been more than happy to have changed these for you if reception had been informed, as you can appreciate the hotel is a big building and light bulbs need replacing all of the time, it is unacceptable though that housekeeping missed this, so I shall take this up with the head of department, along with your feedback regarding the standard of the bedroom.

In regards to the quality of the breakfast I shall pass your comments on to the head chef and we will investigate what staff was scheduled that day and why the breakfast buffet wasn’t to the standard required.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the building and its public areas, hopefully you will consider using us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews